Webb Institute
Glen Cove, NY 11542-1398
About Webb Institute
Webb Institute is a private university in Glen Cove, New York, enrolling about 106 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 14.04% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Student demographics in federal data include White (76.4%) and Hispanic or Latino (8.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Webb Institute charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($63,214).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.6×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 88.00%.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Webb Institute | $63,214 | $73,043 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| New York (state median) | $13,810 | $9,373 | 272 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Webb Institute really?
Key findings
- Webb Institute charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition ($63,214).
- Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 4.6×.
Webb Institute tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $63,214
Finding Webb Institute charges about 2.2× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $63,214. That is about 2.2× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 4.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.3×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Webb Institute versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Webb Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Webb Institute is $73,043.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $73,043 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $63,670 above the New York median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $54,343 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Webb Institute, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Webb Institute: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Webb Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$63,214
Avg. net price
$73,043
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $30,001–$48,000 | $61,170 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $70,713 |
| $110,001+ | $76,350 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $252,856. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Webb Institute is known for
Top program completions
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering25
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 73% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1496
- Midpoint ACT: 33
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Webb Institute a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Webb Institute is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Webb Institute.
Campus
Location
Glen Cove, NY
City / state
- ZIP
- 11542-1398
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 3.9× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Other Special Focus Institutions
Size
Enrollment
106
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 106
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
- Pell grant share
- 8.57%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Webb Institute.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Webb Institute was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Webb Institute in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $42,750 | $42,750 | $16,128 |
| 2014 | $44,000 | $44,000 | $17,782 |
| 2015 | $46,000 | $46,000 | $17,409 |
| 2016 | $47,400 | $47,400 | $17,646 |
| 2017 | $48,775 | $48,775 | $19,835 |
| 2018 | $50,175 | $50,175 | $18,816 |
| 2019 | $51,690 | $51,690 | $15,684 |
| 2020 | $52,880 | $52,880 | $13,657 |
| 2021 | $56,455 | $56,455 | $16,435 |
| 2022 | $58,150 | $58,150 | $15,750 |
| 2023 | $61,060 | $61,060 | $19,077 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1496 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 33 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.85
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Webb Institute reported total enrollment of about 106 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 75% male and 25% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (76.4%), Hispanic or Latino (8.5%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (6.6%). About 8.57% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Webb Institute in 2024 is 106 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 106 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
92.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
88.00% 100% Completion Time
88.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 88.00% of students graduating from Webb Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering: 80% male / 20% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
What do Webb Institute graduates earn—and in which programs?
Financial value and program completions for Webb Institute from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.
Return on Investment
ROI data is not available for this institution.
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Webb Institute.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Webb Institute.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Webb Institute graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Webb Institute—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$70.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New York median 1.8× the median ($38.1M)
- Mid East median 1.7× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 2.7× the median ($26.4M)
- New York median 45× the median ($15,424)
- Mid East median 42× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 57× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 66.7%
- New York median 12.9 pp above median (53.8%)
- Mid East median 9.8 pp above median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 8.7 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $13,681
- New York median 1.7× the median ($8,068)
- Mid East median 1.7× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.8× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $33,239
- New York median 3.1× the median ($10,822)
- Mid East median 3.6× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 4.6× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Webb Institute at a glance
Webb Institute
Webb Institute is a private non-profit institution in Glen Cove, NY, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Special Focus Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian76.4%Hispanic or Latino8.5%Race/ethnicity unknown6.6%
Schools near Webb Institute
Other campuses in Glen Cove, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Webb Institute located?
Webb Institute is located in Glen Cove, NY.
What is Webb Institute's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Webb Institute is 14.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 185 applicants and 37 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Webb Institute's tuition?
Webb Institute tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $63,214 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $73,043 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Webb Institute cost?
Reported tuition is $63,214 and average net price is $73,043 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,280 annually.
Why is Webb Institute's acceptance rate so low?
The acceptance rate at Webb Institute is 14.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.
What is the student body demographics at Webb Institute?
Webb Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 106 students, White (76.4%), Hispanic or Latino (8.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What test scores do students need for Webb Institute?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Webb Institute reports midpoint SAT about 1496 and midpoint ACT about 33.
What is the graduation rate at Webb Institute?
The 150%-time completion rate is 88.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
Is Webb Institute public or private?
Webb Institute is a private nonprofit institution located in Glen Cove, NY.
Is Webb Institute an HBCU?
No. Webb Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Webb Institute a tribal college?
No. Webb Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Webb Institute a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Webb Institute does not meet that proxy (reported share 8.5%).
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.