Active Report Report ID: EDU-441636-2026

American Institute of Alternative Medicine

Columbus, OH 43229

Acceptance rate78.29%Broad access
Tuition$22,947Published sticker
Avg. net price$38,392After aid
Graduation rate60.00%150% time
Median salary$40,80510yr post-entry

About American Institute of Alternative Medicine

American Institute of Alternative Medicine is a private for-profit trade school in Columbus, Ohio, enrolling about 231 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $38,392 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $22,947. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,805 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • American Institute of Alternative Medicine charges 38% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($22,947).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is 51% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 60.00%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,805.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
American Institute of Alternative Medicine$22,947$38,3921
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Ohio (state median)$15,202$12,090154
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is American Institute of Alternative Medicine really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • American Institute of Alternative Medicine charges 38% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($22,947).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is 51% above.
Published sticker

American Institute of Alternative Medicine tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $22,947

Finding American Institute of Alternative Medicine charges 38% above the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $22,947. That is 38% above the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Ohio median ($15,202), sticker tuition is 51% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at American Institute of Alternative Medicine versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at American Institute of Alternative Medicine versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at American Institute of Alternative Medicine is $38,392.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $38,392 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $26,302 above the Ohio median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $18,339 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At American Institute of Alternative Medicine, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

American Institute of Alternative Medicine: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for American Institute of Alternative Medicine—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$22,947

Avg. net price

$38,392

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$38,209
$30,001–$48,000$38,940
$48,001–$75,000$37,324
$75,001–$110,000$41,470
$110,001+$40,742

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $91,788. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$47,719Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

What American Institute of Alternative Medicine is known for

Top program completions

  1. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other60
  2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other42
  3. Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage30
  4. Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine8

See earnings & programs for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 100% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is American Institute of Alternative Medicine a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

American Institute of Alternative Medicine is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for American Institute of Alternative Medicine.

Campus

Location

Columbus, OH

City / state

ZIP
43229
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 1.9× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management

Size

Enrollment

231

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
365
Graduate
20
Full-time share
83%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$9,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
66.84%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$153,568Estimated 4-year total cost
$38,392Average annual net price (after aid)
$91,7884-year tuition
$41,013Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$659Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$64,619Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$258,476Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for American Institute of Alternative Medicine.

Financial Aid by Income Level

66.84% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
63.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at American Institute of Alternative Medicine was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for American Institute of Alternative Medicine in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$13,895$13,895$21,133
2014$14,925
2015$20,832
2016$24,377
2017$14,338$14,338$15,902
2018$14,338$14,338$21,027
2019$14,338$14,338$22,919
2020$14,338$14,338$25,940
2021$14,532$14,532$28,771
2022$15,973$15,973$27,811
2023$17,291$17,291$32,285

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

78.29%Acceptance rate
160Total applicants
135Students admitted
135First-time students enrolled
100.00%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

American Institute of Alternative Medicine reported total enrollment of about 231 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 14% male and 86% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (75.3%), White (17.3%), and Two or More Races (3.0%). About 66.84% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 50.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

83.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at American Institute of Alternative Medicine in 2024 is 231 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 365 students. Graduate enrollment is about 20 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

75.3%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American75.3%
  • White or Caucasian17.3%
  • Two or More Races3.0%
  • Asian2.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

60.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from American Institute of Alternative Medicine completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other: 10% male / 90% female
  • Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other: 19% male / 81% female
  • Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage: 10% male / 90% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

89Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American89
  • White or Caucasian39
  • Two or More Races7
  • Asian4
  • Hispanic or Latino1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

American Institute of Alternative Medicine graduates earn a median of $40,805 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of American Institute of Alternative Medicine.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,805. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $38,392.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway American Institute of Alternative Medicine graduates report median earnings of $40,805 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

166%Modeled return on investment
$9,500Median student debt
$40,805Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.28%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for American Institute of Alternative Medicine.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, Other 60
  2. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other 42
  3. Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 8

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at American Institute of Alternative Medicine.

Employment Outcomes

$40,805Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$47,719Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$43,596Median earnings (8 years after entry)
87.15%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for American Institute of Alternative Medicine graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for American Institute of Alternative Medicine—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Ohio median 45.1 pp above median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,511
    • Ohio median 0.74× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 0.68× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 0.72× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,105
    • Ohio median 0.67× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 0.66× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.70× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

American Institute of Alternative Medicine at a glance

Institution snapshot

American Institute of Alternative Medicine

Columbus, OH 43229 · Private For-profit · Great Lakes

American Institute of Alternative Medicine is a private for-profit institution in Columbus, OH, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.

Tuition$22,947
Avg. net price$38,392
Enrollment231
Acceptance rate78.29%
Completion (150%)60.00%
Pell Grant share66.84%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, OtherRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, OtherMassage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American75.3%
White or Caucasian17.3%
Two or More Races3.0%
Nearby

Schools near American Institute of Alternative Medicine

Other campuses in Columbus, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is American Institute of Alternative Medicine located?

American Institute of Alternative Medicine is located in Columbus, OH.

What is American Institute of Alternative Medicine's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at American Institute of Alternative Medicine is 78.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 160 applicants and 135 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is American Institute of Alternative Medicine's tuition?

American Institute of Alternative Medicine tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $22,947 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $38,392 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does American Institute of Alternative Medicine cost?

Reported tuition is $22,947 and average net price is $38,392 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $41,013 annually.

What explains American Institute of Alternative Medicine's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($38,392), completion (60.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,805). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at American Institute of Alternative Medicine?

American Institute of Alternative Medicine reports undergraduate enrollment of about 365 students, Black or African American (75.3%), White (17.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend American Institute of Alternative Medicine?

About 50.5% of students at American Institute of Alternative Medicine are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of American Institute of Alternative Medicine earn?

Median earnings are $47,719 six years after entry and $40,805 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at American Institute of Alternative Medicine?

The 150%-time completion rate is 60.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do American Institute of Alternative Medicine students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.

Is American Institute of Alternative Medicine public or private?

American Institute of Alternative Medicine is a private for-profit institution located in Columbus, OH.

Is American Institute of Alternative Medicine an HBCU?

No. American Institute of Alternative Medicine is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.