York College of Pennsylvania
York, PA 17403-3651
About York College of Pennsylvania
York College of Pennsylvania is a private research university in York, Pennsylvania, serving roughly 3,265 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 73.74% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $61,012 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- York College of Pennsylvania charges 13% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($25,588).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 32% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 64.10%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,012.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at York College of Pennsylvania is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 722% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
York College of Pennsylvania awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 79 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| York College of Pennsylvania | $25,588 | $18,556 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Pennsylvania (state median) | $19,450 | $17,754 | 181 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 27% below published tuition at York College of Pennsylvania
Key findings
- York College of Pennsylvania's average net price ($18,556) is 27% below published tuition ($25,588).
- York College of Pennsylvania charges 13% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($25,588).
- Versus the Pennsylvania median, sticker tuition is 32% above.
York College of Pennsylvania tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $25,588
Finding York College of Pennsylvania charges 13% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $25,588. That is 13% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Pennsylvania median ($19,450), sticker tuition is 32% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.2×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at York College of Pennsylvania versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at York College of Pennsylvania versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at York College of Pennsylvania is $18,556.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,556 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $802 above the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $144 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway York College of Pennsylvania’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 27% lower after grants and scholarships.
York College of Pennsylvania: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for York College of Pennsylvania—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$25,588
Avg. net price
$18,556
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $12,927 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $14,581 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,024 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,799 |
| $110,001+ | $22,196 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $102,352. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What York College of Pennsylvania is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse150
- Education, General63
- Mechanical Engineering39
- Business Administration and Management, General35
- Criminal Justice/Law Enforcement Administration32
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1162
- Midpoint ACT: 25
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is York College of Pennsylvania a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
York College of Pennsylvania is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for York College of Pennsylvania.
Campus
Location
York, PA
City / state
- ZIP
- 17403-3651
- NCES locale
- Rural distant
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 1% below the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Mid East
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
3,265
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 3,678
- Graduate
- 456
- Full-time share
- 94%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$26,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 28.08%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for York College of Pennsylvania.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at York College of Pennsylvania was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for York College of Pennsylvania in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $17,010 | $17,010 | $21,226 |
| 2014 | $17,630 | $17,630 | $20,705 |
| 2015 | $18,240 | $18,240 | $21,169 |
| 2016 | $18,780 | $18,780 | $21,734 |
| 2017 | $19,430 | $19,430 | $20,779 |
| 2018 | $20,100 | $20,100 | $20,741 |
| 2019 | $20,885 | $20,885 | $20,652 |
| 2020 | $21,700 | $21,700 | $22,233 |
| 2021 | $22,350 | $22,350 | $21,615 |
| 2022 | $23,328 | $23,328 | $19,635 |
| 2023 | $24,606 | $24,606 | $19,685 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1162 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 25 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
York College of Pennsylvania reported total enrollment of about 3,265 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (71.0%), Hispanic or Latino (11.1%), and Black or African American (8.5%). About 28.08% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 30.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
94.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at York College of Pennsylvania in 2024 is 3,265 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,678 students. Graduate enrollment is about 456 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
78.2%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
46.97% 100% Completion Time
64.10% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 46.97% of students graduating from York College of Pennsylvania completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 16% male / 84% female
- Education, General: 13% male / 87% female
- Mechanical Engineering: 92% male / 8% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
York College of Pennsylvania graduates earn a median of $61,012 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of York College of Pennsylvania.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $61,012. Median federal loan debt: $26,000. Average net price used in cost models: $18,556.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway York College of Pennsylvania graduates report median earnings of $61,012 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for York College of Pennsylvania.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (79 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at York College of Pennsylvania.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for York College of Pennsylvania graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for York College of Pennsylvania—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$172.5M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Pennsylvania median 3.6× the median ($47.9M)
- Mid East median 4.0× the median ($42.6M)
- U.S. median 6.5× the median ($26.4M)
- Pennsylvania median 2.0× the median ($24,897)
- Mid East median 3.0× the median ($16,427)
- U.S. median 4.0× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 41.8%
- Pennsylvania median 21.3 pp below median (63.1%)
- Mid East median 15.1 pp below median (56.9%)
- U.S. median 16.1 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,539
- Pennsylvania median 1.2× the median ($8,003)
- Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $12,340
- Pennsylvania median 1.4× the median ($8,615)
- Mid East median 1.3× the median ($9,164)
- U.S. median 1.7× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
York College of Pennsylvania at a glance
York College of Pennsylvania
York College of Pennsylvania is a private non-profit institution in York, PA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseEducation, GeneralMechanical Engineering
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian71.0%Hispanic or Latino11.1%Black or African American8.5%
Schools near York College of Pennsylvania
Other campuses in York, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is York College of Pennsylvania located?
York College of Pennsylvania is located in York, PA.
What is York College of Pennsylvania's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at York College of Pennsylvania is 73.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,933 applicants and 4,647 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is York College of Pennsylvania's tuition?
York College of Pennsylvania tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $25,588 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,556 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does York College of Pennsylvania cost?
Reported tuition is $25,588 and average net price is $18,556 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,560 annually.
Why is York College of Pennsylvania's net price so much lower than tuition?
At York College of Pennsylvania, published tuition is $25,588 while average net price is $18,556—about 27% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains York College of Pennsylvania's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,556), completion (64.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($61,012). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at York College of Pennsylvania?
York College of Pennsylvania reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,678 students, White (71.0%), Hispanic or Latino (11.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend York College of Pennsylvania?
About 30.3% of students at York College of Pennsylvania are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for York College of Pennsylvania?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, York College of Pennsylvania reports midpoint SAT about 1162 and midpoint ACT about 25.
What do graduates of York College of Pennsylvania earn?
Median earnings are $50,940 six years after entry and $61,012 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at York College of Pennsylvania?
The 150%-time completion rate is 64.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do York College of Pennsylvania students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.