Active Report Report ID: EDU-137564-2026

Southeastern University

Lakeland, FL 33801-6034

Acceptance rate52.98%Selective
Tuition$32,950Published sticker
Avg. net price$31,942After aid
Graduation rate42.55%150% time
Median salary$46,74410yr post-entry

About Southeastern University

Southeastern University is a private research university in Lakeland, Florida, serving roughly 4,813 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 52.98% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $46,744 among students who received federal aid.

Key findings

  • Southeastern University charges 12% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($32,950).
  • Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
  • Completion within 150% of normal time is 42.55%.
  • Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,744.

Research findings

01

Finding

Modeled return on investment at Southeastern University is strong.

Estimated ROI reaches about 266% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.

Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.

02

Finding

Southeastern University awards credentials across a wide program mix.

IPEDS completions cover more than 75 distinct degree programs at this campus.

— Evidence from EDsmart Data analysis

Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.

Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.

Cost benchmarks

Benchmark Median Tuition Median Net Price Count
Southeastern University$32,950$31,9421
Private Non-profit (national median)$29,3251,444
Florida (state median)$16,838$7,247176
Suburban (locale median)$13,135$18,048684
United States (national median)$11,900$17,156

Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.

Cost

Average net price is 3% below published tuition at Southeastern University

Source College Scorecard + EDsmart aggregatesMethod Sticker vs net; peer mediansUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Undergraduate (Title IV net price)Confidence Federal extract

Key findings

  • Southeastern University's average net price ($31,942) is 3% below published tuition ($32,950).
  • Southeastern University charges 12% above the national private non-profit median tuition ($32,950).
  • Versus the Florida median, sticker tuition is about 2.0×.
Published sticker

Southeastern University tuition

Published undergraduate tuition $32,950

Finding Southeastern University charges 12% above the national private non-profit median tuition.

Evidence Published tuition is $32,950. That is 12% above the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Florida median ($16,838), sticker tuition is about 2.0×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 2.8×.

Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.

Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.

Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.

Evidence: published tuition at Southeastern University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Evidence: average net price at Southeastern University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.

Average net price

What undergraduates typically pay

Finding Average net price at Southeastern University is $31,942.

Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $31,942 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $24,695 above the Florida median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $13,894 above the locale median.

Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.

Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.

Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.

Key takeaway Southeastern University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 3% lower after grants and scholarships.

School guide

Southeastern University: research record

Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southeastern University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.

Research findings

Interpretation

The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.

Financial profile

Annual tuition

$32,950

Avg. net price

$31,942

Net price by family income

Income bracketAvg. annual net price
$0–$30,000$29,498
$30,001–$48,000$29,185
$48,001–$75,000$31,185
$75,001–$110,000$34,795
$110,001+$34,482

Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $131,800. See cost investigation.

Student outcomes

First-year retention69.9%

Share of first-year students returning the following fall.

$36,314Median earnings (6 years after entry)

Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.

Admissions landscape

  • Selective — about half of applicants (or fewer) are admitted.
  • Yield: 50% of admitted students enrolled.
  • Midpoint ACT: 22

See Admissions for the full funnel.

Is Southeastern University a good school?

Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.

Southeastern University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.

EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.

Earnings outcomes
Campus snapshot

More from the data

Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southeastern University.

Campus

Location

Lakeland, FL

City / state

ZIP
33801-6034
NCES locale
Suburb

Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is about 1.8× the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).

Control

Institution type

Private Non-profit

Control

Region
Southeast
Carnegie
Doctoral/Professional Universities

Size

Enrollment

4,813

Total enrollment

Undergraduate
13,017
Graduate
1,338
Full-time share
88%

Student aid

Debt & aid

$21,500

Median federal loan debt

Pell grant share
21.51%
Cost detail

Total Cost, Aid & Default

Total Cost of Attendance

$127,768Estimated 4-year total cost
$31,942Average annual net price (after aid)
$131,8004-year tuition
$11,130Room & board (annual, on-campus estimate)
$1,600Books & supplies (annual estimate)
$45,680Estimated annual sticker (tuition + room/board + books)
$182,720Estimated 4-year sticker (before aid)

Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southeastern University.

Financial Aid by Income Level

21.51% Undergraduates receiving aid through grants
27.82% Undergraduates receiving aid through loans

Financial aid distribution by income level.

Student Loan Default Rate

0.00% 3-year cohort default rate (College Scorecard)

The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southeastern University was 0.00%.

Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.

Multi-year tracker

Tuition tracker

Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southeastern University in that year.

Reporting years in the table below: 20132023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).

Year In-state tuition & fees Out-of-state tuition & fees Average net price
2013$19,986$19,986$18,732
2014$22,202$22,202$19,942
2015$22,840$22,840$21,534
2016$24,160$24,160$22,355
2017$25,360$25,360$23,066
2018$25,870$25,870$24,262
2019$26,620$26,620$24,909
2020$27,520$27,520$26,640
2021$28,320$28,320$27,891
2022$30,148$30,148$27,929
2023$31,732$31,732$30,209

Sticker tuition and net price over time

Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.

College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).

Net price by family income

Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).

Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.

Access

How difficult is it to get in?

Acceptance Rate

52.98%Acceptance rate
2,800Total applicants
2,080Students admitted
1,034First-time students enrolled
49.71%Yield (enrolled ÷ admitted)

This institution is selective, accepting about half of all applicants.

Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.

Test Scores

22ACT midpoint

Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).

Academic Requirements

GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.

Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.

Student body

Enrollment & Student Demographics

Southeastern University reported total enrollment of about 4,813 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 40% male and 60% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (53.0%), Hispanic or Latino (23.1%), and Black or African American (11.1%). About 21.51% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 34.6% of students are first-generation college students.

Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment

88.0% Full-Time Enrollment

The total enrollment at Southeastern University in 2024 is 4,813 students.

Undergraduate enrollment is about 13,017 students. Graduate enrollment is about 1,338 students.

Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.

Retention Rate over Time

69.9%
2024 Retention Rate

Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.

Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.

Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity

53.0%White or Caucasian
9Reported race/ethnicity groups

Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.

  • White or Caucasian53.0%
  • Hispanic or Latino23.1%
  • Black or African American11.1%
  • Two or More Races4.0%
  • Race/ethnicity unknown3.4%
  • Non-Resident Alien2.5%
  • Asian1.7%
  • American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0.4%

College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).

Outcomes

Do students complete their programs?

Time to Complete

34.90% 100% Completion Time

42.55% 150% Completion Time

In 2024, 34.90% of students graduating from Southeastern University completed their program within 100% "normal time".

Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.

Completions by Sex (Top Programs)

  • Divinity/Ministry: 51% male / 49% female
  • Organizational Leadership: 38% male / 62% female
  • Business Administration and Management, General: 48% male / 52% female

IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).

Completions by Race & Ethnicity

951White or Caucasian
7Reported groups

Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.

  • White or Caucasian951
  • Hispanic or Latino320
  • Black or African American169
  • Two or More Races50
  • Asian29
  • American Indian or Alaska Native9
  • Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander4

Summed across program completion records in our extract.

Outcomes & academic profile

Southeastern University graduates earn a median of $46,744 ten years after entry

Source College ScorecardMethod Earnings + debt + net price modelsUpdated 2026 extractCoverage Institution-wideConfidence Federal extract

Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southeastern University.

Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,744. Median federal loan debt: $21,500. Average net price used in cost models: $31,942.

Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.

Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.

Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.

Key takeaway Southeastern University graduates report median earnings of $46,744 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.

Return on Investment

266%Modeled return on investment
$21,500Median student debt
$46,744Median annual earnings (10 years)
46.00%Debt-to-earnings ratio
4.6 yearsEstimated payback period

Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southeastern University.

Top Programs by Completions

Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (75 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).

  1. Social Work 63

IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southeastern University.

Employment Outcomes

$46,744Median earnings (10 years after entry)
$36,314Median earnings (6 years after entry)
$41,826Median earnings (8 years after entry)
83.36%Working & not enrolled (8-year cohort share)

Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southeastern University graduates.

How financially powerful is this institution?

Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southeastern University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.

Institutional endowment

$9.8M

End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023

Start of year: $10.3M

Year change: -$528,651

  • Florida median 0.27× the median ($35.9M)
  • Southeast median 0.50× the median ($19.4M)
  • U.S. median 0.37× the median ($26.4M)

Per FTE: $1,504

  • Florida median 0.19× the median ($7,784)
  • Southeast median 0.16× the median ($9,308)
  • U.S. median 0.12× the median ($12,100)

Instructional Resources

  • Full-time faculty share: 100.0%
    • Florida median 51.8 pp above median (48.2%)
    • Southeast median 40.6 pp above median (59.4%)
    • U.S. median 42.0 pp above median (58.0%)
  • Average faculty salary (monthly): $7,041
    • Florida median near the median ($6,877)
    • Southeast median near the median ($6,825)
    • U.S. median 0.92× the median ($7,615)
  • Instructional expenditure per FTE: $3,698
    • Florida median 0.64× the median ($5,803)
    • Southeast median 0.56× the median ($6,602)
    • U.S. median 0.51× the median ($7,288)

Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.

Southeastern University at a glance

Institution snapshot

Southeastern University

Lakeland, FL 33801-6034 · Private Non-profit · Southeast

Southeastern University is a private non-profit institution in Lakeland, FL, classified as Doctoral/Professional Universities.

Tuition$32,950
Avg. net price$31,942
Enrollment4,813
Acceptance rate52.98%
Completion (150%)42.55%
Average ACT22
Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
Divinity/MinistryOrganizational LeadershipBusiness Administration and Management, General
Largest enrollment groups
White or Caucasian53.0%
Hispanic or Latino23.1%
Black or African American11.1%
Nearby

Schools near Southeastern University

Other campuses in Lakeland, FL when available, plus nearby institutions in Florida.

Peers

Similar schools

Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Florida, then by similar ownership and admissions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Southeastern University located?

Southeastern University is located in Lakeland, FL.

What is Southeastern University's acceptance rate?

The acceptance rate at Southeastern University is 53.0% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 2,800 applicants and 2,080 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.

What is Southeastern University's tuition?

Southeastern University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $32,950 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $31,942 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.

How much does Southeastern University cost?

Reported tuition is $32,950 and average net price is $31,942 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $11,130 annually.

Why is Southeastern University's net price so much lower than tuition?

At Southeastern University, published tuition is $32,950 while average net price is $31,942—about 3% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.

What explains Southeastern University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?

EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($31,942), completion (42.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,744). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.

What is the student body demographics at Southeastern University?

Southeastern University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 13,017 students, White (53.0%), Hispanic or Latino (23.1%) in federal College Scorecard data.

How many first-generation students attend Southeastern University?

About 34.6% of students at Southeastern University are first-generation college students.

What test scores do students need for Southeastern University?

Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Southeastern University reports midpoint ACT about 22.

What do graduates of Southeastern University earn?

Median earnings are $36,314 six years after entry and $46,744 ten years after entry.

What is the graduation rate at Southeastern University?

The 150%-time completion rate is 42.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.

How much debt do Southeastern University students have?

Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,500.

Data Sources

This page uses data from the following sources:

Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.

Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.

Methodology & Data Scope

This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.

Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.