Coker University
Hartsville, SC 29550
About Coker University
Coker University is a private research university in Hartsville, South Carolina, enrolling about 840 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 93.96% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,117 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Coker University charges 14% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($33,416).
- Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 2.6×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 39.53%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,117.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Coker University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 394% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coker University | $33,416 | $20,286 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| South Carolina (state median) | $12,978 | $11,376 | 63 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 39% below published tuition at Coker University
Key findings
- Coker University's average net price ($20,286) is 39% below published tuition ($33,416).
- Coker University charges 14% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($33,416).
- Versus the South Carolina median, sticker tuition is about 2.6×.
Coker University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $33,416
Finding Coker University charges 14% above the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $33,416. That is 14% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the South Carolina median ($12,978), sticker tuition is about 2.6×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Coker University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Coker University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Coker University is $20,286.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,286 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $8,910 above the South Carolina median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $5,315 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Coker University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 39% lower after grants and scholarships.
Coker University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Coker University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$33,416
Avg. net price
$20,286
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $16,789 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,138 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $18,227 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $24,421 |
| $110,001+ | $24,160 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $133,664. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Coker University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General21
- Criminology19
- Business/Commerce, General18
- Sport and Fitness Administration/Management16
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology13
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 16% of admitted students enrolled.
- Midpoint ACT: 20
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Coker University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Coker University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Coker University.
Campus
Location
Hartsville, SC
City / state
- ZIP
- 29550
- NCES locale
- Town distant
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 36% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus
Size
Enrollment
840
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 1,356
- Graduate
- 105
- Full-time share
- 96%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$26,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 25.70%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Coker University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Coker University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Coker University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $24,579 | $24,579 | $16,175 |
| 2014 | $25,536 | $25,536 | $14,588 |
| 2015 | $26,568 | $26,568 | $16,868 |
| 2016 | $27,624 | $27,624 | $15,550 |
| 2017 | $28,684 | $28,684 | $15,872 |
| 2018 | $29,548 | $29,548 | $17,979 |
| 2019 | $30,196 | $30,196 | $13,472 |
| 2020 | $31,524 | $31,524 | $16,975 |
| 2021 | $31,524 | $31,524 | $19,890 |
| 2022 | $31,764 | $31,764 | $16,290 |
| 2023 | $31,854 | $31,854 | $18,045 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Midpoint 20 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Coker University reported total enrollment of about 840 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (48.0%), Black or African American (19.5%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (14.6%). About 25.70% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.6% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
96.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Coker University in 2024 is 840 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 1,356 students. Graduate enrollment is about 105 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
69.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
32.43% 100% Completion Time
39.53% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 32.43% of students graduating from Coker University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 43% male / 57% female
- Criminology: 42% male / 58% female
- Business/Commerce, General: 39% male / 61% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Coker University graduates earn a median of $40,117 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Coker University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,117. Median federal loan debt: $26,000. Average net price used in cost models: $20,286.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Coker University graduates report median earnings of $40,117 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Coker University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (35 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Coker University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Coker University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Coker University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$33.7M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- South Carolina median 2.6× the median ($12.8M)
- Southeast median 1.7× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($26.4M)
- South Carolina median 5.2× the median ($7,041)
- Southeast median 4.0× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 3.0× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 41.6%
- South Carolina median 19.2 pp below median (60.7%)
- Southeast median 17.9 pp below median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 16.4 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,977
- South Carolina median 0.87× the median ($6,831)
- Southeast median 0.88× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 0.78× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $6,216
- South Carolina median 0.77× the median ($8,125)
- Southeast median 0.94× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 0.85× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Coker University at a glance
Coker University
Coker University is a private non-profit institution in Hartsville, SC, classified as Baccalaureate Colleges: Arts & Sciences Focus.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralCriminologyBusiness/Commerce, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian48.0%Black or African American19.5%Race/ethnicity unknown14.6%
Schools near Coker University
Other campuses in Hartsville, SC when available, plus nearby institutions in South Carolina.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within South Carolina, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Coker University located?
Coker University is located in Hartsville, SC.
What is Coker University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Coker University is 94.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,121 applicants and 1,090 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Coker University's tuition?
Coker University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $33,416 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,286 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Coker University cost?
Reported tuition is $33,416 and average net price is $20,286 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,114 annually.
Why is Coker University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Coker University, published tuition is $33,416 while average net price is $20,286—about 39% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Coker University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,286), completion (39.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,117). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Coker University?
Coker University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 1,356 students, White (48.0%), Black or African American (19.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Coker University?
About 37.6% of students at Coker University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Coker University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Coker University reports midpoint ACT about 20.
What do graduates of Coker University earn?
Median earnings are $36,650 six years after entry and $40,117 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Coker University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 39.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Coker University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,000.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.