New College of Florida
Sarasota, FL 34243-2109
About New College of Florida
New College of Florida is a public research university in Sarasota, Florida, enrolling about 843 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 73.20% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,082 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- New College of Florida charges 25% above the national public median tuition ($6,916).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Florida median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 66.67%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,082.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at New College of Florida is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1571% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| New College of Florida | $6,916 | $7,195 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Florida (state median) | $16,838 | $7,247 | 176 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is New College of Florida really?
Key findings
- New College of Florida charges 25% above the national public median tuition ($6,916).
- Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Florida median net price.
New College of Florida tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,916
Finding New College of Florida charges 25% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,916. That is 25% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Florida median ($16,838), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.6×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at New College of Florida versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at New College of Florida versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at New College of Florida is $7,195.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $7,195 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $52 below the Florida median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $7,776 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At New College of Florida, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
New College of Florida: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for New College of Florida—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$6,916
Out-of-state tuition
$29,944
Avg. net price
$7,195
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $3,591 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $3,582 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $4,880 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $10,204 |
| $110,001+ | $13,586 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $27,664. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What New College of Florida is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other56
- Biological and Physical Sciences55
- Environmental Studies9
- Informatics9
- Foreign Languages and Literatures, General8
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1150
- Midpoint ACT: 26
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is New College of Florida a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
New College of Florida is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for New College of Florida.
Campus
Location
Sarasota, FL
City / state
- ZIP
- 34243-2109
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields
Size
Enrollment
843
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 887
- Graduate
- 29
- Full-time share
- 99%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$17,375
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 33.94%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for New College of Florida.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at New College of Florida was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for New College of Florida in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,866 | $29,894 | $10,015 |
| 2014 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $9,552 |
| 2015 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $8,660 |
| 2016 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $9,706 |
| 2017 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $10,248 |
| 2018 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $7,991 |
| 2019 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $8,516 |
| 2020 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $10,272 |
| 2021 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $7,238 |
| 2022 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $7,091 |
| 2023 | $6,916 | $29,944 | $4,536 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1150 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 26 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
New College of Florida reported total enrollment of about 843 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 46% male and 54% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (53.3%), Hispanic or Latino (20.2%), and Non-Resident Alien (13.2%). About 33.94% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 20.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
98.8% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at New College of Florida in 2024 is 843 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 887 students. Graduate enrollment is about 29 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
75.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
58.33% 100% Completion Time
66.67% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 58.33% of students graduating from New College of Florida completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other: 34% male / 66% female
- Biological and Physical Sciences: 29% male / 71% female
- Environmental Studies: 33% male / 67% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
New College of Florida graduates earn a median of $48,082 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of New College of Florida.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,082. Median federal loan debt: $17,375. Average net price used in cost models: $7,195.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway New College of Florida graduates report median earnings of $48,082 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for New College of Florida.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 7 programs by IPEDS completions (8 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at New College of Florida.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for New College of Florida graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for New College of Florida—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$48.1M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Florida median 1.3× the median ($35.9M)
- Southeast median 2.5× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($26.4M)
- Florida median 8.1× the median ($7,784)
- Southeast median 6.8× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 5.2× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 84.4%
- Florida median 36.2 pp above median (48.2%)
- Southeast median 25.0 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 26.4 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,340
- Florida median 1.5× the median ($6,877)
- Southeast median 1.5× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $21,232
- Florida median 3.7× the median ($5,803)
- Southeast median 3.2× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 2.9× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
New College of Florida at a glance
New College of Florida
New College of Florida is a public institution in Sarasota, FL, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, OtherBiological and Physical SciencesEnvironmental Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian53.3%Hispanic or Latino20.2%Non-Resident Alien13.2%
Schools near New College of Florida
Other campuses in Sarasota, FL when available, plus nearby institutions in Florida.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Florida, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is New College of Florida located?
New College of Florida is located in Sarasota, FL.
What is New College of Florida's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at New College of Florida is 73.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,119 applicants and 1,568 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is New College of Florida's tuition?
New College of Florida tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,916 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $7,195 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does New College of Florida cost?
Reported tuition is $6,916 and average net price is $7,195 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,825 annually.
What explains New College of Florida's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($7,195), completion (66.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,082). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at New College of Florida?
New College of Florida reports undergraduate enrollment of about 887 students, White (53.3%), Hispanic or Latino (20.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend New College of Florida?
About 20.9% of students at New College of Florida are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for New College of Florida?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, New College of Florida reports midpoint SAT about 1150 and midpoint ACT about 26.
What do graduates of New College of Florida earn?
Median earnings are $32,611 six years after entry and $48,082 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at New College of Florida?
The 150%-time completion rate is 66.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do New College of Florida students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,375.
Is New College of Florida public or private?
New College of Florida is a public institution located in Sarasota, FL.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.