Active Report Report ID: EDU-196219-2026

SUNY at Purchase College

Purchase, NY 10577-1400

Acceptance rate74.05%Broad access
Tuition$8,953Published sticker
Avg. net price$18,913After aid
Graduation rate62.77%150% time
Median salary$45,09210yr post-entry

About SUNY at Purchase College

SUNY at Purchase College is a public research university in Purchase, New York, serving roughly 3,197 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 74.05% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $45,092 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • SUNY at Purchase College charges 62% above the national public median tuition ($8,953).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 35% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.77%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $45,092.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at SUNY at Purchase College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 496% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
SUNY at Purchase College$8,953$18,9131
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is SUNY at Purchase College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • SUNY at Purchase College charges 62% above the national public median tuition ($8,953).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is 35% below.
Published sticker

SUNY at Purchase College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,953

Finding SUNY at Purchase College charges 62% above the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,953. That is 62% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is 35% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 25% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at SUNY at Purchase College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at SUNY at Purchase College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at SUNY at Purchase College is $18,913.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,913 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,540 above the New York median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $213 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At SUNY at Purchase College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

SUNY at Purchase College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for SUNY at Purchase College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$8,953

Out-of-state tuition

$19,203

Avg. net price

$18,913

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$11,835
$30,001–$48,000$15,230
$48,001–$75,000$19,658
$75,001–$110,000$20,886
$110,001+$25,428

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $35,812. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention80.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$31,229Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 15% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1312
  • Midpoint ACT: 29

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is SUNY at Purchase College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

SUNY at Purchase College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for SUNY at Purchase College.

Campus

Location

Purchase, NY

City / state

ZIP
10577-1400
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 1% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

3,197

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,671
Graduate
76
Full-time share
94%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,067

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
35.51%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$75,652Estimated 4-year total cost
$18,913Average annual net price (after aid)
$35,8124-year in-state tuition
$76,8124-year out-of-state tuition
$16,436Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,240Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$26,629Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$106,516Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for SUNY at Purchase College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

35.51% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
41.93% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at SUNY at Purchase College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for SUNY at Purchase College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,573$17,023$17,470
2014$7,933$17,583$19,103
2015$8,267$18,117$19,510
2016$8,298$18,148$18,597
2017$8,498$18,148$19,205
2018$8,698$18,478$18,376
2019$8,923$18,833$18,326
2020$8,953$18,863$17,701
2021$8,953$18,863$19,559
2022$8,953$18,863$19,598
2023$8,953$18,863$19,067

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

74.05%Acceptance rate
7,221Total applicants
5,259Students admitted
777First-time students enrolled
14.77%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1312SAT average
29ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.60Estimated median GPA
3.5–3.7Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

SUNY at Purchase College reported total enrollment of about 3,197 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 42% male and 58% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (46.9%), Hispanic or Latino (28.5%), and Black or African American (12.4%). About 35.51% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 24.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

94.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at SUNY at Purchase College in 2024 is 3,197 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,671 students. Graduate enrollment is about 76 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

80.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

46.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian46.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino28.5%
  • Black or African American12.4%
  • Two or More Races5.9%
  • Asian3.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

51.76% 100% Completion Time

62.77% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 51.76% of students graduating from SUNY at Purchase College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Psychology, General: 19% male / 81% female
  • Communication and Media Studies: 54% male / 46% female
  • Dance, General: 22% male / 78% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

408White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian408
  • Hispanic or Latino175
  • Black or African American90
  • Two or More Races35
  • Asian28
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

SUNY at Purchase College graduates earn a median of $45,092 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of SUNY at Purchase College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $45,092. Median federal loan debt: $21,067. Average net price used in cost models: $18,913.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway SUNY at Purchase College graduates report median earnings of $45,092 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

496%Modeled return on investment
$21,067Median student debt
$45,092Median annual earnings (10 years)
46.72%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for SUNY at Purchase College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (45 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Communication and Media Studies 41
  2. Dance, General 40
  3. Visual and Performing Arts, General 39
  4. Fine and Studio Arts Management 30
  5. English Language and Literature, General 23

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at SUNY at Purchase College.

Employment Outcomes

$45,092Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,229Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,518Median earnings (8 years after entry)
40.49%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for SUNY at Purchase College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for SUNY at Purchase College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$79.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $77.4M

Year change: $2.5M

  • New York median 2.1× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 1.9× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 3.0× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $25,100

  • New York median 1.6× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 1.5× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 2.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 40.0%
    • New York median 13.7 pp below median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 16.9 pp below median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 17.9 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,079
    • New York median near the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median near the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $19,625
    • New York median 1.8× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 2.1× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.7× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

SUNY at Purchase College at a glance

Institution snapshot

SUNY at Purchase College

Purchase, NY 10577-1400 · Public · Mid East

SUNY at Purchase College is a public institution in Purchase, NY, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$8,953
Avg. net price$18,913
Enrollment3,197
Acceptance rate74.05%
Completion (150%)62.77%
Average SAT1312
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Psychology, GeneralCommunication and Media StudiesDance, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian46.9%
Hispanic or Latino28.5%
Black or African American12.4%
Nearby

Schools near SUNY at Purchase College

Other campuses in Purchase, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is SUNY at Purchase College located?

SUNY at Purchase College is located in Purchase, NY.

What is SUNY at Purchase College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at SUNY at Purchase College is 74.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 7,221 applicants and 5,259 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is SUNY at Purchase College's tuition?

SUNY at Purchase College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,953 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,913 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does SUNY at Purchase College cost?

Reported tuition is $8,953 and average net price is $18,913 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $16,436 annually.

What explains SUNY at Purchase College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,913), completion (62.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($45,092). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at SUNY at Purchase College?

SUNY at Purchase College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,671 students, White (46.9%), Hispanic or Latino (28.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend SUNY at Purchase College?

About 24.1% of students at SUNY at Purchase College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for SUNY at Purchase College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, SUNY at Purchase College reports midpoint SAT about 1312 and midpoint ACT about 29.

What do graduates of SUNY at Purchase College earn?

Median earnings are $31,229 six years after entry and $45,092 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at SUNY at Purchase College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do SUNY at Purchase College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,067.

Is SUNY at Purchase College public or private?

SUNY at Purchase College is a public institution located in Purchase, NY.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.