Active Report Report ID: EDU-156356-2026

Brescia University

Owensboro, KY 42301-3023

Acceptance rate35.24%Selective
Tuition$31,550Published sticker
Avg. net price$8,709After aid
Graduation rate53.71%150% time
Median salary$45,50010yr post-entry

About Brescia University

Brescia University is a private research university in Owensboro, Kentucky, enrolling about 545 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 35.24% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $45,500 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Brescia University charges 8% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($31,550).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 53.71%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $45,500.

Research findings

01

Finding

Average net price at Brescia University is about 72% below published tuition.

Published tuition is $31,550; average net price is $8,709 in the latest Scorecard extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional aid and grants compress sticker price into a substantially lower typical undergraduate cost signal.

Limitation: Average net price masks variation by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the campus average.

02

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Brescia University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1206% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Brescia University$31,550$8,7091
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Kentucky (state median)$11,652$5,76253
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 72% below published tuition at Brescia University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Brescia University's average net price ($8,709) is 72% below published tuition ($31,550).
  • Brescia University charges 8% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($31,550).
  • Versus the Kentucky median, sticker tuition is about 2.7×.
Published sticker

Brescia University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $31,550

Finding Brescia University charges 8% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $31,550. That is 8% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Kentucky median ($11,652), sticker tuition is about 2.7×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.7×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Brescia University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Brescia University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Brescia University is $8,709.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $8,709 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $2,946 above the Kentucky median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $6,262 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Brescia University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 72% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Brescia University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Brescia University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

Completion, earnings, and net price together describe a campus where sticker price overstates typical undergraduate cost while outcomes remain at the high end of Scorecard distributions.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$31,550

Avg. net price

$8,709

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$8,977
$30,001–$48,000$9,343
$48,001–$75,000$12,984
$75,001–$110,000$8,910
$110,001+$5,548

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $126,200. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention67.4%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$39,897Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 17% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Midpoint ACT: 22

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Brescia University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Brescia University is a good school for those looking for strong completion and solid mid-career earnings—especially where average net price sits well below published tuition (about 72% lower in this extract).

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomesNet price well below sticker
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Brescia University.

Campus

Location

Owensboro, KY

City / state

ZIP
42301-3023
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.6× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

545

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
686
Graduate
130
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$29,430

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
42.65%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$34,836Estimated 4-year total cost
$8,709Average annual net price (after aid)
$126,2004-year tuition
$13,200Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$3,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$47,750Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$191,000Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Brescia University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

42.65% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
51.91% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Brescia University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Brescia University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$19,640$19,640$12,172
2014$19,990$19,990$10,505
2015$20,440$20,440$10,731
2016$21,100$21,100$12,088
2017$21,550$21,550$13,312
2018$22,100$22,100$13,106
2019$23,500$23,500$12,270
2020$25,100$25,100$13,831
2021$26,950$26,950$13,626
2022$27,950$27,950$16,787
2023$30,450$30,450$14,626

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

35.24%Acceptance rate
2,534Total applicants
877Students admitted
151First-time students enrolled
17.22%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

22ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Brescia University reported total enrollment of about 545 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 45% male and 55% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (57.6%), Black or African American (12.7%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (11.7%). About 42.65% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 45.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

87.5% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Brescia University in 2024 is 545 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 686 students. Graduate enrollment is about 130 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

67.4%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

57.6%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian57.6%
  • Black or African American12.7%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown11.7%
  • Non-Resident Alien7.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.2%
  • Asian2.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.9%
  • Two or More Races0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

43.78% 100% Completion Time

53.71% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 43.78% of students graduating from Brescia University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Social Work: 8% male / 92% female
  • Business/Commerce, General: 72% male / 28% female
  • Psychology, General: 14% male / 86% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

118White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian118
  • Black or African American9
  • Hispanic or Latino9
  • Asian8
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Brescia University graduates earn a median of $45,500 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Brescia University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $45,500. Median federal loan debt: $29,430. Average net price used in cost models: $8,709.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Brescia University graduates report median earnings of $45,500 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,206%Modeled return on investment
$29,430Median student debt
$45,500Median annual earnings (10 years)
64.68%Debt-to-earnings ratio
6.5 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Brescia University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (27 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 40
  2. Accounting 11
  3. Applied Mathematics, General 4

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Brescia University.

Employment Outcomes

$45,500Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$39,897Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,820Median earnings (8 years after entry)
87.21%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Brescia University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Brescia University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$15.2M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $15.8M

Year change: -$611,140

  • Kentucky median 0.35× the median ($43.7M)
  • Southeast median 0.78× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.58× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $26,161

  • Kentucky median near the median ($26,161)
  • Southeast median 2.8× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 60.0%
    • Kentucky median 20.4 pp below median (80.4%)
    • Southeast median 0.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 2.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,182
    • Kentucky median near the median ($6,182)
    • Southeast median 0.91× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.81× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,749
    • Kentucky median 1.5× the median ($5,808)
    • Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Brescia University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Brescia University

Owensboro, KY 42301-3023 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Brescia University is a private non-profit institution in Owensboro, KY, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$31,550
Avg. net price$8,709
Enrollment545
Acceptance rate35.24%
Completion (150%)53.71%
Average ACT22
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Social WorkBusiness/Commerce, GeneralPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian57.6%
Black or African American12.7%
Race/ethnicity unknown11.7%
Nearby

Schools near Brescia University

Other campuses in Owensboro, KY when available, plus nearby institutions in Kentucky.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Kentucky, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Brescia University located?

Brescia University is located in Owensboro, KY.

What is Brescia University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Brescia University is 35.2% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,534 applicants and 877 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Brescia University's tuition?

Brescia University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $31,550 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $8,709 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Brescia University cost?

Reported tuition is $31,550 and average net price is $8,709 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,200 annually.

Why is Brescia University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Brescia University, published tuition is $31,550 while average net price is $8,709—about 72% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Brescia University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($8,709), completion (53.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($45,500). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Brescia University?

Brescia University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 686 students, White (57.6%), Black or African American (12.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Brescia University?

About 45.2% of students at Brescia University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Brescia University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Brescia University reports midpoint ACT about 22.

What do graduates of Brescia University earn?

Median earnings are $39,897 six years after entry and $45,500 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Brescia University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 53.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Brescia University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $29,430.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.