Washington and Lee University
Lexington, VA 24450-2116
About Washington and Lee University
Washington and Lee University is a selective private research university in Lexington, Virginia, enrolling about 1,881 students. Admission is selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 13.97% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $94,810 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Washington and Lee University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($68,045).
- Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 4.2×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 93.88%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $94,810.
Research findings
Finding
Average net price at Washington and Lee University is about 65% below published tuition.
Published tuition is $68,045; average net price is $23,781 in the latest Scorecard extract.
Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.
Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Washington and Lee University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 897% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington and Lee University | $68,045 | $23,781 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Virginia (state median) | $16,364 | $8,852 | 107 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 65% below published tuition at Washington and Lee University
Key findings
- Washington and Lee University's average net price ($23,781) is 65% below published tuition ($68,045).
- Washington and Lee University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($68,045).
- Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 4.2×.
Washington and Lee University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $68,045
Finding Washington and Lee University charges about 2.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $68,045. That is about 2.3× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is about 4.2×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 5.7×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Washington and Lee University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Washington and Lee University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Washington and Lee University is $23,781.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $23,781 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $14,929 above the Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $8,810 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Washington and Lee University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 65% lower after grants and scholarships.
Washington and Lee University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Washington and Lee University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$68,045
Avg. net price
$23,781
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | −$1,777 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $75 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $4,497 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $8,162 |
| $110,001+ | $40,646 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $272,180. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Washington and Lee University is known for
Top program completions
- Law142
- Business Administration and Management, General109
- Political Science and Government, General58
- Accounting and Business/Management48
- Research and Experimental Psychology, Other45
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Highly selective — fewer than 3 in 10 applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 42% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1498
- Midpoint ACT: 34
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Washington and Lee University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Washington and Lee University is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 65% lower in this extract).
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Washington and Lee University.
Campus
Location
Lexington, VA
City / state
- ZIP
- 24450-2116
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 59% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields
Size
Enrollment
1,881
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,896
- Graduate
- 355
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$19,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 11.33%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Washington and Lee University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Washington and Lee University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Washington and Lee University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $44,507 | $44,507 | $23,916 |
| 2014 | $45,617 | $45,617 | $24,655 |
| 2015 | $46,417 | $46,417 | $24,472 |
| 2016 | $48,267 | $48,267 | $26,659 |
| 2017 | $50,170 | $50,170 | $25,961 |
| 2018 | $52,455 | $52,455 | $27,083 |
| 2019 | $54,830 | $54,830 | $22,615 |
| 2020 | $57,285 | $57,285 | $26,175 |
| 2021 | $59,380 | $59,380 | $27,417 |
| 2022 | $61,750 | $61,750 | $29,479 |
| 2023 | $64,525 | $64,525 | $23,911 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution is highly selective, accepting fewer than 3 in 10 applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1498 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 34 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.85
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Washington and Lee University reported total enrollment of about 1,881 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (68.0%), Hispanic or Latino (8.6%), and Non-Resident Alien (8.2%). About 11.33% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Washington and Lee University in 2024 is 1,881 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,896 students. Graduate enrollment is about 355 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
96.6%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
89.45% 100% Completion Time
93.88% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 89.45% of students graduating from Washington and Lee University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Law: 46% male / 54% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 63% male / 37% female
- Political Science and Government, General: 43% male / 57% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Washington and Lee University graduates earn a median of $94,810 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Washington and Lee University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $94,810. Median federal loan debt: $19,500. Average net price used in cost models: $23,781.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Washington and Lee University graduates report median earnings of $94,810 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Washington and Lee University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (33 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Washington and Lee University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Washington and Lee University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Washington and Lee University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$1.97B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Virginia median 64× the median ($30.9M)
- Southeast median 101× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 75× the median ($26.4M)
- Virginia median 68× the median ($13,171)
- Southeast median 96× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 74× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 87.8%
- Virginia median 26.8 pp above median (61.0%)
- Southeast median 28.3 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 29.8 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $14,155
- Virginia median 1.7× the median ($8,196)
- Southeast median 2.1× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $40,378
- Virginia median 5.5× the median ($7,382)
- Southeast median 6.1× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 5.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Washington and Lee University at a glance
Washington and Lee University
Washington and Lee University is a private non-profit institution in Lexington, VA, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Diverse Fields.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- LawBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralPolitical Science and Government, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian68.0%Hispanic or Latino8.6%Non-Resident Alien8.2%
Schools near Washington and Lee University
Other campuses in Lexington, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade A) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Washington and Lee University located?
Washington and Lee University is located in Lexington, VA.
What is Washington and Lee University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Washington and Lee University is 14.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 6,820 applicants and 1,184 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Washington and Lee University's tuition?
Washington and Lee University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $68,045 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $23,781 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Washington and Lee University cost?
Reported tuition is $68,045 and average net price is $23,781 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $18,685 annually.
Why is Washington and Lee University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Washington and Lee University, published tuition is $68,045 while average net price is $23,781—about 65% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Washington and Lee University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($23,781), completion (93.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($94,810). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
Why is Washington and Lee University's acceptance rate so low?
The acceptance rate at Washington and Lee University is 14.0% among first-time degree-seeking applicants reporting admissions data. Very low rates usually reflect extraordinary applicant volume relative to class size—not a single test-score cutoff. When IPEDS reports applicants and admits, those counts show how selective the funnel is. Acceptance rate describes competition for seats; it does not measure outcomes for enrolled students. Yield (share of admits who enroll) further clarifies demand among those offered admission when available.
What is the student body demographics at Washington and Lee University?
Washington and Lee University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,896 students, White (68.0%), Hispanic or Latino (8.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.
What test scores do students need for Washington and Lee University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Washington and Lee University reports midpoint SAT about 1498 and midpoint ACT about 34.
What do graduates of Washington and Lee University earn?
Median earnings are $76,516 six years after entry and $94,810 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Washington and Lee University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 93.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Washington and Lee University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $19,500.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.