Active Report Report ID: EDU-176947-2026

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Fayette, MO 65248-1198

Acceptance rate56.87%Selective
Tuition$28,260Published sticker
Avg. net price$22,766After aid
Graduation rate51.23%150% time
Median salary$48,99110yr post-entry

About Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a private university in Fayette, Missouri, enrolling about 1,040 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 56.87% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $48,991 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Versus the Missouri median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 51.23%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $48,991.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 438% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences$28,260$22,7661
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Missouri (state median)$14,822$12,95481
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 19% below published tuition at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences's average net price ($22,766) is 19% below published tuition ($28,260).
  • Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences charges 4% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($28,260).
  • Versus the Missouri median, sticker tuition is about 1.9×.
Published sticker

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $28,260

Finding Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences charges 4% below the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $28,260. That is 4% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Missouri median ($14,822), sticker tuition is about 1.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is $22,766.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $22,766 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,812 above the Missouri median net price.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 19% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$28,260

Avg. net price

$22,766

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$20,260
$30,001–$48,000$18,894
$48,001–$75,000$20,680
$75,001–$110,000$23,883
$110,001+$27,411

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $113,040. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention61.8%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$43,860Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 23% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1048
  • Midpoint ACT: 21

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Campus

Location

Fayette, MO

City / state

ZIP
65248-1198

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Plains
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

1,040

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,092
Full-time share
100%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$17,619

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
40.28%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$91,064Estimated 4-year total cost
$22,766Average annual net price (after aid)
$113,0404-year tuition
$9,450Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$38,710Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$154,840Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Financial Aid by Income Level

40.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
61.10% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$21,320$21,320$17,801
2014$21,830$21,830$17,485
2015$22,360$22,360$19,513
2016$23,010$23,010$20,615
2017$23,770$23,770$22,537
2018$24,420$24,420$19,764
2019$25,070$25,070$21,082
2020$25,780$25,780$25,095
2021$26,470$26,470$25,087
2022$27,140$27,140$21,993
2023$27,140$27,140$25,477

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

56.87%Acceptance rate
1,149Total applicants
1,010Students admitted
237First-time students enrolled
23.47%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1048SAT average
21ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences reported total enrollment of about 1,040 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 49% male and 51% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (60.8%), Black or African American (14.5%), and Non-Resident Alien (9.3%). About 40.28% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.7% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

99.7% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences in 2024 is 1,040 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,092 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

61.8%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

60.8%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian60.8%
  • Black or African American14.5%
  • Non-Resident Alien9.3%
  • Hispanic or Latino7.8%
  • Two or More Races5.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown1.2%
  • Asian0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

43.89% 100% Completion Time

51.23% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 43.89% of students graduating from Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 14% male / 86% female
  • Business/Commerce, General: 67% male / 33% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 45% male / 55% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

182White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian182
  • Black or African American21
  • Two or More Races14
  • Hispanic or Latino4
  • Asian2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences graduates earn a median of $48,991 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $48,991. Median federal loan debt: $17,619. Average net price used in cost models: $22,766.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences graduates report median earnings of $48,991 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

438%Modeled return on investment
$17,619Median student debt
$48,991Median annual earnings (10 years)
35.96%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (36 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 12
  2. Computer Science 10

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Employment Outcomes

$48,991Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$43,860Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$46,676Median earnings (8 years after entry)
93.40%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$64.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $61.2M

Year change: $3.2M

  • Missouri median 1.8× the median ($35.2M)
  • Plains median 2.7× the median ($24.1M)
  • U.S. median 2.4× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $43,677

  • Missouri median 2.9× the median ($15,167)
  • Plains median 2.9× the median ($15,020)
  • U.S. median 3.6× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Missouri median 34.7 pp above median (65.3%)
    • Plains median 35.3 pp above median (64.7%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $6,712
    • Missouri median near the median ($6,803)
    • Plains median 0.93× the median ($7,194)
    • U.S. median 0.88× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $13,771
    • Missouri median 1.9× the median ($7,371)
    • Plains median 1.7× the median ($8,150)
    • U.S. median 1.9× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at a glance

Institution snapshot

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Fayette, MO 65248-1198 · Private Non-profit · Plains

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is a private non-profit institution in Fayette, MO, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$28,260
Avg. net price$22,766
Enrollment1,040
Acceptance rate56.87%
Completion (150%)51.23%
Average SAT1048
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness/Commerce, GeneralBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian60.8%
Black or African American14.5%
Non-Resident Alien9.3%
Nearby

Schools near Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Other campuses in Fayette, MO when available, plus nearby institutions in Missouri.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Missouri, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences located?

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is located in Fayette, MO.

What is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is 56.9% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,149 applicants and 1,010 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences's tuition?

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $28,260 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $22,766 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences cost?

Reported tuition is $28,260 and average net price is $22,766 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,450 annually.

Why is Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, published tuition is $28,260 while average net price is $22,766—about 19% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($22,766), completion (51.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($48,991). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences?

Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,092 students, White (60.8%), Black or African American (14.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences?

About 43.7% of students at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences reports midpoint SAT about 1048 and midpoint ACT about 21.

What do graduates of Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences earn?

Median earnings are $43,860 six years after entry and $48,991 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences?

The 150%-time completion rate is 51.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Central Methodist University-College of Liberal Arts and Sciences students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $17,619.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.