Active Report Report ID: EDU-232016-2026

Centura College-Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach, VA 23452-7431

Tuition$16,637Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,538After aid
Graduation rate71.43%150% time
Median salary$25,93010yr post-entry
ROI135%10yr vs net cost

About Centura College-Virginia Beach

Centura College-Virginia Beach is a private for-profit trade school in Virginia Beach, Virginia. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $27,538 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $16,637. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $25,930 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Centura College-Virginia Beach charges at the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,637).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 71.43%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $25,930.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Centura College-Virginia Beach$16,637$27,5381
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Centura College-Virginia Beach really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Centura College-Virginia Beach charges at the national private for-profit median tuition ($16,637).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is 2% above.
Published sticker

Centura College-Virginia Beach tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $16,637

Finding Centura College-Virginia Beach charges at the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $16,637. That is at the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is 2% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 40% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Centura College-Virginia Beach versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Centura College-Virginia Beach versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Centura College-Virginia Beach is $27,538.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,538 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $18,686 above the Virginia median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $7,485 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Centura College-Virginia Beach, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Centura College-Virginia Beach: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Centura College-Virginia Beach—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$16,637

Avg. net price

$27,538

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $66,548. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

$26,077Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Centura College-Virginia Beach a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Centura College-Virginia Beach is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Strong completionEarnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Centura College-Virginia Beach.

Campus

Location

Virginia Beach, VA

City / state

ZIP
23452-7431
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 37% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers

Size

Enrollment

0

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
548

Student aid

Debt & aid

$14,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
12.50%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$110,152Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,538Average annual net price (after aid)
$66,5484-year tuition
$11,581Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$3,200Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$31,418Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$125,672Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Centura College-Virginia Beach.

Financial Aid by Income Level

12.50% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
0.00% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Centura College-Virginia Beach was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Centura College-Virginia Beach in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$16,912$16,912$27,105
2014$16,887$16,887$24,742
2015$16,887$16,887$25,582
2016$15,887$15,887$25,547
2017$15,887$15,887$23,799
2018$15,887$15,887$25,515
2019$15,887$15,887$25,131
2020$16,637$16,637$26,096
2021$16,637$16,637$25,618
2022$16,637$16,637$27,192
2023$16,637$16,637$27,538

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

The student body is about 0% male and 0% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (0.0%), Black or African American (0.0%), and Hispanic or Latino (0.0%). About 12.50% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 52.1% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

N/A% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Centura College-Virginia Beach in 2024 is 0 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 548 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

0.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian0.0%
  • Black or African American0.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino0.0%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

71.43% 100% Completion Time

71.43% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 71.43% of students graduating from Centura College-Virginia Beach completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • 05.1071: 18% male / 82% female
  • Biomedical Technology/Technician: 50% male / 50% female
  • Heating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician: 83% male / 17% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

13Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American13
  • White or Caucasian5
  • Hispanic or Latino5
  • Two or More Races3
  • Asian0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Centura College-Virginia Beach graduates earn a median of $25,930 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Centura College-Virginia Beach.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $25,930. Median federal loan debt: $14,750. Average net price used in cost models: $27,538.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Centura College-Virginia Beach graduates report median earnings of $25,930 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

135%Modeled return on investment
$14,750Median student debt
$25,930Median annual earnings (10 years)
56.88%Debt-to-earnings ratio
5.7 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Centura College-Virginia Beach.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 3 programs by IPEDS completions (4 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. 05.1071 11
  2. Biomedical Technology/Technician 10

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Centura College-Virginia Beach.

Employment Outcomes

$25,930Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$26,077Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$25,977Median earnings (8 years after entry)
77.13%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Centura College-Virginia Beach graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Centura College-Virginia Beach—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $16,220
    • Virginia median 2.2× the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 2.5× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Centura College-Virginia Beach at a glance

Institution snapshot

Centura College-Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach, VA 23452-7431 · Private For-profit · Southeast

Centura College-Virginia Beach is a private for-profit institution in Virginia Beach, VA, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers.

Tuition$16,637
Avg. net price$27,538
Enrollment0
Completion (150%)71.43%
Pell Grant share12.50%
First-generation52.1%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
05.1071Biomedical Technology/TechnicianHeating, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and Refrigeration Maintenance Technology/Technician
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian0.0%
Black or African American0.0%
Hispanic or Latino0.0%
Nearby

Schools near Centura College-Virginia Beach

Other campuses in Virginia Beach, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Centura College-Virginia Beach located?

Centura College-Virginia Beach is located in Virginia Beach, VA.

What is Centura College-Virginia Beach's tuition?

Centura College-Virginia Beach tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $16,637 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,538 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Centura College-Virginia Beach cost?

Reported tuition is $16,637 and average net price is $27,538 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,581 annually.

What explains Centura College-Virginia Beach's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,538), completion (71.4% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($25,930). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Centura College-Virginia Beach?

Centura College-Virginia Beach reports undergraduate enrollment of about 548 students, White (0.0%), Black or African American (0.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Centura College-Virginia Beach?

About 52.1% of students at Centura College-Virginia Beach are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Centura College-Virginia Beach earn?

Median earnings are $26,077 six years after entry and $25,930 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Centura College-Virginia Beach?

The 150%-time completion rate is 71.4% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Centura College-Virginia Beach students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $14,750.

Is Centura College-Virginia Beach public or private?

Centura College-Virginia Beach is a private for-profit institution located in Virginia Beach, VA.

Is Centura College-Virginia Beach an HBCU?

No. Centura College-Virginia Beach is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Centura College-Virginia Beach a tribal college?

No. Centura College-Virginia Beach is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.