Career Technical Institute
Washington, DC 20005
About Career Technical Institute
Career Technical Institute is a private for-profit trade school in Washington, District of Columbia, enrolling about 232 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 69.09% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $30,227 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $30,227.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Career Technical Institute is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 260% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Career Technical Institute | — | $20,985 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| District of Columbia (state median) | $19,530 | — | 14 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Career Technical Institute really?
Evidence: average net price at Career Technical Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Career Technical Institute is $20,985.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,985 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $932 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Career Technical Institute: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Career Technical Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$20,985
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $20,867 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $21,017 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $21,317 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Career Technical Institute is known for
Top program completions
- Medical/Clinical Assistant80
- Computer Support Specialist58
- Medical Administrative/Executive Assistant and Medical Secretary46
- General Office Occupations and Clerical Services39
- System, Networking, and LAN/WAN Management/Manager20
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Career Technical Institute a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Career Technical Institute is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Career Technical Institute.
Campus
Location
Washington, DC
City / state
- ZIP
- 20005
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 5% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional
Size
Enrollment
232
Total enrollment
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$7,917
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 81.73%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Career Technical Institute.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Career Technical Institute was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Career Technical Institute in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $19,734 |
| 2014 | — | — | $20,857 |
| 2015 | — | — | $22,086 |
| 2016 | — | — | $23,460 |
| 2017 | — | — | $22,416 |
| 2018 | — | — | $21,499 |
| 2019 | — | — | $17,752 |
| 2020 | — | — | $20,819 |
| 2021 | — | — | $21,192 |
| 2022 | — | — | $20,674 |
| 2023 | — | — | $19,920 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Career Technical Institute reported total enrollment of about 232 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 20% male and 80% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (95.3%), Hispanic or Latino (4.3%), and White (0.4%). About 81.73% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 71.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Career Technical Institute in 2024 is 232 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
38.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
49.79% 100% Completion Time
69.09% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 49.79% of students graduating from Career Technical Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Medical/Clinical Assistant: 5% male / 95% female
- Computer Support Specialist: 45% male / 55% female
- Medical Administrative/Executive Assistant and Medical Secretary: 7% male / 93% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Career Technical Institute graduates earn a median of $30,227 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Career Technical Institute.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $30,227. Median federal loan debt: $7,917. Average net price used in cost models: $20,985.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Career Technical Institute graduates report median earnings of $30,227 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Career Technical Institute.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (11 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Career Technical Institute.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Career Technical Institute graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Career Technical Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 57.1%
- District of Columbia median 0.0 pp at median (57.1%)
- Mid East median 0.2 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 0.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $4,460
- District of Columbia median 0.54× the median ($8,291)
- Mid East median 0.55× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 0.59× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,721
- District of Columbia median 0.28× the median ($13,241)
- Mid East median 0.41× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 0.51× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Career Technical Institute at a glance
Career Technical Institute
Career Technical Institute is a private for-profit institution in Washington, DC, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Medical/Clinical AssistantComputer Support SpecialistMedical Administrative/Executive Assistant and Medical Secretary
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American95.3%Hispanic or Latino4.3%White or Caucasian0.4%
Schools near Career Technical Institute
Other campuses in Washington, DC when available, plus nearby institutions in District of Columbia.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within District of Columbia, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Career Technical Institute located?
Career Technical Institute is located in Washington, DC.
How much does Career Technical Institute cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $20,985 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains Career Technical Institute's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,985), completion (69.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($30,227). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Career Technical Institute?
Career Technical Institute reports total enrollment of about 232 students, Black or African American (95.3%), Hispanic or Latino (4.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Career Technical Institute?
About 71.7% of students at Career Technical Institute are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Career Technical Institute earn?
Median earnings are $20,259 six years after entry and $30,227 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Career Technical Institute?
The 150%-time completion rate is 69.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Career Technical Institute students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $7,917.
Is Career Technical Institute public or private?
Career Technical Institute is a private for-profit institution located in Washington, DC.
Is Career Technical Institute an HBCU?
No. Career Technical Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Career Technical Institute a tribal college?
No. Career Technical Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Career Technical Institute religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for Career Technical Institute in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- District of Columbia college profile
- District of Columbia college costs
- District of Columbia colleges by ROI
- District of Columbia trade schools profile
- Washington, District of Columbia city profile
- Mid East regional profile
- Urban (City) college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in District of Columbia
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.