Active Report Report ID: EDU-215062-2026

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA 19104-6303

Acceptance rate5.40%Extremely selective
Tuition$68,686Published sticker
Avg. net price$28,699After aid
Graduation rate96.54%150% time
Median salary$111,37110yr post-entry

About University of Pennsylvania

University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) is a highly selective private research university in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, with about 10,650 students. Admission is highly selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 5.40% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $111,371 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($68,686).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 3.5×.
  • University of Pennsylvania admits about 5.40% of applicants (extremely selective).
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 96.54%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $111,371.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at University of Pennsylvania is about 58% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $68,686; average net price is $28,699 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at University of Pennsylvania is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 870% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

03

Finding

University of Pennsylvania awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 189 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
University of Pennsylvania$68,686$28,6991
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,450$17,754181
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 58% below published tuition at University of Pennsylvania

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • University of Pennsylvania's average net price ($28,699) is 58% below published tuition ($68,686).
  • University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($68,686).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is about 3.5×.
Published sticker

University of Pennsylvania tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $68,686

Finding University of Pennsylvania charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $68,686. That is about 2.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is about 3.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.8×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at University of Pennsylvania versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at University of Pennsylvania versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at University of Pennsylvania is $28,699.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $28,699 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $10,946 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $8,646 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway University of Pennsylvania’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 58% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

University of Pennsylvania: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Pennsylvania—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$68,686

Avg. net price

$28,699

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000−$3,012
$30,001–$48,000$316
$48,001–$75,000$10,439
$75,001–$110,000$25,476
$110,001+$55,972

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $274,744. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention98.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$90,555Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Extremely selective — fewer than 1 in 10 applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 69% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1553
  • Midpoint ACT: 34

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is University of Pennsylvania a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

University of Pennsylvania is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 58% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomesNet price well below stickerHighly selective
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Pennsylvania.

Campus

Location

Philadelphia, PA

City / state

ZIP
19104-6303
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 43% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

10,650

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
13,046
Graduate
17,631
Full-time share
96%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$15,715

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
16.53%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$114,796Estimated 4-year total cost
$28,699Average annual net price (after aid)
$274,7444-year tuition
$19,174Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,358Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$89,218Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$356,872Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Pennsylvania.

Financial Aid by Income Level

16.53% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
9.72% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Pennsylvania was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Pennsylvania in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$45,890$45,890$22,948
2014$47,668$47,668$24,370
2015$49,536$49,536$25,225
2016$51,464$51,464$23,281
2017$53,534$53,534$24,242
2018$55,584$55,584$25,033
2019$57,770$57,770$25,802
2020$60,042$60,042$25,046
2021$61,710$61,710$14,851
2022$63,452$63,452$26,138
2023$66,104$66,104$31,229

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

5.40%Acceptance rate
59,465Total applicants
3,489Students admitted
2,416First-time students enrolled
69.25%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is extremely selective, accepting fewer than 1 in 10 applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1553SAT average
34ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

4.00Estimated median GPA
3.9–4.0Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

University of Pennsylvania reported total enrollment of about 10,650 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Asian (28.4%), White (27.4%), and Non-Resident Alien (12.6%). About 16.53% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 18.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at University of Pennsylvania in 2024 is 10,650 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 13,046 students. Graduate enrollment is about 17,631 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

98.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

28.4%Asian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Asian28.4%
  • White or Caucasian27.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien12.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino11.3%
  • Black or African American9.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.8%
  • Two or More Races5.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

86.46% 100% Completion Time

96.54% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 86.46% of students graduating from University of Pennsylvania completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer and Information Sciences, General: 64% male / 36% female
  • Financial Analytics: 61% male / 39% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 49% male / 51% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

3,679White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian3,679
  • Asian2,257
  • Hispanic or Latino811
  • Black or African American646
  • Two or More Races302
  • American Indian or Alaska Native17
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander5

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

University of Pennsylvania graduates earn a median of $111,371 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Pennsylvania.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $111,371. Median federal loan debt: $15,715. Average net price used in cost models: $28,699.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway University of Pennsylvania graduates report median earnings of $111,371 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

870%Modeled return on investment
$15,715Median student debt
$111,371Median annual earnings (10 years)
14.11%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Pennsylvania.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (189 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Law 305
  2. Econometrics and Quantitative Economics 261
  3. Computer Science 255

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Pennsylvania.

Employment Outcomes

$111,371Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$90,555Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$100,118Median earnings (8 years after entry)
76.93%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Pennsylvania graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Pennsylvania—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$20.96B

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $20.72B

Year change: $238.6M

  • Pennsylvania median 438× the median ($47.9M)
  • Mid East median 492× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 794× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $659,938

  • Pennsylvania median 27× the median ($24,897)
  • Mid East median 40× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 55× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 78.6%
    • Pennsylvania median 15.5 pp above median (63.1%)
    • Mid East median 21.8 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 20.7 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $22,117
    • Pennsylvania median 2.8× the median ($8,003)
    • Mid East median 2.7× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 2.9× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $67,953
    • Pennsylvania median 7.9× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 7.4× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 9.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

University of Pennsylvania at a glance

Institution snapshot

University of Pennsylvania

Philadelphia, PA 19104-6303 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

University of Pennsylvania is a private non-profit institution in Philadelphia, PA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$68,686
Avg. net price$28,699
Enrollment10,650
Acceptance rate5.40%
Completion (150%)96.54%
Average SAT1553
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralFinancial AnalyticsBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
Asian28.4%
White or Caucasian27.4%
Non-Resident Alien12.6%
Nearby

Schools near University of Pennsylvania

Other campuses in Philadelphia, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is UPenn located?

University of Pennsylvania is located in Philadelphia, PA. The institution is also known as UPenn.

What is UPenn's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) is 5.4% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 59,465 applicants and 3,489 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is UPenn's tuition?

University of Pennsylvania tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $68,686 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $28,699 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does UPenn cost?

Reported tuition is $68,686 and average net price is $28,699 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $19,174 annually.

Why is UPenn's net price so much lower than tuition?

At University of Pennsylvania, published tuition is $68,686 while average net price is $28,699—about 58% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains UPenn's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($28,699), completion (96.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($111,371). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

Why is UPenn's acceptance rate so low?

The acceptance rate at University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) is 5.4% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.

What is the student body demographics at UPenn?

University of Pennsylvania reports undergraduate enrollment of about 13,046 students, Asian (28.4%), White (27.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend UPenn?

About 18.8% of students at University of Pennsylvania are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for University of Pennsylvania?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Pennsylvania reports midpoint SAT about 1553 and midpoint ACT about 34.

What do graduates of University of Pennsylvania earn?

Median earnings are $90,555 six years after entry and $111,371 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at University of Pennsylvania?

The 150%-time completion rate is 96.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.