Carnegie Institute
Troy, MI 48083
About Carnegie Institute
Carnegie Institute is a private for-profit trade school in Troy, Michigan, enrolling about 93 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $17,042 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $15,645. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $38,244 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Carnegie Institute charges 6% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($15,645).
- Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 50.00%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $38,244.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Carnegie Institute is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 461% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carnegie Institute | $15,645 | $17,042 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Michigan (state median) | $15,221 | $7,368 | 96 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Carnegie Institute really?
Key findings
- Carnegie Institute charges 6% below the national private for-profit median tuition ($15,645).
- Versus the Michigan median, sticker tuition is 3% above.
Carnegie Institute tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $15,645
Finding Carnegie Institute charges 6% below the national private for-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $15,645. That is 6% below the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Michigan median ($15,221), sticker tuition is 3% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 31% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Carnegie Institute versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Carnegie Institute versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Carnegie Institute is $17,042.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $17,042 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,674 above the Michigan median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $2,071 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Carnegie Institute, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Carnegie Institute: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Carnegie Institute—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$15,645
Avg. net price
$17,042
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $30,001–$48,000 | $14,198 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $17,921 |
| $110,001+ | $21,852 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $62,580. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Carnegie Institute is known for
Top program completions
- Cardiovascular Technology/Technologist25
- Electroneurodiagnostic/Electroencephalographic Technology/Technologist16
- Medical/Clinical Assistant9
- Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage9
- Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other5
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Carnegie Institute a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Carnegie Institute is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Carnegie Institute.
Campus
Location
Troy, MI
City / state
- ZIP
- 48083
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 14% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Great Lakes
Size
Enrollment
93
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 142
- Full-time share
- 28%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$9,336
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 63.11%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Carnegie Institute.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Carnegie Institute was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Carnegie Institute in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $11,765 | $11,765 | $13,376 |
| 2014 | $12,640 | $12,640 | $13,274 |
| 2015 | $12,666 | $12,666 | $14,930 |
| 2016 | $13,100 | $13,100 | $18,139 |
| 2017 | $13,290 | $13,290 | $17,229 |
| 2018 | $13,670 | $13,670 | $16,362 |
| 2019 | $14,070 | $14,070 | $15,364 |
| 2020 | $14,402 | $14,402 | $14,771 |
| 2021 | $14,702 | $14,702 | $16,978 |
| 2022 | $15,042 | $15,042 | $14,960 |
| 2023 | $15,342 | $15,342 | $14,418 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Carnegie Institute reported total enrollment of about 93 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 15% male and 85% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (67.7%), Black or African American (14.0%), and Asian (8.6%). About 63.11% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 53.9% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
28.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Carnegie Institute in 2024 is 93 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 142 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
66.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
50.00% 100% Completion Time
50.00% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 50.00% of students graduating from Carnegie Institute completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Cardiovascular Technology/Technologist: 4% male / 96% female
- Electroneurodiagnostic/Electroencephalographic Technology/Technologist: 12% male / 88% female
- Medical/Clinical Assistant: 22% male / 78% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Carnegie Institute graduates earn a median of $38,244 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Carnegie Institute.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $38,244. Median federal loan debt: $9,336. Average net price used in cost models: $17,042.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Carnegie Institute graduates report median earnings of $38,244 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Carnegie Institute.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 8 programs by IPEDS completions (9 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Carnegie Institute.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Carnegie Institute graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Carnegie Institute—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,621
- Michigan median 1.1× the median ($7,240)
- Great Lakes median near the median ($7,690)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Carnegie Institute at a glance
Carnegie Institute
Carnegie Institute is a private for-profit institution in Troy, MI.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Cardiovascular Technology/TechnologistElectroneurodiagnostic/Electroencephalographic Technology/TechnologistMedical/Clinical Assistant
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian67.7%Black or African American14.0%Asian8.6%
Schools near Carnegie Institute
Other campuses in Troy, MI when available, plus nearby institutions in Michigan.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Michigan, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Carnegie Institute located?
Carnegie Institute is located in Troy, MI.
What is Carnegie Institute's tuition?
Carnegie Institute tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $15,645 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $17,042 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Carnegie Institute cost?
Reported tuition is $15,645 and average net price is $17,042 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,909 annually.
What explains Carnegie Institute's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($17,042), completion (50.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($38,244). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Carnegie Institute?
Carnegie Institute reports undergraduate enrollment of about 142 students, White (67.7%), Black or African American (14.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Carnegie Institute?
About 53.9% of students at Carnegie Institute are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Carnegie Institute earn?
Median earnings are $36,364 six years after entry and $38,244 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Carnegie Institute?
The 150%-time completion rate is 50.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Carnegie Institute students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $9,336.
Is Carnegie Institute public or private?
Carnegie Institute is a private for-profit institution located in Troy, MI.
Is Carnegie Institute an HBCU?
No. Carnegie Institute is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Carnegie Institute a tribal college?
No. Carnegie Institute is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.