Active Report Report ID: EDU-190503-2026

Culinary Institute of America

Hyde Park, NY 12538-1499

Acceptance rate91.15%Broad access
Tuition$39,850Published sticker
Avg. net price$36,113After aid
Graduation rate62.92%150% time
Median salary$47,47510yr post-entry

About Culinary Institute of America

Culinary Institute of America is a private two-year college in Hyde Park, New York, serving roughly 3,011 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $36,113 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $39,850. Student demographics in federal data include White (45.9%) and Hispanic or Latino (21.6%) among the largest enrollment groups.

Key findings

  • Culinary Institute of America charges 36% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($39,850).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 2.9×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 62.92%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $47,475.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Culinary Institute of America is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 229% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Culinary Institute of America$39,850$36,1131
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
New York (state median)$13,810$9,373272
Rural (locale median)$14,160$18,7001,649
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 9% below published tuition at Culinary Institute of America

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Culinary Institute of America's average net price ($36,113) is 9% below published tuition ($39,850).
  • Culinary Institute of America charges 36% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($39,850).
  • Versus the New York median, sticker tuition is about 2.9×.
Published sticker

Culinary Institute of America tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $39,850

Finding Culinary Institute of America charges 36% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $39,850. That is 36% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the New York median ($13,810), sticker tuition is about 2.9×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 3.3×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Culinary Institute of America versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Culinary Institute of America versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Culinary Institute of America is $36,113.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $36,113 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $26,740 above the New York median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $17,413 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Culinary Institute of America’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 9% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Culinary Institute of America: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Culinary Institute of America—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$39,850

Avg. net price

$36,113

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$29,690
$30,001–$48,000$29,527
$48,001–$75,000$34,603
$75,001–$110,000$38,087
$110,001+$41,789

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $159,400. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention70.0%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$37,846Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 34% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1060

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Culinary Institute of America a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Culinary Institute of America is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Culinary Institute of America.

Campus

Location

Hyde Park, NY

City / state

ZIP
12538-1499
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is about 1.9× the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Mid East
Carnegie
Not applicable, not in Carnegie universe (not accredited or non-degree-granting)

Size

Enrollment

3,011

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
3,960
Graduate
136
Full-time share
96%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$15,750

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
28.94%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$144,452Estimated 4-year total cost
$36,113Average annual net price (after aid)
$159,4004-year tuition
$15,030Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,000Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$55,880Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$223,520Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Culinary Institute of America.

Financial Aid by Income Level

28.94% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
53.23% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Culinary Institute of America was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Culinary Institute of America in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$27,720$27,720$31,870
2014$28,240$28,240$30,606
2015$29,250$29,250$30,321
2016$30,730$30,730$30,905
2017$31,616$31,616$31,036
2018$32,720$32,720$30,262
2019$33,690$33,690$28,546
2020$34,650$34,650$27,894
2021$35,550$35,550$27,129
2022$36,620$36,620$30,130
2023$38,410$38,410$31,864

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

91.15%Acceptance rate
2,161Total applicants
1,983Students admitted
680First-time students enrolled
34.29%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1060SAT average

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.20Estimated median GPA
3.0–3.4Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Culinary Institute of America reported total enrollment of about 3,011 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 50% male and 50% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (45.9%), Hispanic or Latino (21.6%), and Black or African American (8.2%). About 28.94% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 28.3% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

96.2% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Culinary Institute of America in 2024 is 3,011 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 3,960 students. Graduate enrollment is about 136 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

70.0%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

45.9%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian45.9%
  • Hispanic or Latino21.6%
  • Black or African American8.2%
  • Non-Resident Alien7.7%
  • Asian5.9%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown5.4%
  • Two or More Races4.9%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.2%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

50.00% 100% Completion Time

62.92% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 50.00% of students graduating from Culinary Institute of America completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Culinary Arts/Chef Training: 66% male / 34% female
  • Restaurant/Food Services Management: 51% male / 49% female
  • Baking and Pastry Arts/Baker/Pastry Chef: 16% male / 84% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

499White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian499
  • Hispanic or Latino197
  • Asian100
  • Black or African American58
  • Two or More Races45
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander4
  • American Indian or Alaska Native2

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Culinary Institute of America graduates earn a median of $47,475 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Culinary Institute of America.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $47,475. Median federal loan debt: $15,750. Average net price used in cost models: $36,113.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Culinary Institute of America graduates report median earnings of $47,475 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

229%Modeled return on investment
$15,750Median student debt
$47,475Median annual earnings (10 years)
33.18%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Culinary Institute of America.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 7 programs by IPEDS completions (8 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other 43
  2. Culinary Arts and Related Services, Other 34
  3. Hospitality Administration/Management, Other 13

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Culinary Institute of America.

Employment Outcomes

$47,475Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$37,846Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$43,549Median earnings (8 years after entry)
69.44%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Culinary Institute of America graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Culinary Institute of America—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$144.3M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $151.1M

Year change: -$6.7M

  • New York median 3.8× the median ($38.1M)
  • Mid East median 3.4× the median ($42.6M)
  • U.S. median 5.5× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $37,278

  • New York median 2.4× the median ($15,424)
  • Mid East median 2.3× the median ($16,427)
  • U.S. median 3.1× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • New York median 46.2 pp above median (53.8%)
    • Mid East median 43.1 pp above median (56.9%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,143
    • New York median 1.3× the median ($8,068)
    • Mid East median 1.2× the median ($8,119)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $15,686
    • New York median 1.4× the median ($10,822)
    • Mid East median 1.7× the median ($9,164)
    • U.S. median 2.2× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Culinary Institute of America at a glance

Institution snapshot

Culinary Institute of America

Hyde Park, NY 12538-1499 · Private Non-profit · Mid East

Culinary Institute of America is a private non-profit institution in Hyde Park, NY, classified as Not applicable, not in Carnegie universe (not accredited or non-degree-granting).

Tuition$39,850
Avg. net price$36,113
Enrollment3,011
Acceptance rate91.15%
Completion (150%)62.92%
Average SAT1060
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Culinary Arts/Chef TrainingRestaurant/Food Services ManagementBaking and Pastry Arts/Baker/Pastry Chef
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian45.9%
Hispanic or Latino21.6%
Black or African American8.2%
Nearby

Schools near Culinary Institute of America

Other campuses in Hyde Park, NY when available, plus nearby institutions in New York.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C) within New York, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Culinary Institute of America located?

Culinary Institute of America is located in Hyde Park, NY.

What is Culinary Institute of America's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Culinary Institute of America is 91.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,161 applicants and 1,983 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Culinary Institute of America's tuition?

Culinary Institute of America tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $39,850 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $36,113 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Culinary Institute of America cost?

Reported tuition is $39,850 and average net price is $36,113 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,030 annually.

Why is Culinary Institute of America's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Culinary Institute of America, published tuition is $39,850 while average net price is $36,113—about 9% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Culinary Institute of America's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($36,113), completion (62.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($47,475). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Culinary Institute of America?

Culinary Institute of America reports undergraduate enrollment of about 3,960 students, White (45.9%), Hispanic or Latino (21.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Culinary Institute of America?

About 28.3% of students at Culinary Institute of America are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Culinary Institute of America?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Culinary Institute of America reports midpoint SAT about 1060.

What do graduates of Culinary Institute of America earn?

Median earnings are $37,846 six years after entry and $47,475 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Culinary Institute of America?

The 150%-time completion rate is 62.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Culinary Institute of America students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $15,750.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.