Centura College-Newport News
Newport News, VA 23608
About Centura College-Newport News
Centura College-Newport News is a private for-profit trade school in Newport News, Virginia, enrolling about 203 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $24,842 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $16,637. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $25,930 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Centura College-Newport News charges at the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,637).
- Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 75.00%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $25,930.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centura College-Newport News | $16,637 | $24,842 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Virginia (state median) | $16,364 | $8,852 | 107 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Centura College-Newport News really?
Key findings
- Centura College-Newport News charges at the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,637).
- Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
Centura College-Newport News tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $16,637
Finding Centura College-Newport News charges at the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $16,637. That is at the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is 2% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 40% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Centura College-Newport News versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Centura College-Newport News versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Centura College-Newport News is $24,842.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $24,842 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $15,990 above the Virginia median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $6,794 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Centura College-Newport News, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Centura College-Newport News: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Centura College-Newport News—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$16,637
Avg. net price
$24,842
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $24,276 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $27,672 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $66,548. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Centura College-Newport News is known for
Top program completions
- 05.1071101
- Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician77
- Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage11
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Centura College-Newport News a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Centura College-Newport News is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Centura College-Newport News.
Campus
Location
Newport News, VA
City / state
- ZIP
- 23608
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 38% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
203
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 467
- Full-time share
- 88%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$14,750
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 60.00%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Centura College-Newport News.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Centura College-Newport News was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Centura College-Newport News in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $14,847 | $14,847 | $24,226 |
| 2014 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $23,003 |
| 2015 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $24,564 |
| 2016 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $24,729 |
| 2017 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $24,630 |
| 2018 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $24,726 |
| 2019 | $15,887 | $15,887 | $24,889 |
| 2020 | $16,637 | $16,637 | $27,287 |
| 2021 | $16,637 | $16,637 | $26,498 |
| 2022 | $16,637 | $16,637 | $28,580 |
| 2023 | $16,637 | $16,637 | $25,752 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Centura College-Newport News reported total enrollment of about 203 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (67.0%), White (12.3%), and Two or More Races (11.3%). About 60.00% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
88.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Centura College-Newport News in 2024 is 203 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 467 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
72.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
75.00% 100% Completion Time
75.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 75.00% of students graduating from Centura College-Newport News completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- 05.1071: 12% male / 88% female
- Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician: 86% male / 14% female
- Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage: 18% male / 82% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Centura College-Newport News graduates earn a median of $25,930 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Centura College-Newport News.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $25,930. Median federal loan debt: $14,750. Average net price used in cost models: $24,842.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Centura College-Newport News graduates report median earnings of $25,930 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Centura College-Newport News.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Centura College-Newport News.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Centura College-Newport News graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Centura College-Newport News—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,029
- Virginia median 0.27× the median ($7,382)
- Southeast median 0.31× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.28× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Centura College-Newport News at a glance
Centura College-Newport News
Centura College-Newport News is a private for-profit institution in Newport News, VA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- 05.1071Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/TechnicianMassage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American67.0%White or Caucasian12.3%Two or More Races11.3%
Schools near Centura College-Newport News
Other campuses in Newport News, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Centura College-Newport News located?
Centura College-Newport News is located in Newport News, VA.
What is Centura College-Newport News's tuition?
Centura College-Newport News tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,637 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $24,842 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Centura College-Newport News cost?
Reported tuition is $16,637 and average net price is $24,842 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,581 annually.
What explains Centura College-Newport News's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($24,842), completion (75.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($25,930). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Centura College-Newport News?
Centura College-Newport News reports undergraduate enrollment of about 467 students, Black or African American (67.0%), White (12.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Centura College-Newport News?
About 52.1% of students at Centura College-Newport News are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Centura College-Newport News earn?
Median earnings are $26,077 six years after entry and $25,930 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Centura College-Newport News?
The 150%-time completion rate is 75.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Centura College-Newport News students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,750.
Is Centura College-Newport News public or private?
Centura College-Newport News is a private for-profit institution located in Newport News, VA.
Is Centura College-Newport News an HBCU?
No. Centura College-Newport News is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Centura College-Newport News a tribal college?
No. Centura College-Newport News is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Virginia college profile
- Virginia college costs
- Virginia colleges by ROI
- Virginia trade schools profile
- Newport News, Virginia city profile
- Southeast regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Virginia
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.