Active Report Report ID: EDU-458113-2026

Ascent College

Gainesville, VA 20155

Tuition$8,550Published sticker
Graduation rate100.00%150% time
Enrollment82Total students

About Ascent College

Ascent College is a private university in Gainesville, Virginia, enrolling about 82 students. Ascent College awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $8,550 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Student demographics in federal data include White (46.3%) and Race/ethnicity unknown (32.9%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 100.00%.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Ascent College$8,5501
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Ascent College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Ascent College charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($8,550).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 0.5×.
Published sticker

Ascent College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $8,550

Finding Ascent College charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $8,550. That is about 0.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is about 0.5×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 28% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Ascent College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

School guide

Ascent College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Ascent College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$8,550

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $34,200. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$31,455Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

What Ascent College is known for

Top program completions

  1. Divinity/Ministry46
  2. Bible/Biblical Studies2
  3. Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries, Other1

See earnings & programs for more.

Is Ascent College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Ascent College is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completion
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Ascent College.

Campus

Location

Gainesville, VA

City / state

ZIP
20155
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, tuition is 40% below the median for Rural campuses.

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools

Size

Enrollment

82

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
127
Full-time share
0%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
27.47%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$34,2004-year tuition
$11,960Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$760Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$21,270Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$85,080Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Ascent College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

27.47% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
36.26% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Ascent College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Ascent College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$8,050$8,050$10,863
2014$8,160$8,160$12,202
2015$8,100$8,100$16,126
2016$8,100$8,100
2017$8,100$8,100$11,154
2018$8,420$8,420
2019$8,420$8,420$12,011
2020$8,420$8,420
2021$9,092$9,092$6,357
2022$7,300$7,300
2023$7,680$7,680

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Ascent College reported total enrollment of about 82 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (46.3%), Race/ethnicity unknown (32.9%), and Black or African American (11.0%). About 27.47% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

0.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Ascent College in 2024 is 82 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 127 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

46.3%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian46.3%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown32.9%
  • Black or African American11.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.1%
  • Two or More Races2.4%
  • Asian1.2%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

100.00% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Ascent College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Divinity/Ministry: 22% male / 78% female
  • Bible/Biblical Studies: 50% male / 50% female
  • Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries, Other: 0% male / 100% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

13White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian13
  • Asian3
  • Black or African American1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • Two or More Races1
  • Hispanic or Latino0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Ascent College graduates earn—and in which programs?

Financial value and program completions for Ascent College from College Scorecard and IPEDS extracts.

Return on Investment

ROI data is not available for this institution.

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Ascent College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Bible/Biblical Studies 2
  2. Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries, Other 1

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Ascent College.

Employment Outcomes

$31,455Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Ascent College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Ascent College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$79,288

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $52,940

Year change: $26,348

  • Virginia median 0.00× the median ($30.9M)
  • Southeast median 0.00× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.00× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,201

  • Virginia median 0.09× the median ($13,171)
  • Southeast median 0.13× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.10× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $2,500
    • Virginia median 0.31× the median ($8,196)
    • Southeast median 0.37× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.33× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,637
    • Virginia median 0.36× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 0.40× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.36× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Ascent College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Ascent College

Gainesville, VA 20155 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Ascent College is a private non-profit institution in Gainesville, VA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Other Health Professions Schools.

Tuition$8,550
Enrollment82
Completion (150%)100.00%
Pell Grant share27.47%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Divinity/MinistryBible/Biblical StudiesPastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian46.3%
Race/ethnicity unknown32.9%
Black or African American11.0%
Nearby

Schools near Ascent College

Other campuses in Gainesville, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Ascent College located?

Ascent College is located in Gainesville, VA.

What is Ascent College's tuition?

Ascent College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $8,550 in the latest College Scorecard data.

How much does Ascent College cost?

Reported tuition is $8,550 and average net price is N/A in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,960 annually.

What is the student body demographics at Ascent College?

Ascent College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 127 students, White (46.3%), Race/ethnicity unknown (32.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What is the graduation rate at Ascent College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 100.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Ascent College public or private?

Ascent College is a private nonprofit institution located in Gainesville, VA.

Is Ascent College an HBCU?

No. Ascent College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Ascent College a tribal college?

No. Ascent College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Ascent College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Ascent College does not meet that proxy (reported share 6.1%).

Is Ascent College religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Ascent College: Assemblies of God Church.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.