Active Report Report ID: EDU-483054-2026

Barber School of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA 15216

Avg. net price$17,488After aid
Graduation rate64.52%150% time
Enrollment86Total students

About Barber School of Pittsburgh

Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit trade school in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, enrolling about 86 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 64.52% at 150% of normal time. Student demographics in federal data include White (41.9%) and Black or African American (39.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 64.52%.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Barber School of Pittsburgh$17,4881
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Pennsylvania (state median)$19,450$17,754181
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Barber School of Pittsburgh really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Average net price runs below the Pennsylvania median net price.

Evidence: average net price at Barber School of Pittsburgh versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Barber School of Pittsburgh is $17,488.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,488 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $266 below the Pennsylvania median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $2,565 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

School guide

Barber School of Pittsburgh: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Barber School of Pittsburgh—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

High completion indicates students finish programs at scale; it does not alone measure instructional quality or labor-market fit.

Financial profile

Avg. net price

$17,488

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$15,450
$30,001–$48,000$19,309
$48,001–$75,000$16,142
$75,001–$110,000$22,128
$110,001+$20,695

Student outcomes

First-year retention84.6%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$14,027Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Barber School of Pittsburgh is a good school for those looking for high program completion rates.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Barber School of Pittsburgh.

Campus

Location

Pittsburgh, PA

City / state

ZIP
15216
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 13% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Mid East

Size

Enrollment

86

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
131
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$13,583

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
58.68%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$69,952Estimated 4-year total cost
$17,488Average annual net price (after aid)

Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Barber School of Pittsburgh.

Financial Aid by Income Level

58.68% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
73.55% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Barber School of Pittsburgh was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Barber School of Pittsburgh in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20142023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2014$11,569
2015$16,837
2016$17,171
2017$15,763
2018$16,972
2019$16,533
2020$18,525
2021$16,088
2022$18,716
2023$18,910

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Barber School of Pittsburgh reported total enrollment of about 86 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 80% male and 20% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (41.9%), Black or African American (39.5%), and Two or More Races (5.8%). About 58.68% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.8% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

100.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Barber School of Pittsburgh in 2024 is 86 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 131 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

84.6%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

41.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian41.9%
  • Black or African American39.5%
  • Two or More Races5.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.5%
  • Asian3.5%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

0.00% 100% Completion Time

64.52% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 0.00% of students graduating from Barber School of Pittsburgh completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Barbering/Barber: 88% male / 12% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

31White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian31
  • Black or African American18
  • Two or More Races3
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Asian1
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

What do Barber School of Pittsburgh graduates earn—and in which programs?

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Barber School of Pittsburgh.

Evidence Median federal loan debt: $13,583. Average net price used in cost models: $17,488.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Return on Investment

$13,583Median student debt

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Barber School of Pittsburgh.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Barber School of Pittsburgh.

Employment Outcomes

$14,027Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Barber School of Pittsburgh graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Barber School of Pittsburgh—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,680
    • Pennsylvania median 0.31× the median ($8,615)
    • Mid East median 0.29× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 0.37× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Barber School of Pittsburgh at a glance

Institution snapshot

Barber School of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA 15216 · Private For-profit · Mid East

Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit institution in Pittsburgh, PA.

Avg. net price$17,488
Enrollment86
Completion (150%)64.52%
Pell Grant share58.68%
First-generation47.8%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Barbering/Barber
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian41.9%
Black or African American39.5%
Two or More Races5.8%
Nearby

Schools near Barber School of Pittsburgh

Other campuses in Pittsburgh, PA when available, plus nearby institutions in Pennsylvania.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within Pennsylvania, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Barber School of Pittsburgh located?

Barber School of Pittsburgh is located in Pittsburgh, PA.

How much does Barber School of Pittsburgh cost?

Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $17,488 in the latest College Scorecard data.

What is the student body demographics at Barber School of Pittsburgh?

Barber School of Pittsburgh reports undergraduate enrollment of about 131 students, White (41.9%), Black or African American (39.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Barber School of Pittsburgh?

About 47.8% of students at Barber School of Pittsburgh are first-generation college students.

What is the graduation rate at Barber School of Pittsburgh?

The 150%-time completion rate is 64.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Barber School of Pittsburgh students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,583.

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh public or private?

Barber School of Pittsburgh is a private for-profit institution located in Pittsburgh, PA.

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh an HBCU?

No. Barber School of Pittsburgh is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a tribal college?

No. Barber School of Pittsburgh is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?

Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Barber School of Pittsburgh does not meet that proxy (reported share 3.5%).

Is Barber School of Pittsburgh religiously affiliated?

No religious affiliation is reported for Barber School of Pittsburgh in IPEDS institutional characteristics.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.