The Academy of Hair Design Six
Hattiesburg, MS 39401-7569
About The Academy of Hair Design Six
The Academy of Hair Design Six is a private for-profit trade school in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, enrolling about 37 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 100.00% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $22,706 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $22,706.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at The Academy of Hair Design Six is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 231% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Academy of Hair Design Six | — | $17,138 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Mississippi (state median) | $4,806 | $6,747 | 37 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is The Academy of Hair Design Six really?
Evidence: average net price at The Academy of Hair Design Six versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at The Academy of Hair Design Six is $17,138.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,138 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $10,391 above the Mississippi median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,167 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
The Academy of Hair Design Six: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for The Academy of Hair Design Six—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$17,138
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $17,138 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What The Academy of Hair Design Six is known for
Top program completions
See earnings & programs for more.
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
The Academy of Hair Design Six is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for The Academy of Hair Design Six.
Campus
Location
Hattiesburg, MS
City / state
- ZIP
- 39401-7569
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 14% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
Size
Enrollment
37
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 54
- Full-time share
- 51%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$9,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 81.69%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for The Academy of Hair Design Six.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at The Academy of Hair Design Six was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for The Academy of Hair Design Six in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $7,096 |
| 2014 | — | — | $8,350 |
| 2015 | — | — | $15,696 |
| 2016 | — | — | $17,284 |
| 2017 | — | — | $17,959 |
| 2018 | — | — | $18,015 |
| 2019 | — | — | $16,840 |
| 2020 | — | — | $16,757 |
| 2021 | — | — | $17,359 |
| 2022 | — | — | $16,440 |
| 2023 | — | — | $19,488 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
The Academy of Hair Design Six reported total enrollment of about 37 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 0% male and 100% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (70.3%), White (29.7%), and Hispanic or Latino (0.0%). About 81.69% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
51.4% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at The Academy of Hair Design Six in 2024 is 37 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 54 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
75.0%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
25.00% 100% Completion Time
100.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 25.00% of students graduating from The Academy of Hair Design Six completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General: 0% male / 100% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
The Academy of Hair Design Six graduates earn a median of $22,706 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of The Academy of Hair Design Six.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $22,706. Median federal loan debt: $9,500. Average net price used in cost models: $17,138.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway The Academy of Hair Design Six graduates report median earnings of $22,706 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for The Academy of Hair Design Six.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at The Academy of Hair Design Six.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for The Academy of Hair Design Six graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for The Academy of Hair Design Six—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $1,597
- Mississippi median 0.27× the median ($5,852)
- Southeast median 0.24× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.22× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
The Academy of Hair Design Six at a glance
The Academy of Hair Design Six
The Academy of Hair Design Six is a private for-profit institution in Hattiesburg, MS.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Cosmetology/Cosmetologist, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American70.3%White or Caucasian29.7%Hispanic or Latino0.0%
Schools near The Academy of Hair Design Six
Other campuses in Hattiesburg, MS when available, plus nearby institutions in Mississippi.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Mississippi, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is The Academy of Hair Design Six located?
The Academy of Hair Design Six is located in Hattiesburg, MS.
How much does The Academy of Hair Design Six cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $17,138 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains The Academy of Hair Design Six's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,138), completion (100.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($22,706). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at The Academy of Hair Design Six?
The Academy of Hair Design Six reports undergraduate enrollment of about 54 students, Black or African American (70.3%), White (29.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What do graduates of The Academy of Hair Design Six earn?
Median earnings are $16,382 six years after entry and $22,706 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at The Academy of Hair Design Six?
The 150%-time completion rate is 100.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do The Academy of Hair Design Six students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,500.
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six public or private?
The Academy of Hair Design Six is a private for-profit institution located in Hattiesburg, MS.
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six an HBCU?
No. The Academy of Hair Design Six is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six a tribal college?
No. The Academy of Hair Design Six is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, The Academy of Hair Design Six does not meet that proxy (reported share 0.0%).
Is The Academy of Hair Design Six religiously affiliated?
No religious affiliation is reported for The Academy of Hair Design Six in IPEDS institutional characteristics.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Mississippi college profile
- Mississippi college costs
- Mississippi colleges by ROI
- Mississippi trade schools profile
- Hattiesburg, Mississippi city profile
- Southeast regional profile
- Town college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Mississippi
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.