Active Report Report ID: EDU-216667-2026

Washington & Jefferson College

Washington, PA 15301

Acceptance rate80.64%Broad access
Tuition$29,392Published sticker
Avg. net price$25,002After aid
Graduation rate69.52%150% time
Median salary$67,91810yr post-entry

About Washington & Jefferson College

Washington & Jefferson College is a private research university in Washington, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 1,295 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 80.64% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $67,918 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Washington & Jefferson College charges at the national private non-profit median tuition ($29,392).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 51% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 69.52%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $67,918.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Washington & Jefferson College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 579% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Washington & Jefferson College$29,392$25,0021
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,450$17,754181
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 15% below published tuition at Washington & Jefferson College

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Washington & Jefferson College's average net price ($25,002) is 15% below published tuition ($29,392).
  • Washington & Jefferson College charges at the national private non-profit median tuition ($29,392).
  • Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 51% above.
Published sticker

Washington & Jefferson College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $29,392

Finding Washington & Jefferson College charges at the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $29,392. That is at the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is 51% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.5×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Washington & Jefferson College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Washington & Jefferson College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Washington & Jefferson College is $25,002.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $25,002 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,248 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $6,302 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Washington & Jefferson College’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 15% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Washington & Jefferson College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Washington & Jefferson College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$29,392

Avg. net price

$25,002

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,265
$30,001–$48,000$13,958
$48,001–$75,000$18,975
$75,001–$110,000$32,322
$110,001+$29,655

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $117,568. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention81.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$52,082Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Washington & Jefferson College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Washington & Jefferson College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Washington & Jefferson College.

Campus

Location

Washington, PA

City / state

ZIP
15301
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 34% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields

Size

Enrollment

1,295

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,358
Graduate
3
Full-time share
99%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$27,000

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
31.15%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$100,008Estimated 4-year total cost
$25,002Average annual net price (after aid)
$117,5684-year tuition
$14,710Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$45,102Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$180,408Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Washington & Jefferson College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

31.15% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
69.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Washington & Jefferson College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Washington & Jefferson College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$39,710$39,710$26,491
2014$41,282$41,282$26,293
2015$43,226$43,226$26,123
2016$44,900$44,900$26,222
2017$46,628$46,628$27,925
2018$47,964$47,964$28,287
2019$49,338$49,338$26,427
2020$50,169$50,169$28,635
2021$50,192$50,192$26,460
2022$50,192$50,192$25,625
2023$28,185$28,185$25,544

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

80.64%Acceptance rate
3,218Total applicants
2,624Students admitted
314First-time students enrolled
11.97%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Washington & Jefferson College reported total enrollment of about 1,295 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 54% male and 46% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (77.5%), Two or More Races (7.3%), and Hispanic or Latino (5.9%). About 31.15% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 21.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Washington & Jefferson College in 2024 is 1,295 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,358 students. Graduate enrollment is about 3 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

81.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

77.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian77.5%
  • Two or More Races7.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.9%
  • Black or African American5.6%
  • Asian1.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

65.24% 100% Completion Time

69.52% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 65.24% of students graduating from Washington & Jefferson College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Business/Commerce, General: 80% male / 20% female
  • Accounting: 72% male / 28% female
  • Psychology, General: 33% male / 67% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

205White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian205
  • Hispanic or Latino13
  • Two or More Races12
  • Black or African American11
  • Asian6
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Washington & Jefferson College graduates earn a median of $67,918 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Washington & Jefferson College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $67,918. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $25,002.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Washington & Jefferson College graduates report median earnings of $67,918 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

579%Modeled return on investment
$27,000Median student debt
$67,918Median annual earnings (10 years)
39.75%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.0 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Washington & Jefferson College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (31 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Accounting 29
  2. Communication and Media Studies 13
  3. English Language and Literature, General 12

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Washington & Jefferson College.

Employment Outcomes

$67,918Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$52,082Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$62,758Median earnings (8 years after entry)
92.50%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Washington & Jefferson College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Washington & Jefferson College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$139.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $137.2M

Year change: $2.1M

  • Pennsylvania median 2.9× the median ($47.9M)
  • Mid East median 3.3× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 5.3× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $119,360

  • Pennsylvania median 4.8× the median ($24,897)
  • Mid East median 7.3× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 9.9× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Pennsylvania median 36.9 pp above median (63.1%)
    • Mid East median 43.1 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,324
    • Pennsylvania median near the median ($8,003)
    • Mid East median near the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $17,584
    • Pennsylvania median 2.0× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 1.9× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.4× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Washington & Jefferson College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Washington & Jefferson College

Washington, PA 15301 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Washington & Jefferson College is a private non-profit institution in Washington, PA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.

Tuition$29,392
Avg. net price$25,002
Enrollment1,295
Acceptance rate80.64%
Completion (150%)69.52%
Average ACT26
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Business/Commerce, GeneralAccountingPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian77.5%
Two or More Races7.3%
Hispanic or Latino5.9%
Nearby

Schools near Washington & Jefferson College

Other campuses in Washington, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Washington & Jefferson College located?

Washington & Jefferson College is located in Washington, PA.

What is Washington & Jefferson College's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Washington & Jefferson College is 80.6% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 3,218 applicants and 2,624 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Washington & Jefferson College's tuition?

Washington & Jefferson College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $29,392 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $25,002 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Washington & Jefferson College cost?

Reported tuition is $29,392 and average net price is $25,002 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,710 annually.

Why is Washington & Jefferson College's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Washington & Jefferson College, published tuition is $29,392 while average net price is $25,002—about 15% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Washington & Jefferson College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($25,002), completion (69.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($67,918). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Washington & Jefferson College?

Washington & Jefferson College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,358 students, White (77.5%), Two or More Races (7.3%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Washington & Jefferson College?

About 21.6% of students at Washington & Jefferson College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Washington & Jefferson College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Washington & Jefferson College reports midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of Washington & Jefferson College earn?

Median earnings are $52,082 six years after entry and $67,918 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Washington & Jefferson College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 69.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Washington & Jefferson College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.