Colby-Sawyer College
New London, NH 03257-7835
About Colby-Sawyer College
Colby-Sawyer College is a private research university in New London, New Hampshire, enrolling about 771 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 80.08% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,474 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Colby-Sawyer College charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($19,125).
- Versus the New Hampshire median, sticker tuition is 21% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 57.45%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,474.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Colby-Sawyer College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 324% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Colby-Sawyer College | $19,125 | $27,431 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| New Hampshire (state median) | $15,838 | $15,621 | 21 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Colby-Sawyer College really?
Key findings
- Colby-Sawyer College charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($19,125).
- Versus the New Hampshire median, sticker tuition is 21% above.
Colby-Sawyer College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $19,125
Finding Colby-Sawyer College charges 35% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $19,125. That is 35% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New Hampshire median ($15,838), sticker tuition is 21% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 61% above.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Colby-Sawyer College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Colby-Sawyer College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Colby-Sawyer College is $27,431.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,431 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $11,810 above the New Hampshire median net price.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Colby-Sawyer College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Colby-Sawyer College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Colby-Sawyer College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$19,125
Avg. net price
$27,431
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $22,456 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $19,687 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $24,437 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $27,412 |
| $110,001+ | $29,679 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $76,500. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Colby-Sawyer College is known for
Top program completions
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse98
- Business/Commerce, General35
- Business Administration and Management, General22
- Psychology, General13
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology11
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 12% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Colby-Sawyer College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Colby-Sawyer College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Colby-Sawyer College.
Campus
Location
New London, NH
City / state
- ZIP
- 03257-7835
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- New England
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
771
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 970
- Graduate
- 114
- Full-time share
- 93%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$27,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 22.78%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Colby-Sawyer College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Colby-Sawyer College was 0.30%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Colby-Sawyer College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $37,300 | $37,300 | $22,644 |
| 2014 | $38,040 | $38,040 | $20,295 |
| 2015 | $38,860 | $38,860 | $24,315 |
| 2016 | $39,450 | $39,450 | $25,851 |
| 2017 | $41,186 | $41,186 | $27,085 |
| 2018 | $42,398 | $42,398 | $26,950 |
| 2019 | $43,646 | $43,646 | $26,983 |
| 2020 | $44,930 | $44,930 | $26,973 |
| 2021 | $46,254 | $46,254 | $26,408 |
| 2022 | $47,164 | $47,164 | $27,798 |
| 2023 | $18,400 | $18,400 | $25,857 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Colby-Sawyer College reported total enrollment of about 771 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 31% male and 69% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (77.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (11.9%), and Black or African American (3.8%). About 22.78% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 24.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
92.6% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Colby-Sawyer College in 2024 is 771 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 970 students. Graduate enrollment is about 114 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
76.7%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
14.47% 100% Completion Time
57.45% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 14.47% of students graduating from Colby-Sawyer College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 11% male / 89% female
- Business/Commerce, General: 43% male / 57% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 55% male / 45% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Colby-Sawyer College graduates earn a median of $46,474 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Colby-Sawyer College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,474. Median federal loan debt: $27,000. Average net price used in cost models: $27,431.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Colby-Sawyer College graduates report median earnings of $46,474 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Colby-Sawyer College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (27 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Colby-Sawyer College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Colby-Sawyer College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Colby-Sawyer College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$65.8M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- New Hampshire median 4.2× the median ($15.7M)
- New England median 1.5× the median ($42.9M)
- U.S. median 2.5× the median ($26.4M)
- New Hampshire median 6.9× the median ($10,392)
- New England median 3.1× the median ($23,268)
- U.S. median 5.9× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
- New Hampshire median 68.0 pp above median (32.0%)
- New England median 46.7 pp above median (53.3%)
- U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,194
- New Hampshire median 0.88× the median ($8,148)
- New England median 0.78× the median ($9,262)
- U.S. median 0.94× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,406
- New Hampshire median 1.1× the median ($8,614)
- New England median 0.92× the median ($10,182)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Colby-Sawyer College at a glance
Colby-Sawyer College
Colby-Sawyer College is a private non-profit institution in New London, NH, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Registered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness/Commerce, GeneralBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian77.8%Race/ethnicity unknown11.9%Black or African American3.8%
Schools near Colby-Sawyer College
Other campuses in New London, NH when available, plus nearby institutions in New Hampshire.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within New Hampshire, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Colby-Sawyer College located?
Colby-Sawyer College is located in New London, NH.
What is Colby-Sawyer College's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Colby-Sawyer College is 80.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 1,557 applicants and 1,401 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Colby-Sawyer College's tuition?
Colby-Sawyer College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $19,125 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,431 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Colby-Sawyer College cost?
Reported tuition is $19,125 and average net price is $27,431 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $17,364 annually.
What explains Colby-Sawyer College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,431), completion (57.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,474). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Colby-Sawyer College?
Colby-Sawyer College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 970 students, White (77.8%), Race/ethnicity unknown (11.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Colby-Sawyer College?
About 24.1% of students at Colby-Sawyer College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Colby-Sawyer College earn?
Median earnings are $37,935 six years after entry and $46,474 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Colby-Sawyer College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 57.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Colby-Sawyer College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $27,000.
Is Colby-Sawyer College public or private?
Colby-Sawyer College is a private nonprofit institution located in New London, NH.
Is Colby-Sawyer College an HBCU?
No. Colby-Sawyer College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.