Active Report Report ID: EDU-160621-2026

Southern University and A & M College

Baton Rouge, LA 70813

Acceptance rate35.12%Selective
Tuition$9,958Published sticker
Avg. net price$18,631After aid
Graduation rate27.89%150% time
Median salary$47,18610yr post-entry

About Southern University and A & M College

Southern University and A & M College is a public research university in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, serving roughly 5,519 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 35.12% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $47,186 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Southern University and A & M College charges 75% above the national public median tuition ($9,958).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 27.89%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $47,186.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southern University and A & M College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 533% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southern University and A & M College$9,958$18,6311
Public (national median)$5,700—1,692
Louisiana (state median)$9,472$11,45049
Suburban (locale median)$13,274$18,692686
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Southern University and A & M College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Southern University and A & M College charges 75% above the national public median tuition ($9,958).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 5% above.
Published sticker

Southern University and A & M College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,958

Finding Southern University and A & M College charges 75% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,958. That is 75% above the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Louisiana median ($9,472), sticker tuition is 5% above. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 18% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Southern University and A & M College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Southern University and A & M College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southern University and A & M College is $18,631.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,631 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,181 above the Louisiana median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $62 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Southern University and A & M College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Southern University and A & M College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southern University and A & M College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$9,958

Out-of-state tuition

$17,308

Avg. net price

$18,631

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$18,614
$30,001–$48,000$16,350
$48,001–$75,000$18,195
$75,001–$110,000$23,454
$110,001+$26,328

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $39,832. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention60.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,501Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 28% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 942
  • Midpoint ACT: 17

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Southern University and A & M College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southern University and A & M College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southern University and A & M College.

Campus

Location

Baton Rouge, LA

City / state

ZIP
70813
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is at the median for Suburban campuses ($18,692 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

5,519

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
6,785
Graduate
1,414
Full-time share
90%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$28,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
71.61%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$74,524Estimated 4-year total cost
$18,631Average annual net price (after aid)
$39,8324-year in-state tuition
$69,2324-year out-of-state tuition
$8,018Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,386Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$19,362Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$77,448Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southern University and A & M College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

71.61% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
72.87% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southern University and A & M College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southern University and A & M College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,630$8,274$11,312
2014$6,630$8,274$12,106
2015$7,346$17,696$12,666
2016$9,332$19,332$13,118
2017$8,666$18,080$14,259
2018$9,122$16,472$16,579
2019$9,141$16,491$16,312
2020$9,340$16,720$17,104
2021$9,842$17,192$16,991
2022$9,940$17,198$17,701
2023$9,940$17,198$19,740

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

35.12%Acceptance rate
12,221Total applicants
6,095Students admitted
1,711First-time students enrolled
28.07%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

942SAT average
17ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southern University and A & M College reported total enrollment of about 5,519 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 33% male and 67% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (94.2%), Two or More Races (1.7%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (1.5%). About 71.61% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 39.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

90.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southern University and A & M College in 2024 is 5,519 students.

Over a full year, about 6,785 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 1,414 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

60.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

94.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American94.2%
  • Two or More Races1.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino1.3%
  • White or Caucasian0.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.3%
  • Asian0.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.74% 100% Completion Time

27.89% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.74% of students graduating from Southern University and A & M College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Law: 35% male / 65% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 39% male / 61% female
  • Criminal Justice/Safety Studies: 28% male / 72% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,063Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American1,063
  • White or Caucasian101
  • Asian93
  • Two or More Races19
  • Hispanic or Latino18
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southern University and A & M College graduates earn a median of $47,186 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southern University and A & M College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $47,186. Median federal loan debt: $28,750. Average net price used in cost models: $18,631.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southern University and A & M College graduates report median earnings of $47,186 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

533%Modeled return on investment
$28,750Median student debt
$47,186Median annual earnings (10 years)
60.93%Debt-to-earnings ratio
6.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southern University and A & M College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (40 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Law 247
  2. Computer Science 96
  3. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 39

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southern University and A & M College.

Employment Outcomes

$47,186Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$56,144Median earnings for graduates (5 years after graduation)
$39,501Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$43,153Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.77%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southern University and A & M College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southern University and A & M College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$12M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $11.1M

Year change: $965,677

  • Louisiana median 0.71× the median ($16.9M)
  • Southeast median 0.62× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.46× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,839

  • Louisiana median 0.56× the median ($3,294)
  • Southeast median 0.20× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.15× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 99.1%
    • Louisiana median 35.9 pp above median (63.2%)
    • Southeast median 39.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 41.1 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,735
    • Louisiana median 1.1× the median ($6,824)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $5,687
    • Louisiana median near the median ($5,480)
    • Southeast median 0.86× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Southern University and A & M College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southern University and A & M College

Baton Rouge, LA 70813 · Public · Southeast

Southern University and A & M College is a public institution in Baton Rouge, LA, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.

Tuition$9,958
Avg. net price$18,631
Enrollment5,519
Acceptance rate35.12%
Completion (150%)27.89%
Average SAT942
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
LawBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralCriminal Justice/Safety Studies
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American94.2%
Two or More Races1.7%
Race/ethnicity unknown1.5%
Nearby

Schools near Southern University and A & M College

Other campuses in Baton Rouge, LA when available, plus nearby institutions in Louisiana.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Louisiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southern University and A & M College located?

Southern University and A & M College is located in Baton Rouge, LA.

What is Southern University and A & M College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Southern University and A & M College is 35.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 12,221 applicants and 6,095 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Southern University and A & M College's tuition?

Southern University and A & M College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,958 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,631 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Southern University and A & M College cost?

Reported tuition is $9,958 and average net price is $18,631 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $8,018 annually.

What explains Southern University and A & M College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,631), completion (27.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($47,186). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southern University and A & M College?

Southern University and A & M College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 6,785 students, Black or African American (94.2%), Two or More Races (1.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southern University and A & M College?

About 39.7% of students at Southern University and A & M College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Southern University and A & M College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Southern University and A & M College reports midpoint SAT about 942 and midpoint ACT about 17.

What do graduates of Southern University and A & M College earn?

Median earnings are $39,501 six years after entry and $47,186 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southern University and A & M College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 27.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Southern University and A & M College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $28,750.

Is Southern University and A & M College public or private?

Southern University and A & M College is a public institution located in Baton Rouge, LA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.