Active Report Report ID: EDU-140988-2026

Shorter University

Rome, GA 30165

Acceptance rate96.46%Broad access
Tuition$24,630Published sticker
Avg. net price$16,646After aid
Graduation rate37.69%150% time
Median salary$44,60410yr post-entry

About Shorter University

Shorter University is a private research university in Rome, Georgia, enrolling about 1,028 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 96.46% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $44,604 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Shorter University charges 16% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($24,630).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 2.9×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 37.69%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $44,604.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Shorter University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 570% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Shorter University$24,630$16,6461
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Georgia (state median)$8,492$9,196117
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 32% below published tuition at Shorter University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Shorter University's average net price ($16,646) is 32% below published tuition ($24,630).
  • Shorter University charges 16% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($24,630).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 2.9×.
Published sticker

Shorter University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $24,630

Finding Shorter University charges 16% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $24,630. That is 16% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Georgia median ($8,492), sticker tuition is about 2.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.1×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Shorter University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Shorter University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Shorter University is $16,646.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $16,646 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,450 above the Georgia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,675 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Shorter University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 32% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Shorter University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Shorter University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$24,630

Avg. net price

$16,646

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,929
$30,001–$48,000$21,482
$48,001–$75,000$22,944
$75,001–$110,000$21,292
$110,001+$18,898

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $98,520. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention60.5%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$41,860Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 35% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1115
  • Midpoint ACT: 21

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Shorter University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Shorter University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Shorter University.

Campus

Location

Rome, GA

City / state

ZIP
30165
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 11% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus

Size

Enrollment

1,028

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,323
Graduate
115
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$25,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
37.52%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$66,584Estimated 4-year total cost
$16,646Average annual net price (after aid)
$98,5204-year tuition
$9,920Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$35,750Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$143,000Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Shorter University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

37.52% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
48.49% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Shorter University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Shorter University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$19,670$19,670$17,121
2014$20,250$20,250$19,316
2015$20,846$20,846$18,864
2016$21,730$21,730$18,019
2017$21,730$21,730$19,439
2018$22,370$22,370$19,795
2019$22,370$22,370$19,495
2020$22,810$22,810$17,871
2021$22,810$22,810$16,638
2022$22,810$22,810$15,271
2023$24,044$24,044$16,286

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

96.46%Acceptance rate
783Total applicants
759Students admitted
269First-time students enrolled
35.44%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1115SAT average
21ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Shorter University reported total enrollment of about 1,028 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 51% male and 49% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (59.1%), Black or African American (22.8%), and Hispanic or Latino (10.4%). About 37.52% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 35.4% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Shorter University in 2024 is 1,028 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,323 students. Graduate enrollment is about 115 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

60.5%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

59.1%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian59.1%
  • Black or African American22.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino10.4%
  • Two or More Races3.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.5%
  • Asian0.6%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

31.46% 100% Completion Time

37.69% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 31.46% of students graduating from Shorter University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 45% male / 55% female
  • Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, Other: 36% male / 64% female
  • Sport and Fitness Administration/Management: 86% male / 14% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

237White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian237
  • Black or African American69
  • Hispanic or Latino33
  • Asian13
  • Two or More Races10
  • American Indian or Alaska Native3
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Shorter University graduates earn a median of $44,604 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Shorter University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $44,604. Median federal loan debt: $25,000. Average net price used in cost models: $16,646.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Shorter University graduates report median earnings of $44,604 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

570%Modeled return on investment
$25,000Median student debt
$44,604Median annual earnings (10 years)
56.05%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Shorter University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (33 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 00.0300 15
  2. Accounting 12

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Shorter University.

Employment Outcomes

$44,604Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$41,860Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$43,939Median earnings (8 years after entry)
87.25%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Shorter University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Shorter University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$14.6M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $14.7M

Year change: -$27,638

  • Georgia median 0.35× the median ($41.7M)
  • Southeast median 0.75× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.55× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $10,231

  • Georgia median near the median ($9,839)
  • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.85× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 58.8%
    • Georgia median 3.5 pp below median (62.3%)
    • Southeast median 0.7 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 0.8 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,054
    • Georgia median 0.82× the median ($6,152)
    • Southeast median 0.74× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.66× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,023
    • Georgia median 0.87× the median ($5,760)
    • Southeast median 0.76× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.69× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Shorter University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Shorter University

Rome, GA 30165 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Shorter University is a private non-profit institution in Rome, GA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.

Tuition$24,630
Avg. net price$16,646
Enrollment1,028
Acceptance rate96.46%
Completion (150%)37.69%
Average SAT1115
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods, OtherSport and Fitness Administration/Management
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian59.1%
Black or African American22.8%
Hispanic or Latino10.4%
Nearby

Schools near Shorter University

Other campuses in Rome, GA when available, plus nearby institutions in Georgia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Georgia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Shorter University located?

Shorter University is located in Rome, GA.

What is Shorter University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Shorter University is 96.5% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 783 applicants and 759 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Shorter University's tuition?

Shorter University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $24,630 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $16,646 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Shorter University cost?

Reported tuition is $24,630 and average net price is $16,646 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,920 annually.

Why is Shorter University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Shorter University, published tuition is $24,630 while average net price is $16,646—about 32% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Shorter University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($16,646), completion (37.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($44,604). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Shorter University?

Shorter University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,323 students, White (59.1%), Black or African American (22.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Shorter University?

About 35.4% of students at Shorter University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Shorter University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Shorter University reports midpoint SAT about 1115 and midpoint ACT about 21.

What do graduates of Shorter University earn?

Median earnings are $41,860 six years after entry and $44,604 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Shorter University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 37.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Shorter University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $25,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.