Active Report Report ID: EDU-139579-2026

South University-Savannah

Savannah, GA 31406

Tuition$18,145Published sticker
Avg. net price$28,743After aid
Graduation rate9.09%150% time
Median salary$34,42110yr post-entry
ROI199%10yr vs net cost

About South University-Savannah

South University-Savannah is a private for-profit university in Savannah, Georgia, enrolling about 270 students. South University-Savannah awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $18,145 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $34,421 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • South University-Savannah charges 9% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($18,145).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 2.1×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 9.09%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $34,421.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
South University-Savannah$18,145$28,7431
Private For-profit (national median)$16,637477
Georgia (state median)$8,492$9,196117
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

How expensive is South University-Savannah really?

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • South University-Savannah charges 9% above the national private for-profit median tuition ($18,145).
  • Versus the Georgia median, sticker tuition is about 2.1×.
Published sticker

South University-Savannah tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $18,145

Finding South University-Savannah charges 9% above the national private for-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $18,145. That is 9% above the national private for-profit median ($16,637). Versus the Georgia median ($8,492), sticker tuition is about 2.1×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 52% above.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private for-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at South University-Savannah versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at South University-Savannah versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at South University-Savannah is $28,743.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $28,743 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $19,546 above the Georgia median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $10,695 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway At South University-Savannah, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.

School guide

South University-Savannah: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for South University-Savannah—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$18,145

Avg. net price

$28,743

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$27,713
$30,001–$48,000$30,147
$75,001–$110,000$31,954
$110,001+$33,277

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $72,580. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention22.2%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$34,115Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Is South University-Savannah a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

South University-Savannah is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for South University-Savannah.

Campus

Location

Savannah, GA

City / state

ZIP
31406
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 59% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private For-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs

Size

Enrollment

270

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
505
Graduate
446
Full-time share
83%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$26,123

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
61.94%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$114,972Estimated 4-year total cost
$28,743Average annual net price (after aid)
$72,5804-year tuition
$9,439Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$540Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$28,124Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$112,496Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for South University-Savannah.

Financial Aid by Income Level

61.94% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
73.28% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at South University-Savannah was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for South University-Savannah in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$16,360$16,360$24,695
2014$16,360$16,360$22,710
2015$16,761$16,761$24,416
2016$17,016$17,016$23,140
2017$17,014$17,014$23,886
2018$17,014$17,014$20,463
2019$17,014$17,014$16,989
2020$17,014$17,014$23,436
2021$17,014$17,014$23,843
2022$17,014$17,014$21,449
2023$18,238$18,238$24,116

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.

Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.

Test Scores

Test score data is not available for this institution.

Score distribution is not available for this institution.

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

South University-Savannah reported total enrollment of about 270 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 24% male and 76% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (55.2%), White (18.1%), and Race/ethnicity unknown (17.4%). About 61.94% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 47.2% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

83.3% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at South University-Savannah in 2024 is 270 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 505 students. Graduate enrollment is about 446 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

22.2%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

55.2%Black or African American
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • Black or African American55.2%
  • White or Caucasian18.1%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown17.4%
  • Hispanic or Latino5.9%
  • Two or More Races1.8%
  • Asian0.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien0.0%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

8.33% 100% Completion Time

9.09% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 8.33% of students graduating from South University-Savannah completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Physician Associate/Assistant: 23% male / 77% female
  • Pharmacy: 24% male / 76% female
  • Anesthesiologist Assistant: 48% male / 52% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

145White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian145
  • Black or African American45
  • Hispanic or Latino26
  • Asian17
  • Two or More Races2
  • American Indian or Alaska Native1
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

South University-Savannah graduates earn a median of $34,421 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of South University-Savannah.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $34,421. Median federal loan debt: $26,123. Average net price used in cost models: $28,743.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway South University-Savannah graduates report median earnings of $34,421 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

199%Modeled return on investment
$26,123Median student debt
$34,421Median annual earnings (10 years)
75.89%Debt-to-earnings ratio
7.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for South University-Savannah.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (19 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Pharmacy 68

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at South University-Savannah.

Employment Outcomes

$34,421Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$34,115Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$32,897Median earnings (8 years after entry)
77.73%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for South University-Savannah graduates.

Institutional resources

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for South University-Savannah—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 65.0%
    • Georgia median 2.7 pp above median (62.3%)
    • Southeast median 5.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 7.1 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,244
    • Georgia median 1.5× the median ($6,152)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,238
    • Georgia median 1.6× the median ($5,760)
    • Southeast median 1.4× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.

South University-Savannah at a glance

Institution snapshot

South University-Savannah

Savannah, GA 31406 · Private For-profit · Southeast

South University-Savannah is a private for-profit institution in Savannah, GA, classified as Master's Colleges and Universities: Medium Programs.

Tuition$18,145
Avg. net price$28,743
Enrollment270
Completion (150%)9.09%
Pell Grant share61.94%
First-generation47.2%
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Physician Associate/AssistantPharmacyAnesthesiologist Assistant
Largest enrollment groups
Black or African American55.2%
White or Caucasian18.1%
Race/ethnicity unknown17.4%
Nearby

Schools near South University-Savannah

Other campuses in Savannah, GA when available, plus nearby institutions in Georgia.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Georgia, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is South University-Savannah located?

South University-Savannah is located in Savannah, GA.

What is South University-Savannah's tuition?

South University-Savannah tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $18,145 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $28,743 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does South University-Savannah cost?

Reported tuition is $18,145 and average net price is $28,743 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,439 annually.

What explains South University-Savannah's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($28,743), completion (9.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($34,421). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at South University-Savannah?

South University-Savannah reports undergraduate enrollment of about 505 students, Black or African American (55.2%), White (18.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend South University-Savannah?

About 47.2% of students at South University-Savannah are first-generation college students.

What do graduates of South University-Savannah earn?

Median earnings are $34,115 six years after entry and $34,421 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at South University-Savannah?

The 150%-time completion rate is 9.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do South University-Savannah students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $26,123.

Is South University-Savannah public or private?

South University-Savannah is a private for-profit institution located in Savannah, GA.

Is South University-Savannah an HBCU?

No. South University-Savannah is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.

Is South University-Savannah a tribal college?

No. South University-Savannah is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.