Clinton College
Rock Hill, SC 29730
About Clinton College
Clinton College is a private university in Rock Hill, South Carolina, enrolling about 126 students. Clinton College awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $11,136 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $30,180 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Clinton College charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($11,136).
- Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is 14% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 14.05%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $30,180.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Clinton College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 558% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clinton College | $11,136 | $11,458 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| South Carolina (state median) | $12,978 | $11,376 | 63 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Clinton College really?
Key findings
- Clinton College charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition ($11,136).
- Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is 14% below.
Clinton College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $11,136
Finding Clinton College charges about 0.4× the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $11,136. That is about 0.4× the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the South Carolina median ($12,978), sticker tuition is 14% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 6% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Clinton College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Clinton College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Clinton College is $11,458.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $11,458 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $82 above the South Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $3,513 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Clinton College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Clinton College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Clinton College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$11,136
Avg. net price
$11,458
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,105 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $11,999 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $6,854 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $12,222 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $44,544. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Clinton College is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General9
- Religion/Religious Studies5
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies3
- Biological and Physical Sciences3
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Clinton College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Clinton College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Clinton College.
Campus
Location
Rock Hill, SC
City / state
- ZIP
- 29730
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 23% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers
Size
Enrollment
126
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 180
- Full-time share
- 98%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$28,987
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 76.77%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Clinton College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Clinton College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Clinton College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $4,900 | $4,900 | $4,758 |
| 2014 | $5,320 | $5,320 | $7,173 |
| 2015 | $7,251 | $7,251 | $8,180 |
| 2016 | $7,894 | $7,894 | $10,941 |
| 2017 | $7,949 | $7,949 | $13,804 |
| 2018 | $10,020 | $10,020 | $16,129 |
| 2019 | $10,020 | $10,020 | $15,393 |
| 2020 | $10,020 | $10,020 | $15,653 |
| 2021 | $10,020 | $10,020 | $8,070 |
| 2022 | $10,516 | $10,516 | $15,853 |
| 2023 | $10,516 | $10,516 | $14,501 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Clinton College reported total enrollment of about 126 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (90.5%), Hispanic or Latino (4.0%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (3.2%). About 76.77% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 39.6% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
97.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Clinton College in 2024 is 126 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 180 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
58.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
83.33% 100% Completion Time
14.05% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 83.33% of students graduating from Clinton College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 33% male / 67% female
- Religion/Religious Studies: 0% male / 100% female
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 0% male / 100% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Clinton College graduates earn a median of $30,180 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Clinton College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $30,180. Median federal loan debt: $28,987. Average net price used in cost models: $11,458.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Clinton College graduates report median earnings of $30,180 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Clinton College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Clinton College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Clinton College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Clinton College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$591,359
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- South Carolina median 0.05× the median ($12.8M)
- Southeast median 0.03× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 0.02× the median ($26.4M)
- South Carolina median 0.56× the median ($7,041)
- Southeast median 0.42× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 0.33× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- South Carolina median 39.3 pp above median (60.7%)
- Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,295
- South Carolina median 0.78× the median ($6,831)
- Southeast median 0.78× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 0.70× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $17,293
- South Carolina median 2.1× the median ($8,125)
- Southeast median 2.6× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 2.4× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Clinton College at a glance
Clinton College
Clinton College is a private non-profit institution in Rock Hill, SC, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Medical Schools and Centers.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralReligion/Religious StudiesLiberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American90.5%Hispanic or Latino4.0%Race/ethnicity unknown3.2%
Schools near Clinton College
Other campuses in Rock Hill, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Clinton College located?
Clinton College is located in Rock Hill, SC.
What is Clinton College's tuition?
Clinton College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $11,136 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $11,458 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Clinton College cost?
Reported tuition is $11,136 and average net price is $11,458 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $13,500 annually.
What explains Clinton College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($11,458), completion (14.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($30,180). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Clinton College?
Clinton College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 180 students, Black or African American (90.5%), Hispanic or Latino (4.0%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Clinton College?
About 39.6% of students at Clinton College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Clinton College earn?
Median earnings are $24,047 six years after entry and $30,180 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Clinton College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 14.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Clinton College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $28,987.
Is Clinton College public or private?
Clinton College is a private nonprofit institution located in Rock Hill, SC.
Is Clinton College an HBCU?
Yes. Clinton College is flagged as a historically Black college or university (HBCU) in IPEDS.
Is Clinton College a tribal college?
No. Clinton College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.