Active Report Report ID: EDU-232982-2026

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VA 23529

Acceptance rate90.36%Broad access
Tuition$13,250Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,913After aid
Graduation rate43.09%150% time
Median salary$60,48210yr post-entry

About Old Dominion University

Old Dominion University is a public research university in Norfolk, Virginia, with about 17,514 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 90.36% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $60,482 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Old Dominion University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition ($13,250).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 20% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 43.09%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $60,482.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Old Dominion University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1071% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Old Dominion University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 111 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Old Dominion University$13,250$12,9131
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Virginia (state median)$16,637$7,931110
Suburban (locale median)$13,274$18,692686
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 3% below published tuition at Old Dominion University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Old Dominion University's average net price ($12,913) is 3% below published tuition ($13,250).
  • Old Dominion University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition ($13,250).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 20% below.
Published sticker

Old Dominion University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $13,250

Finding Old Dominion University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $13,250. That is about 2.3× the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Virginia median ($16,637), sticker tuition is 20% below. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 9% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Old Dominion University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Old Dominion University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Old Dominion University is $12,913.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,913 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,982 above the Virginia median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $5,780 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Old Dominion University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 3% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Old Dominion University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Old Dominion University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$13,250

Out-of-state tuition

$34,325

Avg. net price

$12,913

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,610
$30,001–$48,000$8,652
$48,001–$75,000$9,960
$75,001–$110,000$13,726
$110,001+$23,199

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $53,000. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention76.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$49,587Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 20% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1197
  • Midpoint ACT: 24

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Old Dominion University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Old Dominion University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Old Dominion University.

Campus

Location

Norfolk, VA

City / state

ZIP
23529
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 31% below the median for Suburban campuses ($18,692 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

17,514

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
20,272
Graduate
5,997
Full-time share
78%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$22,956

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
40.58%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$51,652Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,913Average annual net price (after aid)
$53,0004-year in-state tuition
$137,3004-year out-of-state tuition
$15,176Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,790Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$30,216Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$120,864Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Old Dominion University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

40.58% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
37.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Old Dominion University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Old Dominion University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$8,550$24,210$12,916
2014$8,970$25,140$13,067
2015$9,480$26,220$15,935
2016$9,750$26,730$15,920
2017$10,050$27,900$15,368
2018$10,560$29,460$15,680
2019$10,680$30,840$16,493
2020$10,800$30,960$17,204
2021$10,800$30,960$16,948
2022$11,220$31,170$15,415
2023$12,262$32,662$14,170

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

90.36%Acceptance rate
15,216Total applicants
13,773Students admitted
2,717First-time students enrolled
19.73%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1197SAT average
24ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Old Dominion University reported total enrollment of about 17,514 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 46% male and 54% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (40.6%), Black or African American (31.9%), and Hispanic or Latino (11.2%). About 40.58% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 33.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

77.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Old Dominion University in 2024 is 17,514 students.

Over a full year, about 20,272 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 5,997 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

76.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

40.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian40.6%
  • Black or African American31.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino11.2%
  • Two or More Races7.4%
  • Asian5.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

24.76% 100% Completion Time

43.09% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 24.76% of students graduating from Old Dominion University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 17% male / 83% female
  • Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance: 70% male / 30% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

2,567White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian2,567
  • Black or African American1,268
  • Hispanic or Latino452
  • Two or More Races304
  • Asian265
  • American Indian or Alaska Native20
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander15

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Old Dominion University graduates earn a median of $60,482 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Old Dominion University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $60,482. Median federal loan debt: $22,956. Average net price used in cost models: $12,913.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Old Dominion University graduates report median earnings of $60,482 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,071%Modeled return on investment
$22,956Median student debt
$60,482Median annual earnings (10 years)
37.96%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.8 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Old Dominion University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (111 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Criminology 175
  2. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 172
  3. Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions, Other 144

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Old Dominion University.

Employment Outcomes

$60,482Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$64,385Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$49,587Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$57,035Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.79%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Old Dominion University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Old Dominion University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$310.9M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $311.9M

Year change: -$955,222

  • Virginia median 10× the median ($30.9M)
  • Southeast median 16× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 12× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $16,539

  • Virginia median 1.3× the median ($13,171)
  • Southeast median 1.8× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 95.7%
    • Virginia median 34.7 pp above median (61.0%)
    • Southeast median 36.3 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 37.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,583
    • Virginia median 1.3× the median ($8,196)
    • Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,901
    • Virginia median 1.7× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 2.0× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Old Dominion University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VA 23529 · Public · Southeast

Old Dominion University is a public institution in Norfolk, VA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$13,250
Avg. net price$12,913
Enrollment17,514
Acceptance rate90.36%
Completion (150%)43.09%
Average SAT1197
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralComputer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information AssuranceRegistered Nursing/Registered Nurse
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian40.6%
Black or African American31.9%
Hispanic or Latino11.2%
Nearby

Schools near Old Dominion University

Other campuses in Norfolk, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Old Dominion University located?

Old Dominion University is located in Norfolk, VA.

What is Old Dominion University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Old Dominion University is 90.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 15,216 applicants and 13,773 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Old Dominion University's tuition?

Old Dominion University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $13,250 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,913 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Old Dominion University cost?

Reported tuition is $13,250 and average net price is $12,913 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,176 annually.

Why is Old Dominion University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Old Dominion University, published tuition is $13,250 while average net price is $12,913—about 3% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Old Dominion University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,913), completion (43.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($60,482). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Old Dominion University?

Old Dominion University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 20,272 students, White (40.6%), Black or African American (31.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Old Dominion University?

About 33.2% of students at Old Dominion University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Old Dominion University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Old Dominion University reports midpoint SAT about 1197 and midpoint ACT about 24.

What do graduates of Old Dominion University earn?

Median earnings are $49,587 six years after entry and $60,482 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Old Dominion University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 43.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Old Dominion University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $22,956.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.