Cleveland Institute of Art
Cleveland, OH 44106-1710
About Cleveland Institute of Art
Cleveland Institute of Art is a private university in Cleveland, Ohio, enrolling about 539 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 61.35% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $42,509 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Cleveland Institute of Art charges 68% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($49,400).
- Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 3.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 57.71%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,509.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Cleveland Institute of Art is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 264% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland Institute of Art | $49,400 | $29,208 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Ohio (state median) | $15,202 | $12,090 | 154 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 41% below published tuition at Cleveland Institute of Art
Key findings
- Cleveland Institute of Art's average net price ($29,208) is 41% below published tuition ($49,400).
- Cleveland Institute of Art charges 68% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($49,400).
- Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 3.2×.
Cleveland Institute of Art tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $49,400
Finding Cleveland Institute of Art charges 68% above the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $49,400. That is 68% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Ohio median ($15,202), sticker tuition is about 3.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 4.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Cleveland Institute of Art versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Cleveland Institute of Art versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Cleveland Institute of Art is $29,208.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $29,208 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,118 above the Ohio median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $9,155 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Cleveland Institute of Art’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 41% lower after grants and scholarships.
Cleveland Institute of Art: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Cleveland Institute of Art—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$49,400
Avg. net price
$29,208
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $23,423 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $24,992 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $26,654 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $30,518 |
| $110,001+ | $37,436 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $197,600. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Cleveland Institute of Art is known for
Top program completions
- 05.004134
- Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects21
- Industrial and Product Design11
- Medical Illustration/Medical Illustrator11
- Painting9
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 23% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1193
- Midpoint ACT: 23
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Cleveland Institute of Art a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Cleveland Institute of Art is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Cleveland Institute of Art.
Campus
Location
Cleveland, OH
City / state
- ZIP
- 44106-1710
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 46% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
- Carnegie
- Not applicable, not in Carnegie universe (not accredited or non-degree-granting)
Size
Enrollment
539
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 562
- Full-time share
- 99%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$27,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 42.23%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Cleveland Institute of Art.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Cleveland Institute of Art was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Cleveland Institute of Art in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $36,509 | $36,509 | $28,458 |
| 2014 | $37,565 | $37,565 | $31,236 |
| 2015 | $38,487 | $38,487 | $32,033 |
| 2016 | $39,585 | $39,585 | $29,243 |
| 2017 | $40,655 | $40,655 | $34,119 |
| 2018 | $42,055 | $42,055 | $32,535 |
| 2019 | $43,305 | $43,305 | $32,707 |
| 2020 | $44,385 | $44,385 | $35,626 |
| 2021 | $45,495 | $45,495 | $30,692 |
| 2022 | $46,460 | $46,460 | $32,681 |
| 2023 | $47,880 | $47,880 | $32,072 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1193 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 23 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Cleveland Institute of Art reported total enrollment of about 539 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 26% male and 74% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (62.3%), Black or African American (15.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (11.1%). About 42.23% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 26.7% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
99.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Cleveland Institute of Art in 2024 is 539 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 562 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
87.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
49.14% 100% Completion Time
57.71% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 49.14% of students graduating from Cleveland Institute of Art completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- 05.0041: 12% male / 88% female
- Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special Effects: 38% male / 62% female
- Industrial and Product Design: 55% male / 45% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Cleveland Institute of Art graduates earn a median of $42,509 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Cleveland Institute of Art.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,509. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $29,208.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Cleveland Institute of Art graduates report median earnings of $42,509 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Cleveland Institute of Art.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (16 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Cleveland Institute of Art.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Cleveland Institute of Art graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Cleveland Institute of Art—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$37.2M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Ohio median 1.5× the median ($24.2M)
- Great Lakes median 1.2× the median ($31.8M)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($26.4M)
- Ohio median 4.5× the median ($15,287)
- Great Lakes median 4.1× the median ($16,690)
- U.S. median 5.7× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 47.1%
- Ohio median 7.7 pp below median (54.9%)
- Great Lakes median 10.9 pp below median (58.1%)
- U.S. median 10.8 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,134
- Ohio median near the median ($7,463)
- Great Lakes median 0.89× the median ($8,046)
- U.S. median 0.94× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $14,182
- Ohio median 1.9× the median ($7,640)
- Great Lakes median 1.8× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Cleveland Institute of Art at a glance
Cleveland Institute of Art
Cleveland Institute of Art is a private non-profit institution in Cleveland, OH, classified as Not applicable, not in Carnegie universe (not accredited or non-degree-granting).
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- 05.0041Animation, Interactive Technology, Video Graphics, and Special EffectsIndustrial and Product Design
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian62.3%Black or African American15.6%Hispanic or Latino11.1%
Schools near Cleveland Institute of Art
Other campuses in Cleveland, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Cleveland Institute of Art located?
Cleveland Institute of Art is located in Cleveland, OH.
What is Cleveland Institute of Art's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Cleveland Institute of Art is 61.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 963 applicants and 542 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Cleveland Institute of Art's tuition?
Cleveland Institute of Art tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $49,400 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $29,208 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Cleveland Institute of Art cost?
Reported tuition is $49,400 and average net price is $29,208 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,850 annually.
Why is Cleveland Institute of Art's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Cleveland Institute of Art, published tuition is $49,400 while average net price is $29,208—about 41% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Cleveland Institute of Art's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($29,208), completion (57.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,509). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Cleveland Institute of Art?
Cleveland Institute of Art reports undergraduate enrollment of about 562 students, White (62.3%), Black or African American (15.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Cleveland Institute of Art?
About 26.7% of students at Cleveland Institute of Art are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Cleveland Institute of Art?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Cleveland Institute of Art reports midpoint SAT about 1193 and midpoint ACT about 23.
What do graduates of Cleveland Institute of Art earn?
Median earnings are $33,148 six years after entry and $42,509 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Cleveland Institute of Art?
The 150%-time completion rate is 57.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Cleveland Institute of Art students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.