Active Report Report ID: EDU-231697-2026

Central Virginia Community College

Lynchburg, VA 24502-2498

Tuition$5,157Published sticker
Avg. net price$6,928After aid
Graduation rate44.58%150% time
Median salary$36,62710yr post-entry
ROI1,222%10yr vs net cost

About Central Virginia Community College

Central Virginia Community College is a public community college in Lynchburg, Virginia, enrolling about 2,249 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $6,928 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $5,157. Student demographics in federal data include White (55.2%) and Black or African American (26.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Central Virginia Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition ($5,157).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Virginia median net price.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 44.58%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $36,627.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Central Virginia Community College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 1222% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Central Virginia Community College$5,157$6,9281
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Virginia (state median)$16,364$8,852107
Town (locale median)$9,600$14,9711,517
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Central Virginia Community College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Central Virginia Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition ($5,157).
  • Versus the Virginia median, sticker tuition is about 0.3×.
  • Average net price runs below the Virginia median net price.
Published sticker

Central Virginia Community College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $5,157

Finding Central Virginia Community College charges 6% below the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $5,157. That is 6% below the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Virginia median ($16,364), sticker tuition is about 0.3×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.4×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Central Virginia Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Central Virginia Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Central Virginia Community College is $6,928.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $6,928 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $1,924 below the Virginia median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $8,043 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Central Virginia Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Central Virginia Community College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Central Virginia Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$5,157

Out-of-state tuition

$11,595

Avg. net price

$6,928

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$5,752
$30,001–$48,000$6,256
$48,001–$75,000$8,639
$75,001–$110,000$7,982
$110,001+$12,434

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $20,628. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention64.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$31,969Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is Central Virginia Community College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Central Virginia Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Central Virginia Community College.

Campus

Location

Lynchburg, VA

City / state

ZIP
24502-2498
NCES locale
Town

Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is about 0.5× the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional

Size

Enrollment

2,249

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
4,751
Full-time share
31%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$8,625

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
36.39%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$27,712Estimated 4-year total cost
$6,928Average annual net price (after aid)
$20,6284-year in-state tuition
$46,3804-year out-of-state tuition
$12,039Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,932Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$19,128Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$76,512Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Central Virginia Community College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

36.39% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
3.14% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Central Virginia Community College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Central Virginia Community College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$3,564$8,762$5,116
2014$4,248$10,068$3,872
2015$4,470$10,308$6,832
2016$4,598$10,496$5,277
2017$4,726$10,654$4,922
2018$4,838$10,766$4,920
2019$4,838$10,841$5,610
2020$4,838$10,841$4,869
2021$4,838$10,841$4,556
2022$4,853$10,856$5,926
2023$4,998$11,001$5,525

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Central Virginia Community College reported total enrollment of about 2,249 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 39% male and 61% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (55.2%), Black or African American (26.6%), and Two or More Races (6.8%). About 36.39% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 43.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

30.9% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Central Virginia Community College in 2024 is 2,249 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,751 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

64.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

55.2%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian55.2%
  • Black or African American26.6%
  • Two or More Races6.8%
  • Hispanic or Latino6.5%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown2.1%
  • Asian1.6%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

23.75% 100% Completion Time

44.58% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 23.75% of students graduating from Central Virginia Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 11% male / 89% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 38% male / 62% female
  • Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other: 40% male / 60% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

1,314White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian1,314
  • Black or African American252
  • Two or More Races96
  • Hispanic or Latino73
  • Asian28
  • American Indian or Alaska Native7
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Central Virginia Community College graduates earn a median of $36,627 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Central Virginia Community College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $36,627. Median federal loan debt: $8,625. Average net price used in cost models: $6,928.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Central Virginia Community College graduates report median earnings of $36,627 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

1,222%Modeled return on investment
$8,625Median student debt
$36,627Median annual earnings (10 years)
23.55%Debt-to-earnings ratio
2.4 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Central Virginia Community College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (29 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Precision Metal Working, Other 105
  2. Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions, Other 44
  3. Electrical, Electronic, and Communications Engineering Technology/Technician 31

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Central Virginia Community College.

Employment Outcomes

$36,627Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$31,969Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$35,883Median earnings (8 years after entry)
82.62%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Central Virginia Community College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Central Virginia Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$2.1M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $1.8M

Year change: $342,939

  • Virginia median 0.07× the median ($30.9M)
  • Southeast median 0.11× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.08× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,056

  • Virginia median 0.08× the median ($13,171)
  • Southeast median 0.11× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.09× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 29.7%
    • Virginia median 31.4 pp below median (61.0%)
    • Southeast median 29.8 pp below median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 28.3 pp below median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,179
    • Virginia median near the median ($8,196)
    • Southeast median 1.2× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $7,261
    • Virginia median near the median ($7,382)
    • Southeast median 1.1× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median near the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Central Virginia Community College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Central Virginia Community College

Lynchburg, VA 24502-2498 · Public · Southeast

Central Virginia Community College is a public institution in Lynchburg, VA, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Transfer-High Nontraditional.

Tuition$5,157
Avg. net price$6,928
Enrollment2,249
Completion (150%)44.58%
Pell Grant share36.39%
First-generation43.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Registered Nursing/Registered NurseLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, Other
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian55.2%
Black or African American26.6%
Two or More Races6.8%
Nearby

Schools near Central Virginia Community College

Other campuses in Lynchburg, VA when available, plus nearby institutions in Virginia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Virginia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Central Virginia Community College located?

Central Virginia Community College is located in Lynchburg, VA.

What is Central Virginia Community College's tuition?

Central Virginia Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $5,157 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $6,928 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Central Virginia Community College cost?

Reported tuition is $5,157 and average net price is $6,928 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,039 annually.

What explains Central Virginia Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($6,928), completion (44.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($36,627). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Central Virginia Community College?

Central Virginia Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,751 students, White (55.2%), Black or African American (26.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Central Virginia Community College?

About 43.2% of students at Central Virginia Community College are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Central Virginia Community College earn?

Median earnings are $31,969 six years after entry and $36,627 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Central Virginia Community College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 44.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Central Virginia Community College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $8,625.

Is Central Virginia Community College public or private?

Central Virginia Community College is a public institution located in Lynchburg, VA.

Is Central Virginia Community College an HBCU?

No. Central Virginia Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Central Virginia Community College a tribal college?

No. Central Virginia Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.