Active Report Report ID: EDU-176017-2026

University of Mississippi

University, MS 38677-1848

Acceptance rate96.58%Broad access
Tuition$9,772Published sticker
Avg. net price$13,314After aid
Graduation rate71.74%150% time
Median salary$50,99410yr post-entry

About University of Mississippi

University of Mississippi is a public research university in University, Mississippi, with about 21,473 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 96.58% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $50,994 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Mississippi charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,772).
  • Versus the Mississippi median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.74%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $50,994.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Mississippi is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 858% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

University of Mississippi awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 125 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Mississippi$9,772$13,3141
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Mississippi (state median)$4,806$6,74737
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is University of Mississippi really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Mississippi charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($9,772).
  • Versus the Mississippi median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
Published sticker

University of Mississippi tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,772

Finding University of Mississippi charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,772. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Mississippi median ($4,806), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 18% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Mississippi versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Mississippi versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Mississippi is $13,314.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $13,314 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $6,567 above the Mississippi median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $1,657 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At University of Mississippi, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

University of Mississippi: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Mississippi—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$9,772

Out-of-state tuition

$28,600

Avg. net price

$13,314

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,945
$30,001–$48,000$9,217
$48,001–$75,000$14,794
$75,001–$110,000$18,573
$110,001+$21,313

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $39,088. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention87.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$45,336Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 19% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1184
  • Midpoint ACT: 25

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Mississippi a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Mississippi is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Mississippi.

Campus

Location

University, MS

City / state

ZIP
38677-1848
NCES locale
Town remote

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 11% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

21,473

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
23,212
Graduate
4,864
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
21.73%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$53,256Estimated 4-year total cost
$13,314Average annual net price (after aid)
$39,0884-year in-state tuition
$114,4004-year out-of-state tuition
$12,600Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$23,572Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$94,288Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Mississippi.

Financial Aid by Income Level

21.73% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
37.17% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Mississippi was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Mississippi in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$6,760$17,728$13,858
2014$7,096$19,144$14,318
2015$7,444$20,674$14,284
2016$7,744$22,012$14,494
2017$8,300$23,564$13,929
2018$8,660$24,614$13,857
2019$8,828$25,100$14,016
2020$8,828$25,100$12,161
2021$9,044$25,886$12,454
2022$9,220$26,440$13,504
2023$9,412$26,980$13,164

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

96.58%Acceptance rate
27,837Total applicants
27,218Students admitted
5,237First-time students enrolled
19.24%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1184SAT average
25ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Mississippi reported total enrollment of about 21,473 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (77.6%), Black or African American (9.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (5.8%). About 21.73% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 23.5% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Mississippi in 2024 is 21,473 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 23,212 students. Graduate enrollment is about 4,864 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

87.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

77.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian77.6%
  • Black or African American9.5%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.8%
  • Two or More Races2.8%
  • Asian1.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

57.26% 100% Completion Time

71.74% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 57.26% of students graduating from University of Mississippi completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Digital Communication and Media/Multimedia: 18% male / 82% female
  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 16% male / 84% female
  • Accounting: 55% male / 45% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

4,338White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian4,338
  • Black or African American757
  • Hispanic or Latino225
  • Asian161
  • Two or More Races123
  • American Indian or Alaska Native21
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander3

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Mississippi graduates earn a median of $50,994 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Mississippi.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $50,994. Median federal loan debt: $20,000. Average net price used in cost models: $13,314.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Mississippi graduates report median earnings of $50,994 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

858%Modeled return on investment
$20,000Median student debt
$50,994Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.22%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.9 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Mississippi.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (125 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 275
  2. Health Professions and Related Programs 192
  3. Law 176
  4. 00.0300 174

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Mississippi.

Employment Outcomes

$50,994Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$45,336Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$48,889Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.21%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Mississippi graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Mississippi—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$835.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $780.8M

Year change: $54.9M

  • Mississippi median 61× the median ($13.8M)
  • Southeast median 43× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 32× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $37,468

  • Mississippi median 5.7× the median ($6,527)
  • Southeast median 4.0× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 3.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 85.5%
    • Mississippi median 16.6 pp above median (68.9%)
    • Southeast median 26.1 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 27.6 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,330
    • Mississippi median 1.6× the median ($6,386)
    • Southeast median 1.5× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,881
    • Mississippi median 2.7× the median ($5,852)
    • Southeast median 2.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Mississippi at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Mississippi

University, MS 38677-1848 · Public · Southeast

University of Mississippi is a public institution in University, MS, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$9,772
Avg. net price$13,314
Enrollment21,473
Acceptance rate96.58%
Completion (150%)71.74%
Average SAT1184
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Digital Communication and Media/MultimediaRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseAccounting
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian77.6%
Black or African American9.5%
Hispanic or Latino5.8%
Nearby

Schools near University of Mississippi

Other campuses in University, MS when available, plus nearby institutions in Mississippi.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Mississippi, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is University of Mississippi located?

University of Mississippi is located in University, MS.

What is University of Mississippi's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Mississippi is 96.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 27,837 applicants and 27,218 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is University of Mississippi's tuition?

University of Mississippi tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,772 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $13,314 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does University of Mississippi cost?

Reported tuition is $9,772 and average net price is $13,314 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,600 annually.

What explains University of Mississippi's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($13,314), completion (71.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($50,994). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at University of Mississippi?

University of Mississippi reports undergraduate enrollment of about 23,212 students, White (77.6%), Black or African American (9.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend University of Mississippi?

About 23.5% of students at University of Mississippi are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Mississippi?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Mississippi reports midpoint SAT about 1184 and midpoint ACT about 25.

What do graduates of University of Mississippi earn?

Median earnings are $45,336 six years after entry and $50,994 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Mississippi?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do University of Mississippi students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,000.

Is University of Mississippi public or private?

University of Mississippi is a public institution located in University, MS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.