Zane State College
Zanesville, OH 43701-2626
About Zane State College
Zane State College is a public community college in Zanesville, Ohio, enrolling about 715 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $8,062 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $6,006. Student demographics in federal data include White (87.4%) and Black or African American (3.8%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- Zane State College charges 9% above the national public median tuition ($6,006).
- Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Ohio median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 46.48%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $35,006.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Zane State College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 986% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zane State College | $6,006 | $8,062 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Ohio (state median) | $15,202 | $12,090 | 154 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Zane State College really?
Key findings
- Zane State College charges 9% above the national public median tuition ($6,006).
- Versus the Ohio median, sticker tuition is about 0.4×.
- Average net price runs below the Ohio median net price.
Zane State College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,006
Finding Zane State College charges 9% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,006. That is 9% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Ohio median ($15,202), sticker tuition is about 0.4×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Zane State College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Zane State College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Zane State College is $8,062.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $8,062 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,028 below the Ohio median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,909 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Zane State College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Zane State College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Zane State College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$6,006
Out-of-state tuition
$11,766
Avg. net price
$8,062
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $6,648 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $7,668 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $8,632 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $10,907 |
| $110,001+ | $13,460 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $24,024. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Zane State College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies79
- Real Estate50
- Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other41
- Business Administration and Management, General38
- Occupational Therapist Assistant14
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Zane State College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Zane State College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Zane State College.
Campus
Location
Zanesville, OH
City / state
- ZIP
- 43701-2626
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional
Size
Enrollment
715
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 2,141
- Full-time share
- 54%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$6,834
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 18.34%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Zane State College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Zane State College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Zane State College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $4,556 | $9,026 | $9,374 |
| 2014 | $4,646 | $9,206 | $8,909 |
| 2015 | $4,646 | $9,206 | $7,988 |
| 2016 | $4,646 | $9,206 | $8,550 |
| 2017 | $4,646 | $9,206 | $8,336 |
| 2018 | $5,156 | $10,016 | $5,751 |
| 2019 | $5,156 | $10,316 | $6,554 |
| 2020 | $5,456 | $10,616 | $6,285 |
| 2021 | $5,556 | $10,866 | $6,651 |
| 2022 | $5,706 | $11,166 | $7,609 |
| 2023 | $5,856 | $11,466 | $7,423 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Zane State College reported total enrollment of about 715 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (87.4%), Black or African American (3.8%), and Two or More Races (3.6%). About 18.34% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 48.3% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
53.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Zane State College in 2024 is 715 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 2,141 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
N/A%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
0.00% 100% Completion Time
46.48% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Zane State College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 28% male / 72% female
- Real Estate: 32% male / 68% female
- Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other: 95% male / 5% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Zane State College graduates earn a median of $35,006 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Zane State College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $35,006. Median federal loan debt: $6,834. Average net price used in cost models: $8,062.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Zane State College graduates report median earnings of $35,006 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Zane State College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Zane State College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Zane State College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Zane State College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$13.4M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Ohio median 0.55× the median ($24.2M)
- Great Lakes median 0.42× the median ($31.8M)
- U.S. median 0.51× the median ($26.4M)
- Ohio median 0.92× the median ($15,287)
- Great Lakes median 0.84× the median ($16,690)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 41.3%
- Ohio median 13.6 pp below median (54.9%)
- Great Lakes median 16.8 pp below median (58.1%)
- U.S. median 16.7 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,738
- Ohio median 0.77× the median ($7,463)
- Great Lakes median 0.71× the median ($8,046)
- U.S. median 0.75× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,093
- Ohio median 0.80× the median ($7,640)
- Great Lakes median 0.79× the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median 0.84× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Zane State College at a glance
Zane State College
Zane State College is a public institution in Zanesville, OH, classified as Associate's Colleges: Mixed Transfer/Vocational & Technical-High Nontraditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesReal EstateElectrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians, Other
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian87.4%Black or African American3.8%Two or More Races3.6%
Schools near Zane State College
Other campuses in Zanesville, OH when available, plus nearby institutions in Ohio.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Ohio, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Zane State College located?
Zane State College is located in Zanesville, OH.
What is Zane State College's tuition?
Zane State College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,006 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $8,062 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Zane State College cost?
Reported tuition is $6,006 and average net price is $8,062 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $6,328 annually.
What explains Zane State College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($8,062), completion (46.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($35,006). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Zane State College?
Zane State College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 2,141 students, White (87.4%), Black or African American (3.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Zane State College?
About 48.3% of students at Zane State College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Zane State College earn?
Median earnings are $32,808 six years after entry and $35,006 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Zane State College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 46.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Zane State College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $6,834.
Is Zane State College public or private?
Zane State College is a public institution located in Zanesville, OH.
Is Zane State College an HBCU?
No. Zane State College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Zane State College a tribal college?
No. Zane State College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.