SUNY College of Optometry
New York, NY 10036-8003
About SUNY College of Optometry
SUNY College of Optometry is a public research university in New York, New York. SUNY College of Optometry awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting.
SUNY College of Optometry: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for SUNY College of Optometry—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
What SUNY College of Optometry is known for
Top program completions
- Optometry86
- Vision Science/Physiological Optics8
See earnings & programs for more.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for SUNY College of Optometry.
Campus
Location
New York, NY
City / state
- ZIP
- 10036-8003
- NCES locale
- City
See Urban (City) college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management
Size
Enrollment
- Graduate
- 400
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for SUNY College of Optometry.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at SUNY College of Optometry was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for SUNY College of Optometry in that year.
Multi-year history is not in this profile yet. It is added when the institution cost history CSV has been collected and merged into school JSON.
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
N/A% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at SUNY College of Optometry in 2024 is N/A students.
Graduate enrollment is about 400 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
0.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from SUNY College of Optometry completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Optometry: 22% male / 78% female
- Vision Science/Physiological Optics: 25% male / 75% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do SUNY College of Optometry graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for SUNY College of Optometry from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for SUNY College of Optometry.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 2 programs by IPEDS completions (3 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at SUNY College of Optometry.
Employment Outcomes
Employment outcome data is not available for this institution.
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for SUNY College of Optometry graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for SUNY College of Optometry—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$7.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New York median 0.20× the median ($38.1M)
- Mid East median 0.18× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 0.29× the median ($26.4M)
- New York median 1.2× the median ($15,424)
- Mid East median 1.1× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 62.6%
- New York median 8.8 pp above median (53.8%)
- Mid East median 5.7 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 4.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $12,200
- New York median 1.5× the median ($8,068)
- Mid East median 1.5× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.6× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $69,143
- New York median 6.4× the median ($10,822)
- Mid East median 7.5× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 9.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
SUNY College of Optometry at a glance
SUNY College of Optometry
SUNY College of Optometry is a public institution in New York, NY, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Business and Management.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- OptometryVision Science/Physiological Optics
Schools near SUNY College of Optometry
Other campuses in New York, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.
Similar schools
Peers with the closest outcomes profile within New York (completion, retention, and earnings).
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is SUNY College of Optometry located?
SUNY College of Optometry is located in New York, NY.
How much does SUNY College of Optometry cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.
Is SUNY College of Optometry public or private?
SUNY College of Optometry is a public institution located in New York, NY.
Is SUNY College of Optometry an HBCU?
No. SUNY College of Optometry is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is SUNY College of Optometry a tribal college?
No. SUNY College of Optometry is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is SUNY College of Optometry religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for SUNY College of Optometry in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.