B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing
Glen Dale, WV 26038
About B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is a private trade and vocational school in Glen Dale, West Virginia, enrolling about 17 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 100.00% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (88.2%) and Two or More Races (11.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing | — | $15,661 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| West Virginia (state median) | $9,574 | $9,114 | 36 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing really?
Evidence: average net price at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is $15,661.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,661 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,546 above the West Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $690 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$15,661
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,058 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,318 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is known for
Top program completions
See earnings & programs for more.
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing.
Campus
Location
Glen Dale, WV
City / state
- ZIP
- 26038
- NCES locale
- Town fringe
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 5% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
17
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 33
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 38.71%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing was not reported in the College Scorecard extract for this institution.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $751 |
| 2014 | — | — | $3,114 |
| 2015 | — | — | $4,070 |
| 2016 | — | — | $4,404 |
| 2017 | — | — | $5,362 |
| 2018 | — | — | $1,706 |
| 2019 | — | — | $8,455 |
| 2020 | — | — | $5,583 |
| 2021 | — | — | $7,155 |
| 2022 | — | — | $11,982 |
| 2023 | — | — | $9,956 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing reported total enrollment of about 17 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 6% male and 94% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (88.2%), Two or More Races (11.8%), and Black or African American (0.0%). About 38.71% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing in 2024 is 17 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 33 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
100.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
100.00% 100% Completion Time
100.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 100.00% of students graduating from B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 0% male / 100% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $19,145
- West Virginia median 2.6× the median ($7,346)
- Southeast median 2.9× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 2.6× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing at a glance
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is a private non-profit institution in Glen Dale, WV.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian88.2%Two or More Races11.8%Black or African American0.0%
Schools near B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing
Other campuses in Glen Dale, WV when available, plus nearby institutions in West Virginia.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within West Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing located?
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is located in Glen Dale, WV.
How much does B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $15,661 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What is the student body demographics at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing?
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing reports undergraduate enrollment of about 33 students, White (88.2%), Two or More Races (11.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What is the graduation rate at B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing?
The 150%-time completion rate is 100.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing public or private?
B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is a private nonprofit institution located in Glen Dale, WV.
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing an HBCU?
No. B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing a tribal college?
No. B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing does not meet that proxy (reported share 0.0%).
Is B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for B M Spurr School of Practical Nursing in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.