Active Report Report ID: EDU-240736-2026

American Samoa Community College

Pago Pago, AS 96799-2609

Tuition$5,300Published sticker
Avg. net price$3,386After aid
Graduation rate32.41%150% time
Median salary$30,08710yr post-entry
ROI2,121%10yr vs net cost

About American Samoa Community College

American Samoa Community College is a public community college in Pago Pago, American Samoa, enrolling about 839 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $3,386 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,300. Student demographics in federal data include Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (86.7%) and Non-Resident Alien (10.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • American Samoa Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,300).
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 32.41%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $30,087.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at American Samoa Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 2121% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
American Samoa Community College$5,300$3,3861
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 36% below published tuition at American Samoa Community College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • American Samoa Community College's average net price ($3,386) is 36% below published tuition ($5,300).
  • American Samoa Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition ($5,300).
Published sticker

American Samoa Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,300

Finding American Samoa Community College charges 4% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,300. That is 4% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at American Samoa Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at American Samoa Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at American Samoa Community College is $3,386.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $3,386 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates).

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway American Samoa Community College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 36% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

American Samoa Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for American Samoa Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,300

Out-of-state tuition

$5,600

Avg. net price

$3,386

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$3,681
$30,001–$48,000$2,238
$48,001–$75,000$3,800
$75,001–$110,000$3,396
$110,001+$4,065

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $21,200. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$24,164Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is American Samoa Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

American Samoa Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for American Samoa Community College.

Campus

Location

Pago Pago, AS

City / state

ZIP
96799-2609

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Outlying Areas
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs

Size

Enrollment

839

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,183
Full-time share
58%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
73.16%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$13,544Estimated 4-year total cost
$3,386Average annual net price (after aid)
$21,2004-year in-state tuition
$22,4004-year out-of-state tuition
$4,850Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$4,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$14,350Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$57,400Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for American Samoa Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

73.16% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

Not reported 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at American Samoa Community College was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for American Samoa Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,550$3,850$2,464
2014$3,550$3,600$3,873
2015$3,550$3,850$4,330
2016$3,550$3,850$4,054
2017$3,950$4,250$4,642
2018$3,950$4,250$2,578
2019$3,950$4,250$2,606
2020$3,950$4,250$2,590
2021$5,150$5,450$3,854
2022$5,460$5,760$4,186
2023$5,460$5,760$4,812

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

American Samoa Community College reported total enrollment of about 839 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 30% male and 70% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (86.7%), Non-Resident Alien (10.5%), and Asian (1.3%). About 73.16% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 57.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

58.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at American Samoa Community College in 2024 is 839 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,183 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

86.7%Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander86.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien10.5%
  • Asian1.3%
  • White or Caucasian0.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

50.00% 100% Completion Time

32.41% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 50.00% of students graduating from American Samoa Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 37% male / 63% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Elementary Education and Teaching: 10% male / 90% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

189Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander189
  • Asian2
  • White or Caucasian0
  • Black or African American0
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

American Samoa Community College graduates earn a median of $30,087 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of American Samoa Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $30,087. Average net price used in cost models: $3,386.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway American Samoa Community College graduates report median earnings of $30,087 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

2,121%Modeled return on investment
$30,087Median annual earnings (10 years)

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for American Samoa Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (24 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Health Professions and Related Programs 18
  2. Accounting 12
  3. Pacific Area/Pacific Rim Studies 6

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at American Samoa Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$30,087Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$24,164Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$28,311Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.42%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for American Samoa Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for American Samoa Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$3.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $3.1M

Year change: $157,677

  • Outlying Areas median 1.2× the median ($2.6M)
  • U.S. median 0.12× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $3,511

  • Outlying Areas median near the median ($3,664)
  • U.S. median 0.29× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Outlying Areas median 13.0 pp above median (87.0%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,099
    • Outlying Areas median 1.2× the median ($4,084)
    • U.S. median 0.67× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,747
    • Outlying Areas median 3.9× the median ($3,501)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

American Samoa Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

American Samoa Community College

Pago Pago, AS 96799-2609 · Public · Outlying Areas

American Samoa Community College is a public institution in Pago Pago, AS, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Larger Programs.

Tuition$5,300
Avg. net price$3,386
Enrollment839
Completion (150%)32.41%
Pell Grant share73.16%
First-generation57.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesCriminal Justice/Safety StudiesElementary Education and Teaching
Largest enrollment groups
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander86.7%
Non-Resident Alien10.5%
Asian1.3%

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is American Samoa Community College located?

American Samoa Community College is located in Pago Pago, AS.

What is American Samoa Community College's tuition?

American Samoa Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,300 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $3,386 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does American Samoa Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,300 and average net price is $3,386 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $4,850 annually.

Why is American Samoa Community College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At American Samoa Community College, published tuition is $5,300 while average net price is $3,386—about 36% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains American Samoa Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($3,386), completion (32.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($30,087). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at American Samoa Community College?

American Samoa Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,183 students, Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander (86.7%), Non-Resident Alien (10.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend American Samoa Community College?

About 57.8% of students at American Samoa Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of American Samoa Community College earn?

Median earnings are $24,164 six years after entry and $30,087 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at American Samoa Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 32.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is American Samoa Community College public or private?

American Samoa Community College is a public institution located in Pago Pago, AS.

Is American Samoa Community College an HBCU?

No. American Samoa Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is American Samoa Community College a tribal college?

No. American Samoa Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.