Active Report Report ID: EDU-214625-2026

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

New Kensington, PA 15068-1765

Acceptance rate95.29%Broad access
Tuition$14,440Published sticker
Avg. net price$10,866After aid
Graduation rate25.74%150% time
Median salary$71,76210yr post-entry

About Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is a public four-year university in New Kensington, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 416 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 95.29% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $71,762 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 28% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 25.74%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $71,762.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1551% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington$14,440$10,8661
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,975$13,558183
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 25% below published tuition at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington's average net price ($10,866) is 25% below published tuition ($14,440).
  • Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington charges about 2.5× the national public median tuition ($14,440).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 28% below.
  • Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.
Published sticker

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $14,440

Finding Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington charges about 2.5× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $14,440. That is about 2.5× the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,975), sticker tuition is 28% below. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 18% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is $10,866.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $10,866 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,692 below the Pennsylvania median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 25% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$14,440

Out-of-state tuition

$24,402

Avg. net price

$10,866

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$4,503
$30,001–$48,000$5,022
$48,001–$75,000$7,807
$75,001–$110,000$13,155
$110,001+$16,916

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $57,760. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention85.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$60,829Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 21% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1190

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.

Campus

Location

New Kensington, PA

City / state

ZIP
15068-1765

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

416

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
515
Graduate
1
Full-time share
92%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$24,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
41.07%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$43,464Estimated 4-year total cost
$10,866Average annual net price (after aid)
$57,7604-year in-state tuition
$97,6084-year out-of-state tuition
$18,276Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$33,916Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$135,664Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.

Financial Aid by Income Level

41.07% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
54.29% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$13,412$20,018$15,104
2014$13,588$20,274$13,332
2015$13,608$20,294$14,718
2016$13,616$20,496$14,063
2017$13,694$21,328$15,068
2018$13,702$21,886$18,179
2019$13,710$22,302—
2022$14,340$23,602$19,444
2023$14,380$23,872$19,522

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

95.29%Acceptance rate
643Total applicants
600Students admitted
125First-time students enrolled
20.83%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1190SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington reported total enrollment of about 416 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 65% male and 35% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (76.7%), Hispanic or Latino (8.2%), and Black or African American (6.7%). About 41.07% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 28.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

91.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington in 2024 is 416 students.

Over a full year, about 515 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 1 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

85.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

76.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian76.7%
  • Hispanic or Latino8.2%
  • Black or African American6.7%
  • Two or More Races3.9%
  • Asian2.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

18.18% 100% Completion Time

25.74% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 18.18% of students graduating from Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business/Commerce, General: 68% male / 32% female
  • Electromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/Technician: 88% male / 12% female
  • Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration: 50% male / 50% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

67White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian67
  • Two or More Races3
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Black or African American1
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington graduates earn a median of $71,762 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $71,762. Median federal loan debt: $24,500. Average net price used in cost models: $10,866.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington graduates report median earnings of $71,762 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,551%Modeled return on investment
$24,500Median student debt
$71,762Median annual earnings (10 years)
34.14%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (15 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Electromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/Technician 8
  2. Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other 6
  3. Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, Other 6
  4. Information Science/Studies 4
  5. Biomedical Technology/Technician 3

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington.

Employment Outcomes

$71,762Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$78,595Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$60,829Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$67,644Median earnings (8 years after entry)
94.37%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 65.5%
    • Pennsylvania median 2.3 pp above median (63.1%)
    • Mid East median 8.6 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 7.5 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,403
    • Pennsylvania median 1.2× the median ($8,003)
    • Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,101
    • Pennsylvania median 0.71× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 0.67× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.84× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington at a glance

Institution snapshot

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

New Kensington, PA 15068-1765 · Public · Mid East

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is a public institution in New Kensington, PA.

Tuition$14,440
Avg. net price$10,866
Enrollment416
Acceptance rate95.29%
Completion (150%)25.74%
Average SAT1190
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business/Commerce, GeneralElectromechanical/Electromechanical Engineering Technology/TechnicianCriminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian76.7%
Hispanic or Latino8.2%
Black or African American6.7%
Nearby

Schools near Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington

Other campuses in New Kensington, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington located?

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is located in New Kensington, PA.

What is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington is 95.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 643 applicants and 600 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington's tuition?

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $14,440 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $10,866 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington cost?

Reported tuition is $14,440 and average net price is $10,866 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,276 annually.

Why is Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington, published tuition is $14,440 while average net price is $10,866—about 25% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($10,866), completion (25.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($71,762). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington?

Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington reports undergraduate enrollment of about 515 students, White (76.7%), Hispanic or Latino (8.2%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington?

About 28.8% of students at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington reports midpoint SAT about 1190.

What do graduates of Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington earn?

Median earnings are $60,829 six years after entry and $71,762 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington?

The 150%-time completion rate is 25.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $24,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.