Active Report Report ID: EDU-144005-2026

Chicago State University

Chicago, IL 60628-1598

Acceptance rate43.26%Selective
Tuition$12,754Published sticker
Avg. net price$12,335After aid
Graduation rate15.49%150% time
Median salary$42,77810yr post-entry

About Chicago State University

Chicago State University is a public research university in Chicago, Illinois, enrolling about 1,384 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 43.26% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $42,778 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Chicago State University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition ($12,754).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is 4% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 15.49%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $42,778.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Chicago State University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 767% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Chicago State University$12,754$12,3351
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Illinois (state median)$13,248$7,399131
Urban (City) (locale median)$15,200$20,0531,346
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 3% below published tuition at Chicago State University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Chicago State University's average net price ($12,335) is 3% below published tuition ($12,754).
  • Chicago State University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition ($12,754).
  • Versus the Illinois median, sticker tuition is 4% below.
Published sticker

Chicago State University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $12,754

Finding Chicago State University charges about 2.3× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $12,754. That is about 2.3× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Illinois median ($13,248), sticker tuition is 4% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 7% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Chicago State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Chicago State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Chicago State University is $12,335.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,335 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,936 above the Illinois median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $7,718 below the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Chicago State University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 3% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Chicago State University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Chicago State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$12,754

Avg. net price

$12,335

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$9,073
$30,001–$48,000$9,550
$48,001–$75,000$11,334
$75,001–$110,000$13,899
$110,001+$28,427

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $51,016. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention57.3%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$33,805Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 6% of admitted students enrolled.

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Chicago State University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Chicago State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Chicago State University.

Campus

Location

Chicago, IL

City / state

ZIP
60628-1598
NCES locale
City

Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 38% below the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

1,384

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
1,891
Graduate
737
Full-time share
69%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$30,625

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
57.86%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$49,340Estimated 4-year total cost
$12,335Average annual net price (after aid)
$51,0164-year tuition
$11,550Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$2,400Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$26,704Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$106,816Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Chicago State University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

57.86% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
78.13% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Chicago State University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Chicago State University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$9,032$15,424$10,373
2014$9,846$16,806$11,125
2015$9,994$16,954$11,689
2016$10,252$17,212$13,016
2017$10,252$17,212$12,592
2018$10,163$17,123$11,365
2019$11,366$18,734$11,733
2020$11,204$11,204$12,681
2021$11,366$11,204$8,969
2022$12,018$12,018$6,916
2023$12,754$12,754$10,133

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

43.26%Acceptance rate
9,458Total applicants
3,832Students admitted
223First-time students enrolled
5.82%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Chicago State University reported total enrollment of about 1,384 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 30% male and 70% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (76.9%), Hispanic or Latino (9.8%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (5.9%). About 57.86% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 42.0% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

68.6% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Chicago State University in 2024 is 1,384 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,891 students. Graduate enrollment is about 737 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

57.3%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

76.9%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American76.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino9.8%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien3.0%
  • White or Caucasian2.7%
  • Asian1.1%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.0%
  • Two or More Races0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.45% 100% Completion Time

15.49% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.45% of students graduating from Chicago State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Computer Science: 67% male / 33% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 40% male / 60% female
  • Psychology, General: 21% male / 79% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

272Black or African American
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • Black or African American272
  • White or Caucasian29
  • Hispanic or Latino25
  • Asian12
  • Two or More Races12
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Chicago State University graduates earn a median of $42,778 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Chicago State University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $42,778. Median federal loan debt: $30,625. Average net price used in cost models: $12,335.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Chicago State University graduates report median earnings of $42,778 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

767%Modeled return on investment
$30,625Median student debt
$42,778Median annual earnings (10 years)
71.59%Debt-to-earnings ratio
7.2 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Chicago State University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (40 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Computer Science 64
  2. Pharmacy 36
  3. Social Work 26

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Chicago State University.

Employment Outcomes

$42,778Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$33,805Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$40,125Median earnings (8 years after entry)
89.03%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Chicago State University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Chicago State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$7.7M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $7.6M

Year change: $82,471

  • Illinois median 0.27× the median ($28.5M)
  • Great Lakes median 0.24× the median ($31.8M)
  • U.S. median 0.29× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $4,115

  • Illinois median 0.27× the median ($15,173)
  • Great Lakes median 0.25× the median ($16,690)
  • U.S. median 0.34× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Illinois median 49.2 pp above median (50.8%)
    • Great Lakes median 41.9 pp above median (58.1%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,878
    • Illinois median near the median ($8,563)
    • Great Lakes median 1.1× the median ($8,046)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $28,026
    • Illinois median 3.7× the median ($7,575)
    • Great Lakes median 3.6× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 3.8× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Chicago State University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Chicago State University

Chicago, IL 60628-1598 · Public · Great Lakes

Chicago State University is a public institution in Chicago, IL, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$12,754
Avg. net price$12,335
Enrollment1,384
Acceptance rate43.26%
Completion (150%)15.49%
Pell Grant share57.86%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Computer ScienceBusiness Administration and Management, GeneralPsychology, General
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American76.9%
Hispanic or Latino9.8%
Race/ethnicity unknown5.9%
Nearby

Schools near Chicago State University

Other campuses in Chicago, IL when available, plus nearby institutions in Illinois.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Illinois, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Chicago State University located?

Chicago State University is located in Chicago, IL.

What is Chicago State University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Chicago State University is 43.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 9,458 applicants and 3,832 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Chicago State University's tuition?

Chicago State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $12,754 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,335 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Chicago State University cost?

Reported tuition is $12,754 and average net price is $12,335 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,550 annually.

Why is Chicago State University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Chicago State University, published tuition is $12,754 while average net price is $12,335—about 3% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Chicago State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,335), completion (15.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($42,778). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Chicago State University?

Chicago State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,891 students, Black or African American (76.9%), Hispanic or Latino (9.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Chicago State University?

About 42.0% of students at Chicago State University are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of Chicago State University earn?

Median earnings are $33,805 six years after entry and $42,778 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Chicago State University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 15.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Chicago State University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $30,625.

Is Chicago State University public or private?

Chicago State University is a public institution located in Chicago, IL.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.