Active Report Report ID: EDU-203535-2026

Kenyon College

Gambier, OH 43022

Acceptance rate31.03%Selective
Tuition$72,220Published sticker
Avg. net price$33,279After aid
Graduation rate85.63%150% time
Median salary$65,78010yr post-entry

About Kenyon College

Kenyon College is a private university in Gambier, Ohio, enrolling about 1,732 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 31.03% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $65,780 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Kenyon College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($72,220).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 4.7×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 85.63%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $65,780.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Kenyon College is about 54% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $72,220; average net price is $33,279 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Kenyon College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 394% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Kenyon College$72,220$33,2791
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Ohio (state median)$15,312$10,728154
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 54% below published tuition at Kenyon College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Kenyon College's average net price ($33,279) is 54% below published tuition ($72,220).
  • Kenyon College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($72,220).
  • Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 4.7×.
Published sticker

Kenyon College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $72,220

Finding Kenyon College charges about 2.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $72,220. That is about 2.4× the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Ohio median ($15,312), sticker tuition is about 4.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is about 5.9×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Kenyon College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Kenyon College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Kenyon College is $33,279.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $33,279 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $22,551 above the Ohio median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Kenyon College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 54% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Kenyon College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Kenyon College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$72,220

Avg. net price

$33,279

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$14,548
$30,001–$48,000$9,136
$48,001–$75,000$15,184
$75,001–$110,000$31,525
$110,001+$48,147

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $288,880. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention91.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$56,882Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 18% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1429
  • Midpoint ACT: 33

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Kenyon College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Kenyon College is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 54% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Kenyon College.

Campus

Location

Gambier, OH

City / state

ZIP
43022

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus

Size

Enrollment

1,732

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
2,418
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
11.25%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$133,116Estimated 4-year total cost
$33,279Average annual net price (after aid)
$288,8804-year tuition
$17,380Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,900Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$91,500Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$366,000Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Kenyon College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

11.25% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
23.39% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Kenyon College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Kenyon College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$45,640$45,640$28,132
2014$47,330$47,330$29,203
2015$49,140$49,140$29,516
2016$51,200$51,200$28,678
2017$53,560$53,560$30,504
2018$55,930$55,930$28,961
2019$58,570$58,570$32,897
2020$55,020$55,020$36,374
2021$63,310$63,310$33,706
2022$66,490$66,490$39,277
2023$69,330$69,330$29,383

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

31.03%Acceptance rate
8,218Total applicants
2,524Students admitted
455First-time students enrolled
18.03%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1429SAT average
33ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.80Estimated median GPA
3.7–3.9Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Kenyon College reported total enrollment of about 1,732 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (65.7%), Non-Resident Alien (12.2%), and Hispanic or Latino (8.2%). About 11.25% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Kenyon College in 2024 is 1,732 students.

Over a full year, about 2,418 undergraduates enroll.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

91.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

65.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian65.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien12.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino8.2%
  • Two or More Races5.9%
  • Asian4.3%
  • Black or African American2.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

80.08% 100% Completion Time

85.63% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 80.08% of students graduating from Kenyon College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • English Language and Literature, General: 26% male / 74% female
  • Economics, General: 74% male / 26% female
  • Political Science and Government, General: 69% male / 31% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

341White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian341
  • Hispanic or Latino34
  • Asian27
  • Two or More Races23
  • Black or African American9
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Kenyon College graduates earn a median of $65,780 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Kenyon College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $65,780. Median federal loan debt: $21,000. Average net price used in cost models: $33,279.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Kenyon College graduates report median earnings of $65,780 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

394%Modeled return on investment
$21,000Median student debt
$65,780Median annual earnings (10 years)
31.92%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Kenyon College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. English Language and Literature, General 62
  2. Economics, General 42
  3. Mathematics, General 29
  4. Fine Arts and Art Studies, Other 17

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Kenyon College.

Employment Outcomes

$65,780Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$63,147Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$56,882Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$62,153Median earnings (8 years after entry)
96.64%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Kenyon College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Kenyon College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$560.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $517M

Year change: $43.2M

  • Ohio median 23× the median ($24.2M)
  • Great Lakes median 18× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 21× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $270,916

  • Ohio median 18× the median ($15,287)
  • Great Lakes median 16× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 22× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 97.8%
    • Ohio median 42.9 pp above median (54.9%)
    • Great Lakes median 39.8 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 39.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,767
    • Ohio median 1.3× the median ($7,463)
    • Great Lakes median 1.2× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $26,237
    • Ohio median 3.4× the median ($7,640)
    • Great Lakes median 3.4× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 3.6× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Kenyon College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Kenyon College

Gambier, OH 43022 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Kenyon College is a private non-profit institution in Gambier, OH, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.

Tuition$72,220
Avg. net price$33,279
Enrollment1,732
Acceptance rate31.03%
Completion (150%)85.63%
Average SAT1429
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
English Language and Literature, GeneralEconomics, GeneralPolitical Science and Government, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian65.7%
Non-Resident Alien12.2%
Hispanic or Latino8.2%
Nearby

Schools near Kenyon College

Other campuses in Gambier, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Kenyon College located?

Kenyon College is located in Gambier, OH.

What is Kenyon College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Kenyon College is 31.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 8,218 applicants and 2,524 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Kenyon College's tuition?

Kenyon College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $72,220 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $33,279 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Kenyon College cost?

Reported tuition is $72,220 and average net price is $33,279 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,380 annually.

Why is Kenyon College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Kenyon College, published tuition is $72,220 while average net price is $33,279—about 54% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Kenyon College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($33,279), completion (85.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($65,780). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Kenyon College?

Kenyon College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,418 students, White (65.7%), Non-Resident Alien (12.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What test scores do students need for Kenyon College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Kenyon College reports midpoint SAT about 1429 and midpoint ACT about 33.

What do graduates of Kenyon College earn?

Median earnings are $56,882 six years after entry and $65,780 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Kenyon College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 85.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Kenyon College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,000.

Is Kenyon College public or private?

Kenyon College is a private nonprofit institution located in Gambier, OH.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.