Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, ID 83501-2698
About Lewis-Clark State College
Lewis-Clark State College is a public research university in Lewiston, Idaho, enrolling about 2,385 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 87.69% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,001 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Lewis-Clark State College charges 38% above the national public median tuition ($7,610).
- Versus the Idaho median, sticker tuition is 16% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 40.17%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,001.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Lewis-Clark State College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 636% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Lewis-Clark State College awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 73 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lewis-Clark State College | $7,610 | $15,635 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Idaho (state median) | $9,048 | $11,384 | 15 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Lewis-Clark State College really?
Key findings
- Lewis-Clark State College charges 38% above the national public median tuition ($7,610).
- Versus the Idaho median, sticker tuition is 16% below.
Lewis-Clark State College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $7,610
Finding Lewis-Clark State College charges 38% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $7,610. That is 38% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Idaho median ($9,048), sticker tuition is 16% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 36% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Lewis-Clark State College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Lewis-Clark State College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Lewis-Clark State College is $15,635.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $15,635 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $4,251 above the Idaho median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $664 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Lewis-Clark State College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Lewis-Clark State College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Lewis-Clark State College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$7,610
Out-of-state tuition
$22,028
Avg. net price
$15,635
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $13,080 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $14,044 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $15,127 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $17,934 |
| $110,001+ | $19,004 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $30,440. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Lewis-Clark State College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies199
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse185
- Business Administration and Management, General51
- Social Work43
- Radiologic Technology/Science - Radiographer34
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 11% of admitted students enrolled.
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Lewis-Clark State College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Lewis-Clark State College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Lewis-Clark State College.
Campus
Location
Lewiston, ID
City / state
- ZIP
- 83501-2698
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 4% above the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Rocky Mountains
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
2,385
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 4,754
- Graduate
- 8
- Full-time share
- 78%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$18,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 24.28%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Lewis-Clark State College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Lewis-Clark State College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Lewis-Clark State College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $5,786 | $16,096 | $12,152 |
| 2014 | $8,624 | $19,142 | $12,029 |
| 2015 | $7,224 | $18,224 | $14,916 |
| 2016 | $6,120 | $17,620 | $11,027 |
| 2017 | $6,334 | $18,410 | $11,152 |
| 2018 | $6,618 | $19,236 | $9,988 |
| 2019 | $6,982 | $19,978 | $11,046 |
| 2020 | $6,982 | $20,238 | $10,775 |
| 2021 | $6,982 | $20,238 | $12,962 |
| 2022 | $6,999 | $20,252 | $11,695 |
| 2023 | $7,388 | $21,386 | $12,832 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Lewis-Clark State College reported total enrollment of about 2,385 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 36% male and 64% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (71.4%), Hispanic or Latino (9.7%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (7.5%). About 24.28% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 40.5% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
78.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Lewis-Clark State College in 2024 is 2,385 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,754 students. Graduate enrollment is about 8 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
61.1%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
21.89% 100% Completion Time
40.17% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 21.89% of students graduating from Lewis-Clark State College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 26% male / 74% female
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse: 12% male / 88% female
- Business Administration and Management, General: 55% male / 45% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Lewis-Clark State College graduates earn a median of $46,001 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Lewis-Clark State College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,001. Median federal loan debt: $18,500. Average net price used in cost models: $15,635.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Lewis-Clark State College graduates report median earnings of $46,001 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Lewis-Clark State College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (73 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Lewis-Clark State College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Lewis-Clark State College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Lewis-Clark State College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$12.8M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Idaho median 0.25× the median ($50.8M)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.66× the median ($19.5M)
- U.S. median 0.48× the median ($26.4M)
- Idaho median 0.61× the median ($8,818)
- Rocky Mountains median 0.52× the median ($10,274)
- U.S. median 0.44× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 95.5%
- Idaho median 33.6 pp above median (61.9%)
- Rocky Mountains median 22.2 pp above median (73.3%)
- U.S. median 37.6 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,551
- Idaho median near the median ($7,474)
- Rocky Mountains median near the median ($7,458)
- U.S. median near the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,626
- Idaho median 1.8× the median ($5,490)
- Rocky Mountains median 1.4× the median ($6,852)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Lewis-Clark State College at a glance
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewis-Clark State College is a public institution in Lewiston, ID, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesRegistered Nursing/Registered NurseBusiness Administration and Management, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian71.4%Hispanic or Latino9.7%Race/ethnicity unknown7.5%
Schools near Lewis-Clark State College
Other campuses in Lewiston, ID when available, plus nearby institutions in Idaho.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Idaho, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Lewis-Clark State College located?
Lewis-Clark State College is located in Lewiston, ID.
What is Lewis-Clark State College's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Lewis-Clark State College is 87.7% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 4,256 applicants and 3,821 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Lewis-Clark State College's tuition?
Lewis-Clark State College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $7,610 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $15,635 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Lewis-Clark State College cost?
Reported tuition is $7,610 and average net price is $15,635 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $12,492 annually.
What explains Lewis-Clark State College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($15,635), completion (40.2% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,001). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Lewis-Clark State College?
Lewis-Clark State College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 4,754 students, White (71.4%), Hispanic or Latino (9.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Lewis-Clark State College?
About 40.5% of students at Lewis-Clark State College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Lewis-Clark State College earn?
Median earnings are $42,133 six years after entry and $46,001 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Lewis-Clark State College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 40.2% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Lewis-Clark State College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $18,500.
Is Lewis-Clark State College public or private?
Lewis-Clark State College is a public institution located in Lewiston, ID.
Is Lewis-Clark State College an HBCU?
No. Lewis-Clark State College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.