Active Report Report ID: EDU-139393-2026

Covenant College

Lookout Mountain, GA 30750-4164

Acceptance rate86.51%Broad access
Tuition$42,040Published sticker
Avg. net price$26,265After aid
Graduation rate71.49%150% time
Median salary$50,41210yr post-entry

About Covenant College

Covenant College is a private research university in Lookout Mountain, Georgia, enrolling about 939 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 86.51% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $50,412 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Covenant College charges 43% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($42,040).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 5.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.49%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $50,412.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Covenant College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 380% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Covenant College$42,040$26,2651
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Georgia (state median)$8,492$9,196117
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 38% below published tuition at Covenant College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Covenant College's average net price ($26,265) is 38% below published tuition ($42,040).
  • Covenant College charges 43% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($42,040).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 5.0×.
Published sticker

Covenant College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $42,040

Finding Covenant College charges 43% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $42,040. That is 43% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Georgia median ($8,492), sticker tuition is about 5.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Covenant College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Covenant College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Covenant College is $26,265.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $26,265 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,068 above the Georgia median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $7,565 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Covenant College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 38% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Covenant College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Covenant College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$42,040

Avg. net price

$26,265

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$18,310
$30,001–$48,000$15,929
$48,001–$75,000$24,606
$75,001–$110,000$24,836
$110,001+$30,172

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $168,160. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention88.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,570Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 40% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1294
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Covenant College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Covenant College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Covenant College.

Campus

Location

Lookout Mountain, GA

City / state

ZIP
30750-4164
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 40% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

939

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,207
Graduate
13
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$22,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
19.05%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$105,060Estimated 4-year total cost
$26,265Average annual net price (after aid)
$168,1604-year tuition
$12,754Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,170Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$55,964Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$223,856Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Covenant College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

19.05% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
40.42% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Covenant College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Covenant College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$29,100$29,100$20,141
2014$30,160$30,160$21,715
2015$31,320$31,320$23,742
2016$32,230$32,230$22,721
2017$33,170$33,170$22,202
2018$34,330$34,330$22,234
2019$35,640$35,640$23,413
2020$36,710$36,710$25,335
2021$37,770$37,770$24,467
2022$38,860$38,860$24,446
2023$40,464$40,464$24,832

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

86.51%Acceptance rate
751Total applicants
614Students admitted
246First-time students enrolled
40.07%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1294SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Covenant College reported total enrollment of about 939 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 48% male and 52% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (84.8%), Hispanic or Latino (4.2%), and Non-Resident Alien (3.7%). About 19.05% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

98.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Covenant College in 2024 is 939 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,207 students. Graduate enrollment is about 13 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

88.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

84.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian84.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino4.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.7%
  • Asian3.2%
  • Two or More Races1.6%
  • Black or African American1.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

64.66% 100% Completion Time

71.49% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 64.66% of students graduating from Covenant College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business/Commerce, General: 70% male / 30% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 65% male / 35% female
  • Art/Art Studies, General: 21% male / 79% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

169White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian169
  • Hispanic or Latino7
  • Black or African American4
  • Asian4
  • Two or More Races3
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Covenant College graduates earn a median of $50,412 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Covenant College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $50,412. Median federal loan debt: $22,500. Average net price used in cost models: $26,265.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Covenant College graduates report median earnings of $50,412 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

380%Modeled return on investment
$22,500Median student debt
$50,412Median annual earnings (10 years)
44.63%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Covenant College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (28 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. English Language and Literature, General 9
  2. Physical Sciences, General 8

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Covenant College.

Employment Outcomes

$50,412Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,570Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$46,012Median earnings (8 years after entry)
86.52%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Covenant College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Covenant College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$57.5M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $53.6M

Year change: $3.9M

  • Georgia median 1.4× the median ($41.7M)
  • Southeast median 3.0× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $68,915

  • Georgia median 7.0× the median ($9,839)
  • Southeast median 7.4× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 5.7× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Georgia median 37.7 pp above median (62.3%)
    • Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,555
    • Georgia median 1.4× the median ($6,152)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,737
    • Georgia median 1.9× the median ($5,760)
    • Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Covenant College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Covenant College

Lookout Mountain, GA 30750-4164 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Covenant College is a private non-profit institution in Lookout Mountain, GA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$42,040
Avg. net price$26,265
Enrollment939
Acceptance rate86.51%
Completion (150%)71.49%
Average SAT1294
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business/Commerce, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, GeneralArt/Art Studies, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian84.8%
Hispanic or Latino4.2%
Non-Resident Alien3.7%
Nearby

Schools near Covenant College

Other campuses in Lookout Mountain, GA when available, plus nearby institutions in Georgia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Georgia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Covenant College located?

Covenant College is located in Lookout Mountain, GA.

What is Covenant College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Covenant College is 86.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 751 applicants and 614 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Covenant College's tuition?

Covenant College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $42,040 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $26,265 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Covenant College cost?

Reported tuition is $42,040 and average net price is $26,265 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,754 annually.

Why is Covenant College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Covenant College, published tuition is $42,040 while average net price is $26,265—about 38% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Covenant College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($26,265), completion (71.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($50,412). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Covenant College?

Covenant College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,207 students, White (84.8%), Hispanic or Latino (4.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What test scores do students need for Covenant College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Covenant College reports midpoint SAT about 1294 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of Covenant College earn?

Median earnings are $39,570 six years after entry and $50,412 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Covenant College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Covenant College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,500.

Is Covenant College public or private?

Covenant College is a private nonprofit institution located in Lookout Mountain, GA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.