Active Report Report ID: EDU-196307-2026

Upstate Medical University

Syracuse, NY 13210

Median salary$92,25710yr post-entry
Enrollment159Total students

About Upstate Medical University

Upstate Medical University is a public research university in Syracuse, New York, enrolling about 159 students. Upstate Medical University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $92,257 among students who received federal aid.

School guide

Upstate Medical University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Upstate Medical University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Median earnings should be read with net price, debt, and completion—not as a standalone quality score.

Student outcomes

$83,990Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Upstate Medical University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Upstate Medical University is a good school for those looking for strong graduate earnings outcomes in College Scorecard data.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Upstate Medical University.

Campus

Location

Syracuse, NY

City / state

ZIP
13210
NCES locale
Suburb

See Suburban college profile for median costs and outcomes at similar campuses.

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Engineering and Other Technology

Size

Enrollment

159

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
220
Graduate
1,175
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$15,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
27.12%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Upstate Medical University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

27.12% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
55.93% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Upstate Medical University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Upstate Medical University in that year.

Multi-year history is not in this profile yet. It is added when the institution cost history CSV has been collected and merged into school JSON.

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Upstate Medical University reported total enrollment of about 159 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 24% male and 76% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (68.5%), Race/ethnicity unknown (10.7%), and Asian (6.9%). About 27.12% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 35.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

88.1% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Upstate Medical University in 2024 is 159 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 220 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,175 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

68.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian68.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown10.7%
  • Asian6.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.0%
  • Black or African American4.4%
  • Two or More Races3.1%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.3%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

0.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Upstate Medical University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Medicine: 44% male / 56% female
  • Family Practice Nurse/Nursing: 14% male / 86% female
  • Physical Therapy/Therapist: 47% male / 53% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

277White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian277
  • Asian57
  • Black or African American43
  • Hispanic or Latino31
  • Two or More Races12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Upstate Medical University graduates earn a median of $92,257 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Upstate Medical University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $92,257. Median federal loan debt: $15,000.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Upstate Medical University graduates report median earnings of $92,257 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

$92,257Median annual earnings (10 years)
$15,000Median student debt
16.26%Debt-to-earnings ratio
1.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Upstate Medical University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (23 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Medicine 142
  2. 05.1381 26
  3. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other 21

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Upstate Medical University.

Employment Outcomes

$92,257Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$83,990Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$86,601Median earnings (8 years after entry)
41.99%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Upstate Medical University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Upstate Medical University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$99.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $122.9M

Year change: -$23.5M

  • New York median 2.6× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 2.3× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 3.8× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $63,814

  • New York median 4.1× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 3.9× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 5.3× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 76.9%
    • New York median 23.1 pp above median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 20.0 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 18.9 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,956
    • New York median 0.86× the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median 0.86× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 0.91× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $78,617
    • New York median 7.3× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 8.6× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 11× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Upstate Medical University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Upstate Medical University

Syracuse, NY 13210 · Public · Mid East

Upstate Medical University is a public institution in Syracuse, NY, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Engineering and Other Technology.

Enrollment159
Pell Grant share27.12%
First-generation35.0%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
MedicineFamily Practice Nurse/NursingPhysical Therapy/Therapist
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian68.5%
Race/ethnicity unknown10.7%
Asian6.9%
Nearby

Schools near Upstate Medical University

Other campuses in Syracuse, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Upstate Medical University located?

Upstate Medical University is located in Syracuse, NY.

How much does Upstate Medical University cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Upstate Medical University?

Upstate Medical University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 220 students, White (68.5%), Race/ethnicity unknown (10.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Upstate Medical University?

About 35.0% of students at Upstate Medical University are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Upstate Medical University earn?

Median earnings are $83,990 six years after entry and $92,257 ten years after entry.

How much debt do Upstate Medical University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $15,000.

Is Upstate Medical University public or private?

Upstate Medical University is a public institution located in Syracuse, NY.

Is Upstate Medical University an HBCU?

No. Upstate Medical University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Upstate Medical University a tribal college?

No. Upstate Medical University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Upstate Medical University a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Upstate Medical University does not meet that proxy (reported share 5.0%).

Is Upstate Medical University religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Upstate Medical University in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.