Active Report Report ID: EDU-231554-2026

Bluefield University

Bluefield, VA 24605

Acceptance rate59.31%Selective
Tuition$26,770Published sticker
Avg. net price$25,573After aid
Graduation rate17.78%150% time
Median salary$48,89610yr post-entry

About Bluefield University

Bluefield University is a private research university in Bluefield, Virginia, enrolling about 614 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 59.31% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,896 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Bluefield University charges 9% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($26,770).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 64% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 17.78%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,896.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Bluefield University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 378% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Bluefield University$26,770$25,5731
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 4% below published tuition at Bluefield University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Bluefield University's average net price ($25,573) is 4% below published tuition ($26,770).
  • Bluefield University charges 9% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($26,770).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 64% above.
Published sticker

Bluefield University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $26,770

Finding Bluefield University charges 9% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $26,770. That is 9% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is 64% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Bluefield University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Bluefield University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Bluefield University is $25,573.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $25,573 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $16,721 above the Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $10,602 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Bluefield University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 4% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Bluefield University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Bluefield University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$26,770

Avg. net price

$25,573

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$25,807
$30,001–$48,000$25,454
$48,001–$75,000$25,732
$75,001–$110,000$25,374
$110,001+$25,430

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $107,080. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention61.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$41,923Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 27% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Bluefield University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Bluefield University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Bluefield University.

Campus

Location

Bluefield, VA

City / state

ZIP
24605
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 71% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs

Size

Enrollment

614

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
848
Graduate
332
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,855

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
51.36%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$102,292Estimated 4-year total cost
$25,573Average annual net price (after aid)
$107,0804-year tuition
$9,480Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$440Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$36,690Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$146,760Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Bluefield University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

51.36% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
70.88% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Bluefield University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Bluefield University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$22,390$22,390$20,132
2014$22,840$22,840$19,828
2015$23,296$23,296$19,778
2016$24,380$24,380$21,779
2017$24,800$24,800$21,785
2018$26,060$26,060$21,997
2019$27,036$27,036$23,158
2020$27,570$27,570$22,442
2021$28,870$28,870$18,903
2022$29,420$29,420$22,701
2023$29,696$29,696$22,198

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

59.31%Acceptance rate
1,057Total applicants
663Students admitted
180First-time students enrolled
27.15%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Bluefield University reported total enrollment of about 614 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 56% male and 44% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (58.3%), Black or African American (22.6%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (9.3%). About 51.36% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 42.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

89.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Bluefield University in 2024 is 614 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 848 students. Graduate enrollment is about 332 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

61.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

58.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian58.3%
  • Black or African American22.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown9.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino4.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.3%
  • Asian1.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Two or More Races0.3%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

15.77% 100% Completion Time

17.78% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 15.77% of students graduating from Bluefield University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Biomedical Sciences, General: 44% male / 56% female
  • Public Administration and Social Service: 3% male / 97% female
  • General Studies: 50% male / 50% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

227White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian227
  • Black or African American50
  • Asian20
  • Hispanic or Latino17
  • Two or More Races9
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Bluefield University graduates earn a median of $48,896 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Bluefield University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,896. Median federal loan debt: $21,855. Average net price used in cost models: $25,573.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Bluefield University graduates report median earnings of $48,896 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

378%Modeled return on investment
$21,855Median student debt
$48,896Median annual earnings (10 years)
44.70%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Bluefield University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Public Administration and Social Service 32

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Bluefield University.

Employment Outcomes

$48,896Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$41,923Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$44,360Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.62%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Bluefield University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Bluefield University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $6.7M

Year change: $592,549

  • Virginia median 0.24× the median ($30.9M)
  • Southeast median 0.38× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.28× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $7,518

  • Virginia median 0.57× the median ($13,171)
  • Southeast median 0.81× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.62× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Virginia median 39.0 pp above median (61.0%)
    • Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,619
    • Virginia median 0.69× the median ($8,196)
    • Southeast median 0.82× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.74× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,767
    • Virginia median 1.2× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Bluefield University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Bluefield University

Bluefield, VA 24605 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Bluefield University is a private non-profit institution in Bluefield, VA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Small Programs.

Tuition$26,770
Avg. net price$25,573
Enrollment614
Acceptance rate59.31%
Completion (150%)17.78%
Pell Grant share51.36%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Biomedical Sciences, GeneralPublic Administration and Social ServiceGeneral Studies
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian58.3%
Black or African American22.6%
Race/ethnicity unknown9.3%
Nearby

Schools near Bluefield University

Other campuses in Bluefield, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bluefield University located?

Bluefield University is located in Bluefield, VA.

What is Bluefield University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Bluefield University is 59.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,057 applicants and 663 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Bluefield University's tuition?

Bluefield University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $26,770 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $25,573 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Bluefield University cost?

Reported tuition is $26,770 and average net price is $25,573 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,480 annually.

Why is Bluefield University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Bluefield University, published tuition is $26,770 while average net price is $25,573—about 4% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Bluefield University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($25,573), completion (17.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,896). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Bluefield University?

Bluefield University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 848 students, White (58.3%), Black or African American (22.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Bluefield University?

About 42.5% of students at Bluefield University are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Bluefield University earn?

Median earnings are $41,923 six years after entry and $48,896 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Bluefield University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 17.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Bluefield University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,855.

Is Bluefield University public or private?

Bluefield University is a private nonprofit institution located in Bluefield, VA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.