Active Report Report ID: EDU-142294-2026

The College of Idaho

Caldwell, ID 83605-4432

Acceptance rate49.10%Selective
Tuition$37,845Published sticker
Avg. net price$19,481After aid
Graduation rate62.54%150% time
Median salary$48,47310yr post-entry

About The College of Idaho

The College of Idaho is a private research university in Caldwell, Idaho, enrolling about 1,041 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 49.10% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,473 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • The College of Idaho charges 29% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,845).
  • Versus the Idaho median, sticker tuition is about 4.2×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.54%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,473.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at The College of Idaho is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 522% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
The College of Idaho$37,845$19,4811
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Idaho (state median)$9,048$11,38415
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 49% below published tuition at The College of Idaho

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • The College of Idaho's average net price ($19,481) is 49% below published tuition ($37,845).
  • The College of Idaho charges 29% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($37,845).
  • Versus the Idaho median, sticker tuition is about 4.2×.
Published sticker

The College of Idaho tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $37,845

Finding The College of Idaho charges 29% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $37,845. That is 29% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Idaho median ($9,048), sticker tuition is about 4.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.2×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at The College of Idaho versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at The College of Idaho versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at The College of Idaho is $19,481.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $19,481 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,097 above the Idaho median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $781 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway The College of Idaho’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 49% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

The College of Idaho: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The College of Idaho—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$37,845

Avg. net price

$19,481

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$14,026
$30,001–$48,000$16,218
$48,001–$75,000$17,773
$75,001–$110,000$19,729
$110,001+$23,095

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $151,380. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention81.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$42,097Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 14% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1180
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is The College of Idaho a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

The College of Idaho is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The College of Idaho.

Campus

Location

Caldwell, ID

City / state

ZIP
83605-4432
NCES locale
Rural distant

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 4% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Rocky Mountains
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

1,041

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,064
Graduate
49
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$24,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
25.17%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$77,924Estimated 4-year total cost
$19,481Average annual net price (after aid)
$151,3804-year tuition
$12,773Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$51,818Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$207,272Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for The College of Idaho.

Financial Aid by Income Level

25.17% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
47.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The College of Idaho was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The College of Idaho in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$24,055$24,055$16,681
2014$24,955$24,955$17,936
2015$26,155$26,155$18,541
2016$27,425$27,425$19,686
2017$28,755$28,755$22,444
2018$30,155$30,155$22,697
2019$31,755$31,755$21,005
2020$32,855$32,855$21,412
2021$33,755$33,755$21,488
2022$34,630$34,630$21,956
2023$36,030$36,030$20,566

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

49.10%Acceptance rate
4,553Total applicants
2,150Students admitted
297First-time students enrolled
13.81%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1180SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

The College of Idaho reported total enrollment of about 1,041 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (57.0%), Hispanic or Latino (17.7%), and Non-Resident Alien (11.4%). About 25.17% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 26.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at The College of Idaho in 2024 is 1,041 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,064 students. Graduate enrollment is about 49 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

81.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

57.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian57.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino17.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien11.4%
  • Two or More Races5.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.5%
  • Asian1.8%
  • Black or African American1.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1.1%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.5%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

57.95% 100% Completion Time

62.54% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 57.95% of students graduating from The College of Idaho completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business Administration and Management, General: 66% male / 34% female
  • Psychology, General: 33% male / 67% female
  • Biomedical Sciences, General: 50% male / 50% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

182White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian182
  • Hispanic or Latino28
  • Two or More Races15
  • Asian7
  • Black or African American6
  • American Indian or Alaska Native4
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

The College of Idaho graduates earn a median of $48,473 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The College of Idaho.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,473. Median federal loan debt: $24,500. Average net price used in cost models: $19,481.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway The College of Idaho graduates report median earnings of $48,473 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

522%Modeled return on investment
$24,500Median student debt
$48,473Median annual earnings (10 years)
50.54%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.1 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The College of Idaho.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (28 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 12
  2. Marketing, Other 10

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The College of Idaho.

Employment Outcomes

$48,473Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$42,097Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$48,582Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.28%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The College of Idaho graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The College of Idaho—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$117.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $111.2M

Year change: $6.6M

  • Idaho median 2.3× the median ($50.8M)
  • Rocky Mountains median 6.0× the median ($19.5M)
  • U.S. median 4.5× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $106,646

  • Idaho median 12× the median ($8,818)
  • Rocky Mountains median 10× the median ($10,274)
  • U.S. median 8.8× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 61.9%
    • Idaho median 0.0 pp at median (61.9%)
    • Rocky Mountains median 11.4 pp below median (73.3%)
    • U.S. median 4.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,798
    • Idaho median near the median ($7,474)
    • Rocky Mountains median near the median ($7,458)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,689
    • Idaho median 1.9× the median ($5,490)
    • Rocky Mountains median 1.6× the median ($6,852)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

The College of Idaho at a glance

Institution snapshot

The College of Idaho

Caldwell, ID 83605-4432 · Private Non-profit · Rocky Mountains

The College of Idaho is a private non-profit institution in Caldwell, ID, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$37,845
Avg. net price$19,481
Enrollment1,041
Acceptance rate49.10%
Completion (150%)62.54%
Average SAT1180
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, GeneralBiomedical Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian57.0%
Hispanic or Latino17.7%
Non-Resident Alien11.4%
Nearby

Schools near The College of Idaho

Other campuses in Caldwell, ID when available, plus nearby institutions in Idaho.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Idaho, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is The College of Idaho located?

The College of Idaho is located in Caldwell, ID.

What is The College of Idaho's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at The College of Idaho is 49.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,553 applicants and 2,150 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is The College of Idaho's tuition?

The College of Idaho tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $37,845 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $19,481 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does The College of Idaho cost?

Reported tuition is $37,845 and average net price is $19,481 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,773 annually.

Why is The College of Idaho's net price so much lower than tuition?

At The College of Idaho, published tuition is $37,845 while average net price is $19,481—about 49% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains The College of Idaho's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($19,481), completion (62.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,473). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at The College of Idaho?

The College of Idaho reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,064 students, White (57.0%), Hispanic or Latino (17.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend The College of Idaho?

About 26.8% of students at The College of Idaho are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for The College of Idaho?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, The College of Idaho reports midpoint SAT about 1180 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of The College of Idaho earn?

Median earnings are $42,097 six years after entry and $48,473 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at The College of Idaho?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do The College of Idaho students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $24,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.