Active Report Report ID: EDU-217873-2026

Claflin University

Orangeburg, SC 29115-4498

Acceptance rate64.93%Broad access
Tuition$18,282Published sticker
Avg. net price$17,800After aid
Graduation rate51.60%150% time
Median salary$40,30410yr post-entry

About Claflin University

Claflin University is a private research university in Orangeburg, South Carolina, enrolling about 1,706 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 64.93% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,304 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Claflin University charges 38% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($18,282).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is 41% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 51.60%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,304.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Claflin University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 466% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Claflin University$18,282$17,8001
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
South Carolina (state median)$12,978$11,37663
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 3% below published tuition at Claflin University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Claflin University's average net price ($17,800) is 3% below published tuition ($18,282).
  • Claflin University charges 38% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($18,282).
  • Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is 41% above.
Published sticker

Claflin University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $18,282

Finding Claflin University charges 38% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $18,282. That is 38% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the South Carolina median ($12,978), sticker tuition is 41% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 54% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Claflin University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Claflin University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Claflin University is $17,800.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,800 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,424 above the South Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,829 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Claflin University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 3% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Claflin University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Claflin University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$18,282

Avg. net price

$17,800

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$16,354
$30,001–$48,000$21,118
$48,001–$75,000$22,279
$75,001–$110,000$23,502
$110,001+$25,071

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $73,128. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention75.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$29,227Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 9% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Claflin University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Claflin University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Claflin University.

Campus

Location

Orangeburg, SC

City / state

ZIP
29115-4498
NCES locale
Town distant

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 19% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,706

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,833
Graduate
121
Full-time share
93%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$29,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
73.49%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$71,200Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,800Average annual net price (after aid)
$73,1284-year tuition
$9,480Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$950Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$28,712Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$114,848Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Claflin University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

73.49% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
73.55% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Claflin University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Claflin University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$15,010$15,010$16,578
2014$15,010$15,010$19,987
2015$15,520$15,520$21,426
2016$16,158$16,158$19,149
2017$16,480$16,480$19,962
2018$16,854$16,854$19,396
2019$17,192$17,192$18,136
2020$17,046$17,046$20,806
2021$17,046$17,046$19,308
2022$17,046$17,046$19,951
2023$17,046$17,046$21,232

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

64.93%Acceptance rate
6,999Total applicants
5,078Students admitted
456First-time students enrolled
8.98%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Claflin University reported total enrollment of about 1,706 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 29% male and 71% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (89.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (5.0%), and White (2.4%). About 73.49% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

93.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Claflin University in 2024 is 1,706 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,833 students. Graduate enrollment is about 121 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

75.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

89.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American89.2%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
  • White or Caucasian2.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Asian0.1%
  • Two or More Races0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

40.60% 100% Completion Time

51.60% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 40.60% of students graduating from Claflin University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 13% male / 87% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 13% male / 87% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 16% male / 84% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

321Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American321
  • White or Caucasian9
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4
  • Asian1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Claflin University graduates earn a median of $40,304 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Claflin University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,304. Median federal loan debt: $29,000. Average net price used in cost models: $17,800.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Claflin University graduates report median earnings of $40,304 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

466%Modeled return on investment
$29,000Median student debt
$40,304Median annual earnings (10 years)
71.95%Debt-to-earnings ratio
7.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Claflin University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (37 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Claflin University.

Employment Outcomes

$40,304Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$29,227Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$36,336Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.41%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Claflin University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Claflin University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$72.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $51M

Year change: $21.9M

  • South Carolina median 5.7× the median ($12.8M)
  • Southeast median 3.7× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 2.8× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $39,431

  • South Carolina median 5.6× the median ($7,041)
  • Southeast median 4.2× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 3.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 72.0%
    • South Carolina median 11.2 pp above median (60.7%)
    • Southeast median 12.5 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 14.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,329
    • South Carolina median 1.1× the median ($6,831)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,302
    • South Carolina median 1.3× the median ($8,125)
    • Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Claflin University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Claflin University

Orangeburg, SC 29115-4498 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Claflin University is a private non-profit institution in Orangeburg, SC, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$18,282
Avg. net price$17,800
Enrollment1,706
Acceptance rate64.93%
Completion (150%)51.60%
Pell Grant share73.49%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralCriminal Justice/Safety Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American89.2%
Race/ethnicity unknown5.0%
White or Caucasian2.4%
Nearby

Schools near Claflin University

Other campuses in Orangeburg, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Claflin University located?

Claflin University is located in Orangeburg, SC.

What is Claflin University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Claflin University is 64.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 6,999 applicants and 5,078 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Claflin University's tuition?

Claflin University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $18,282 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,800 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Claflin University cost?

Reported tuition is $18,282 and average net price is $17,800 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,480 annually.

Why is Claflin University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Claflin University, published tuition is $18,282 while average net price is $17,800—about 3% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Claflin University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,800), completion (51.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,304). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Claflin University?

Claflin University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,833 students, Black or African American (89.2%), Race/ethnicity unknown (5.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Claflin University?

About 32.4% of students at Claflin University are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Claflin University earn?

Median earnings are $29,227 six years after entry and $40,304 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Claflin University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 51.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Claflin University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $29,000.

Is Claflin University public or private?

Claflin University is a private nonprofit institution located in Orangeburg, SC.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.