Active Report Report ID: EDU-457226-2026

Horizon University

Indianapolis, IN 46236-2622

Tuition$9,840Published sticker
Avg. net price$27,202After aid
Graduation rate28.57%150% time
Median salary$46,81310yr post-entry
ROI330%10yr vs net cost

About Horizon University

Horizon University is a private trade and vocational school in Indianapolis, Indiana, enrolling about 63 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. Typical net price after grant aid is about $27,202 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $9,840. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,813 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Horizon University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($9,840).
  • Versus the Indiana median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 28.57%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,813.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Horizon University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 330% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Horizon University$9,840$27,2021
Private Non-profit (national median)$30,216—1,451
Indiana (state median)$10,095$9,75293
Rural (locale median)$14,346$18,8821,649
United States (national median)$12,200$17,569—

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Horizon University really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Horizon University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition ($9,840).
  • Versus the Indiana median, sticker tuition is 3% below.
Published sticker

Horizon University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $9,840

Finding Horizon University charges about 0.3× the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $9,840. That is about 0.3× the national private non-profit median ($30,216). Versus the Indiana median ($10,095), sticker tuition is 3% below. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 19% below.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Horizon University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Horizon University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Horizon University is $27,202.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $27,202 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $17,450 above the Indiana median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $8,320 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Horizon University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Horizon University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Horizon University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$9,840

Avg. net price

$27,202

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$30,001–$48,000$27,202

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $39,360. See cost investigation.

What Horizon University is known for

Top program completions

  1. Bible/Biblical Studies10
  2. Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor1
  3. Lay Ministry1
  4. Organizational Leadership1

See earnings & programs for more.

Is Horizon University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Horizon University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Horizon University.

Campus

Location

Indianapolis, IN

City / state

ZIP
46236-2622
NCES locale
Rural fringe

Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 44% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,882 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Great Lakes
Carnegie
Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions

Size

Enrollment

63

Undergraduates (fall)

Undergraduates (full year)
72
Graduate
7
Full-time share
51%

Student aid

Debt & aid

Pell grant share
19.67%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$108,808Estimated 4-year total cost
$27,202Average annual net price (after aid)
$39,3604-year tuition
$12,430Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,540Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$23,810Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$95,240Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Horizon University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

19.67% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
3.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Horizon University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Horizon University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$9,250$9,250—
2014$9,250$9,250—
2015$9,150$9,150—
2016$9,150$9,150—
2017$9,300$9,300—
2018$9,300$9,300—
2019$9,300$9,300—
2020$9,300$9,300—
2021$9,300$9,300$15,090
2022$9,840$9,840$25,310
2023$9,840$9,840—

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Horizon University reported total enrollment of about 63 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 65% male and 35% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (85.7%), Two or More Races (4.8%), and Black or African American (3.2%). About 19.67% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

50.8% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Horizon University in 2024 is 63 students.

Over a full year, about 72 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 7 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

N/A%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

85.7%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian85.7%
  • Two or More Races4.8%
  • Black or African American3.2%
  • Hispanic or Latino3.2%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1.6%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.6%
  • Asian0.0%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

N/A 100% Completion Time

28.57% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, N/A of students graduating from Horizon University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Bible/Biblical Studies: 90% male / 10% female
  • Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor: 100% male / 0% female
  • Lay Ministry: 100% male / 0% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

9White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian9
  • Hispanic or Latino2
  • Asian1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander1
  • Black or African American0
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0
  • Two or More Races0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Horizon University graduates earn a median of $46,813 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Horizon University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,813. Average net price used in cost models: $27,202.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Horizon University graduates report median earnings of $46,813 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

330%Modeled return on investment
$46,813Median annual earnings (10 years)

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 4 programs by IPEDS completions (5 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Bible/Biblical Studies 10
  2. Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language Instructor 1
  3. Lay Ministry 1

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Horizon University.

Employment Outcomes

$46,813Median earnings (10 years after entry)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Horizon University graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Horizon University—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,661
    • Indiana median 0.38× the median ($7,011)
    • Great Lakes median 0.35× the median ($7,690)
    • U.S. median 0.37× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

Horizon University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Horizon University

Indianapolis, IN 46236-2622 · Private Non-profit · Great Lakes

Horizon University is a private non-profit institution in Indianapolis, IN, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.

Tuition$9,840
Avg. net price$27,202
Enrollment63
Completion (150%)28.57%
Pell Grant share19.67%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Bible/Biblical StudiesTeaching English as a Second or Foreign Language/ESL Language InstructorLay Ministry
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian85.7%
Two or More Races4.8%
Black or African American3.2%
Nearby

Schools near Horizon University

Other campuses in Indianapolis, IN when available, plus nearby institutions in Indiana.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Indiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Horizon University located?

Horizon University is located in Indianapolis, IN.

What is Horizon University's tuition?

Horizon University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,840 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $27,202 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Horizon University cost?

Reported tuition is $9,840 and average net price is $27,202 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,430 annually.

What explains Horizon University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($27,202), completion (28.6% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,813). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Horizon University?

Horizon University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 72 students, White (85.7%), Two or More Races (4.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.

What do graduates of Horizon University earn?

Median earnings are N/A six years after entry and $46,813 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Horizon University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 28.6% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

Is Horizon University public or private?

Horizon University is a private nonprofit institution located in Indianapolis, IN.

Is Horizon University an HBCU?

No. Horizon University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is Horizon University a tribal college?

No. Horizon University is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Is Horizon University religiously affiliated?

Yes. IPEDS reports a religious affiliation for Horizon University: Other (none of the above).

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.