Active Report Report ID: EDU-190044-2026

Clarkson University

Potsdam, NY 13699

Acceptance rate77.36%Broad access
Tuition$59,398Published sticker
Avg. net price$30,305After aid
Graduation rate74.91%150% time
Median salary$89,69610yr post-entry

About Clarkson University

Clarkson University is a private research university in Potsdam, New York, enrolling about 2,196 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 77.36% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $89,696 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Clarkson University charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition ($59,398).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.3×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 74.91%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $89,696.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Clarkson University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 640% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Clarkson University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 53 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Clarkson University$59,398$30,3051
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 49% below published tuition at Clarkson University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Clarkson University's average net price ($30,305) is 49% below published tuition ($59,398).
  • Clarkson University charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition ($59,398).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.3×.
Published sticker

Clarkson University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $59,398

Finding Clarkson University charges about 2.0× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $59,398. That is about 2.0× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 4.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.0×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Clarkson University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Clarkson University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Clarkson University is $30,305.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $30,305 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $20,932 above the New York median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $15,334 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Clarkson University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 49% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Clarkson University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Clarkson University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$59,398

Avg. net price

$30,305

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$21,335
$30,001–$48,000$19,934
$48,001–$75,000$23,321
$75,001–$110,000$30,990
$110,001+$35,757

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $237,592. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention84.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$76,970Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 11% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1304
  • Midpoint ACT: 29

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Clarkson University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Clarkson University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Clarkson University.

Campus

Location

Potsdam, NY

City / state

ZIP
13699
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 2.0× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

2,196

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
2,410
Graduate
1,052
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$26,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
21.57%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$121,220Estimated 4-year total cost
$30,305Average annual net price (after aid)
$237,5924-year tuition
$18,252Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,560Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$79,210Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$316,840Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Clarkson University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

21.57% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
61.88% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Clarkson University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Clarkson University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$40,540$40,540$25,431
2014$42,530$42,530$27,629
2015$44,630$44,630$29,243
2016$46,132$46,132$30,662
2017$47,950$47,950$30,563
2018$49,444$49,444$30,485
2019$51,128$51,128$29,015
2020$52,724$52,724$29,522
2021$54,370$54,370$31,339
2022$56,258$56,258$31,114
2023$57,950$57,950$31,955

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

77.36%Acceptance rate
7,347Total applicants
5,669Students admitted
608First-time students enrolled
10.72%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1304SAT average
29ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Clarkson University reported total enrollment of about 2,196 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 69% male and 31% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (73.9%), Hispanic or Latino (12.9%), and Non-Resident Alien (4.4%). About 21.57% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 15.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Clarkson University in 2024 is 2,196 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,410 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,052 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

84.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

73.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian73.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino12.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien4.4%
  • Two or More Races3.5%
  • Black or African American2.5%
  • Asian2.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.4%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

62.36% 100% Completion Time

74.91% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 62.36% of students graduating from Clarkson University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Mechanical Engineering: 81% male / 19% female
  • Engineering/Industrial Management: 76% male / 24% female
  • Electrical and Electronics Engineering: 81% male / 19% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

812White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian812
  • Hispanic or Latino72
  • Asian50
  • Two or More Races34
  • Black or African American27
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Clarkson University graduates earn a median of $89,696 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Clarkson University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $89,696. Median federal loan debt: $26,000. Average net price used in cost models: $30,305.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Clarkson University graduates report median earnings of $89,696 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

640%Modeled return on investment
$26,000Median student debt
$89,696Median annual earnings (10 years)
28.99%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Clarkson University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (53 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Engineering/Industrial Management 102
  2. Computer Science 45

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Clarkson University.

Employment Outcomes

$89,696Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$76,970Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$78,777Median earnings (8 years after entry)
42.91%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Clarkson University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Clarkson University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$218.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $216.6M

Year change: $1.8M

  • New York median 5.7× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 5.1× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 8.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $65,124

  • New York median 4.2× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 4.0× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 5.4× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 77.7%
    • New York median 23.9 pp above median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 20.8 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 19.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,357
    • New York median 1.4× the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median 1.4× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,750
    • New York median 1.5× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 1.8× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Clarkson University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Clarkson University

Potsdam, NY 13699 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Clarkson University is a private non-profit institution in Potsdam, NY, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$59,398
Avg. net price$30,305
Enrollment2,196
Acceptance rate77.36%
Completion (150%)74.91%
Average SAT1304
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Mechanical EngineeringEngineering/Industrial ManagementElectrical and Electronics Engineering
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian73.9%
Hispanic or Latino12.9%
Non-Resident Alien4.4%
Nearby

Schools near Clarkson University

Other campuses in Potsdam, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Clarkson University located?

Clarkson University is located in Potsdam, NY.

What is Clarkson University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Clarkson University is 77.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 7,347 applicants and 5,669 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Clarkson University's tuition?

Clarkson University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $59,398 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $30,305 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Clarkson University cost?

Reported tuition is $59,398 and average net price is $30,305 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,252 annually.

Why is Clarkson University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Clarkson University, published tuition is $59,398 while average net price is $30,305—about 49% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Clarkson University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($30,305), completion (74.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($89,696). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Clarkson University?

Clarkson University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,410 students, White (73.9%), Hispanic or Latino (12.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Clarkson University?

About 15.3% of students at Clarkson University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Clarkson University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Clarkson University reports midpoint SAT about 1304 and midpoint ACT about 29.

What do graduates of Clarkson University earn?

Median earnings are $76,970 six years after entry and $89,696 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Clarkson University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 74.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Clarkson University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.