Southwestern Christian University
Bethany, OK 73008
About Southwestern Christian University
Southwestern Christian University is a private research university in Bethany, Oklahoma, enrolling about 377 students. Southwestern Christian University awards degrees and certificates tracked in federal College Scorecard and IPEDS reporting. Published tuition for full-time study is about $21,900 per year before aid; net price varies by family income. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $40,391 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Southwestern Christian University charges 25% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($21,900).
- Versus the Oklahoma median, sticker tuition is about 2.8×.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 16.13%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $40,391.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Southwestern Christian University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 401% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southwestern Christian University | $21,900 | $20,146 | 1 |
| Private Non-profit (national median) | $29,325 | — | 1,444 |
| Oklahoma (state median) | $7,921 | $10,956 | 42 |
| Rural (locale median) | $14,160 | $18,700 | 1,649 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
Average net price is 8% below published tuition at Southwestern Christian University
Key findings
- Southwestern Christian University's average net price ($20,146) is 8% below published tuition ($21,900).
- Southwestern Christian University charges 25% below the national private non-profit median tuition ($21,900).
- Versus the Oklahoma median, sticker tuition is about 2.8×.
Southwestern Christian University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $21,900
Finding Southwestern Christian University charges 25% below the national private non-profit median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $21,900. That is 25% below the national private non-profit median ($29,325). Versus the Oklahoma median ($7,921), sticker tuition is about 2.8×. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 1.8×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to private non-profit and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Southwestern Christian University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Southwestern Christian University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Southwestern Christian University is $20,146.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $20,146 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,190 above the Oklahoma median net price. Versus rural campuses, net price runs $1,446 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway Southwestern Christian University’s published tuition substantially overstates typical undergraduate cost: average net price is about 8% lower after grants and scholarships.
Southwestern Christian University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Southwestern Christian University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$21,900
Avg. net price
$20,146
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,830 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $16,903 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $18,700 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $22,401 |
| $110,001+ | $26,620 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $87,600. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Southwestern Christian University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General26
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology25
- Theology and Religious Vocations, Other10
- Early Childhood Education & Teaching5
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies4
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Southwestern Christian University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Southwestern Christian University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Southwestern Christian University.
Campus
Location
Bethany, OK
City / state
- ZIP
- 73008
- NCES locale
- Rural fringe
Compared with Rural campuses nationally, net price is 8% above the median for Rural campuses ($18,700 median).
Control
Institution type
Private Non-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
- Carnegie
- Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions
Size
Enrollment
377
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 417
- Graduate
- 19
- Full-time share
- 89%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$20,715
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 46.72%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Southwestern Christian University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Southwestern Christian University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Southwestern Christian University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $14,220 | $14,220 | $20,151 |
| 2014 | $12,470 | $12,470 | $17,878 |
| 2015 | $12,830 | $12,830 | $12,445 |
| 2016 | $13,080 | $13,080 | $10,473 |
| 2017 | $13,880 | $13,880 | $11,925 |
| 2018 | $15,080 | $15,080 | $12,604 |
| 2019 | $16,330 | $16,330 | $20,201 |
| 2020 | $19,114 | $19,114 | $17,655 |
| 2021 | $19,908 | $19,908 | $19,626 |
| 2022 | $21,316 | $21,316 | $18,809 |
| 2023 | $21,316 | $21,316 | $19,692 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Southwestern Christian University reported total enrollment of about 377 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 62% male and 38% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (41.6%), Non-Resident Alien (16.7%), and Black or African American (11.4%). About 46.72% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 40.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
89.1% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Southwestern Christian University in 2024 is 377 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 417 students. Graduate enrollment is about 19 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
57.9%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
9.24% 100% Completion Time
16.13% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 9.24% of students graduating from Southwestern Christian University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 65% male / 35% female
- Exercise Science and Kinesiology: 44% male / 56% female
- Theology and Religious Vocations, Other: 70% male / 30% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Southwestern Christian University graduates earn a median of $40,391 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Southwestern Christian University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $40,391. Median federal loan debt: $20,715. Average net price used in cost models: $20,146.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Southwestern Christian University graduates report median earnings of $40,391 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Southwestern Christian University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (16 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Southwestern Christian University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Southwestern Christian University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Southwestern Christian University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$2.2M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Oklahoma median 0.12× the median ($18.4M)
- Southwest median 0.09× the median ($23.2M)
- U.S. median 0.08× the median ($26.4M)
- Oklahoma median 0.64× the median ($9,743)
- Southwest median 0.62× the median ($10,113)
- U.S. median 0.52× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 32.8%
- Oklahoma median 30.8 pp below median (63.5%)
- Southwest median 27.0 pp below median (59.7%)
- U.S. median 25.2 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $5,229
- Oklahoma median 0.85× the median ($6,142)
- Southwest median 0.74× the median ($7,078)
- U.S. median 0.69× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $4,001
- Oklahoma median 0.55× the median ($7,250)
- Southwest median 0.70× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.55× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Southwestern Christian University at a glance
Southwestern Christian University
Southwestern Christian University is a private non-profit institution in Bethany, OK, classified as Special Focus Four-Year: Faith-Related Institutions.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralExercise Science and KinesiologyTheology and Religious Vocations, Other
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian41.6%Non-Resident Alien16.7%Black or African American11.4%
Schools near Southwestern Christian University
Other campuses in Bethany, OK when available, plus nearby institutions in Oklahoma.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Oklahoma, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Southwestern Christian University located?
Southwestern Christian University is located in Bethany, OK.
What is Southwestern Christian University's tuition?
Southwestern Christian University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $21,900 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $20,146 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Southwestern Christian University cost?
Reported tuition is $21,900 and average net price is $20,146 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,100 annually.
Why is Southwestern Christian University's net price so much lower than tuition?
At Southwestern Christian University, published tuition is $21,900 while average net price is $20,146—about 8% lower. Average net price subtracts grant and scholarship aid from cost of attendance for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid (College Scorecard). Institutional aid therefore compresses sticker price into a lower typical undergraduate cost signal. The campus average still masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average. EDsmart Data treats the sticker–net gap as an analytical finding, not advice about individual aid offers.
What explains Southwestern Christian University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($20,146), completion (16.1% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($40,391). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Southwestern Christian University?
Southwestern Christian University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 417 students, White (41.6%), Non-Resident Alien (16.7%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Southwestern Christian University?
About 40.4% of students at Southwestern Christian University are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Southwestern Christian University earn?
Median earnings are $34,574 six years after entry and $40,391 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Southwestern Christian University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 16.1% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Southwestern Christian University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $20,715.
Is Southwestern Christian University public or private?
Southwestern Christian University is a private nonprofit institution located in Bethany, OK.
Is Southwestern Christian University an HBCU?
No. Southwestern Christian University is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.