Active Report Report ID: EDU-159391-2026

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Baton Rouge, LA 70803-2750

Acceptance rate73.33%Broad access
Tuition$11,954Published sticker
Avg. net price$19,151After aid
Graduation rate68.81%150% time
Median salary$61,25110yr post-entry

About Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College (LSU) is a public research university in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, enrolling about 30,594 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 73.33% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $61,251 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College charges about 2.2× the national public median tuition ($11,954).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 30% above.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 68.81%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $61,251.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 700% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 123 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College$11,954$19,1511
Public (national median)$5,5121,688
Louisiana (state median)$9,181$11,45648
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College charges about 2.2× the national public median tuition ($11,954).
  • Versus the Louisiana median, sticker tuition is 30% above.
Published sticker

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $11,954

Finding Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College charges about 2.2× the national public median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $11,954. That is about 2.2× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Louisiana median ($9,181), sticker tuition is 30% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is at.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is $19,151.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $19,151 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $7,694 above the Louisiana median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $1,103 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

In-state tuition

$11,954

Out-of-state tuition

$28,631

Avg. net price

$19,151

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$13,056
$30,001–$48,000$15,696
$48,001–$75,000$20,223
$75,001–$110,000$23,878
$110,001+$26,489

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $47,816. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention84.7%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$49,218Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
  • Yield: 24% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Average SAT: 1285
  • Midpoint ACT: 26

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College.

Campus

Location

Baton Rouge, LA

City / state

ZIP
70803-2750
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 6% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Public

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity

Size

Enrollment

30,594

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
36,920
Graduate
7,463
Full-time share
95%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$20,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
26.55%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$76,604Estimated 4-year total cost
$19,151Average annual net price (after aid)
$47,8164-year in-state tuition
$114,5244-year out-of-state tuition
$15,142Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,084Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$28,180Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$112,720Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College.

Financial Aid by Income Level

26.55% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
29.90% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$7,873$25,790$11,610
2014$8,750$26,467$11,958
2015$9,714$26,877$11,355
2016$10,814$27,491$13,624
2017$11,374$28,051$18,181
2018$11,950$28,627$15,428
2019$11,962$28,639$15,465
2020$11,962$28,639$17,811
2021$11,958$28,635$18,300
2022$11,954$28,631$18,761
2023$11,954$28,631$20,015

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

73.33%Acceptance rate
42,558Total applicants
31,491Students admitted
7,521First-time students enrolled
23.88%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

1285SAT average
26ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

3.40Estimated median GPA
3.3–3.5Estimated GPA range

Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.

Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reported total enrollment of about 30,594 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 43% male and 57% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (57.5%), Black or African American (20.6%), and Hispanic or Latino (10.7%). About 26.55% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 26.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

95.4% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College in 2024 is 30,594 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 36,920 students. Graduate enrollment is about 7,463 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

84.7%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

57.5%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian57.5%
  • Black or African American20.6%
  • Hispanic or Latino10.7%
  • Asian4.6%
  • Two or More Races3.9%
  • Non-Resident Alien1.4%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown0.8%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.1%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

47.49% 100% Completion Time

68.81% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 47.49% of students graduating from Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Management Science: 60% male / 40% female
  • Physical Education Teaching and Coaching: 27% male / 73% female
  • Biology/Biological Sciences, General: 29% male / 71% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

5,380White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian5,380
  • Black or African American1,106
  • Hispanic or Latino652
  • Asian346
  • Two or More Races217
  • American Indian or Alaska Native22
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander6

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College graduates earn a median of $61,251 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $61,251. Median federal loan debt: $20,500. Average net price used in cost models: $19,151.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College graduates report median earnings of $61,251 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

700%Modeled return on investment
$20,500Median student debt
$61,251Median annual earnings (10 years)
33.47%Debt-to-earnings ratio
3.3 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (123 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Physical Education Teaching and Coaching 440
  2. Social Work 372
  3. Construction Management, General 314

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College.

Employment Outcomes

$61,251Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$49,218Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$54,621Median earnings (8 years after entry)
91.88%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$668.4M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $632.7M

Year change: $35.7M

  • Louisiana median 40× the median ($16.9M)
  • Southeast median 34× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 25× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $19,651

  • Louisiana median 6.0× the median ($3,294)
  • Southeast median 2.1× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 1.6× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 88.2%
    • Louisiana median 25.0 pp above median (63.2%)
    • Southeast median 28.8 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 30.3 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $11,474
    • Louisiana median 1.7× the median ($6,824)
    • Southeast median 1.7× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,884
    • Louisiana median 2.0× the median ($5,480)
    • Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College at a glance

Institution snapshot

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Baton Rouge, LA 70803-2750 · Public · Southeast

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is a public institution in Baton Rouge, LA, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.

Tuition$11,954
Avg. net price$19,151
Enrollment30,594
Acceptance rate73.33%
Completion (150%)68.81%
Average SAT1285
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Management SciencePhysical Education Teaching and CoachingBiology/Biological Sciences, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian57.5%
Black or African American20.6%
Hispanic or Latino10.7%
Nearby

Schools near Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College

Other campuses in Baton Rouge, LA when available, plus nearby institutions in Louisiana.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Louisiana, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is LSU located?

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is located in Baton Rouge, LA. The institution is also known as LSU.

What is LSU's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College (LSU) is 73.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 42,558 applicants and 31,491 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is LSU's tuition?

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $11,954 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $19,151 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does LSU cost?

Reported tuition is $11,954 and average net price is $19,151 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $15,142 annually.

What explains LSU's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($19,151), completion (68.8% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($61,251). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at LSU?

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 36,920 students, White (57.5%), Black or African American (20.6%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend LSU?

About 26.6% of students at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College reports midpoint SAT about 1285 and midpoint ACT about 26.

What do graduates of Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College earn?

Median earnings are $49,218 six years after entry and $61,251 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College?

The 150%-time completion rate is 68.8% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,500.

Is Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College public or private?

Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College is a public institution located in Baton Rouge, LA.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.