St Cloud Technical and Community College
Saint Cloud, MN 56303-1240
About St Cloud Technical and Community College
St Cloud Technical and Community College is a public community college in Saint Cloud, Minnesota, serving roughly 3,113 students. The college offers associate degrees, career certificates, and transfer pathways to four-year universities. Typical net price after grant aid is about $9,635 for students who receive it, compared with published tuition near $6,124. Student demographics in federal data include White (62.1%) and Black or African American (20.5%) among the largest enrollment groups.
Key findings
- St Cloud Technical and Community College charges 11% above the national public median tuition ($6,124).
- Versus the Minnesota median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
- Average net price runs below the Minnesota median net price.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 44.87%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $46,874.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at St Cloud Technical and Community College is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 1116% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| St Cloud Technical and Community College | $6,124 | $9,635 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Minnesota (state median) | $9,706 | $13,322 | 92 |
| Town (locale median) | $9,600 | $14,971 | 1,517 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is St Cloud Technical and Community College really?
Key findings
- St Cloud Technical and Community College charges 11% above the national public median tuition ($6,124).
- Versus the Minnesota median, sticker tuition is 37% below.
- Average net price runs below the Minnesota median net price.
St Cloud Technical and Community College tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $6,124
Finding St Cloud Technical and Community College charges 11% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $6,124. That is 11% above the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Minnesota median ($9,706), sticker tuition is 37% below. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is about 0.5×.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at St Cloud Technical and Community College versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at St Cloud Technical and Community College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at St Cloud Technical and Community College is $9,635.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $9,635 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,687 below the Minnesota median net price. Versus town campuses, net price runs $5,336 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At St Cloud Technical and Community College, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
St Cloud Technical and Community College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for St Cloud Technical and Community College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Annual tuition
$6,124
Avg. net price
$9,635
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $6,889 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $6,654 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $8,908 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $11,666 |
| $110,001+ | $13,804 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $24,496. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What St Cloud Technical and Community College is known for
Top program completions
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies260
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training76
- Electrician42
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse39
- Teacher Assistant/Aide30
See earnings & programs for more.
Is St Cloud Technical and Community College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
St Cloud Technical and Community College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for St Cloud Technical and Community College.
Campus
Location
Saint Cloud, MN
City / state
- ZIP
- 56303-1240
- NCES locale
- Town
Compared with Town campuses nationally, net price is 36% below the median for Town campuses ($14,971 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Plains
- Carnegie
- Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional
Size
Enrollment
3,113
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 5,542
- Full-time share
- 52%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$12,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 34.42%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for St Cloud Technical and Community College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at St Cloud Technical and Community College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for St Cloud Technical and Community College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $5,301 | $5,301 | $9,395 |
| 2014 | $5,308 | $5,308 | $9,443 |
| 2015 | $5,325 | $5,325 | $9,705 |
| 2016 | $5,295 | $5,295 | $10,140 |
| 2017 | $5,359 | $5,359 | $9,397 |
| 2018 | $5,377 | $5,377 | $9,847 |
| 2019 | $5,538 | $5,538 | $9,019 |
| 2020 | $5,631 | $5,631 | $9,249 |
| 2021 | $5,874 | $5,874 | $9,024 |
| 2022 | $6,075 | $6,075 | $11,288 |
| 2023 | $4,957 | $4,957 | $10,956 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
St Cloud Technical and Community College reported total enrollment of about 3,113 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 38% male and 62% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (62.1%), Black or African American (20.5%), and Hispanic or Latino (7.6%). About 34.42% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 32.1% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
52.3% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at St Cloud Technical and Community College in 2024 is 3,113 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,542 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
64.8%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
36.38% 100% Completion Time
44.87% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 36.38% of students graduating from St Cloud Technical and Community College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal Studies: 25% male / 75% female
- Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse Training: 5% male / 95% female
- Electrician: 98% male / 2% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
St Cloud Technical and Community College graduates earn a median of $46,874 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of St Cloud Technical and Community College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $46,874. Median federal loan debt: $12,000. Average net price used in cost models: $9,635.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway St Cloud Technical and Community College graduates report median earnings of $46,874 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for St Cloud Technical and Community College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (47 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at St Cloud Technical and Community College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for St Cloud Technical and Community College graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for St Cloud Technical and Community College—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$726,000
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Minnesota median 0.05× the median ($14.3M)
- Plains median 0.03× the median ($24.1M)
- U.S. median 0.03× the median ($26.4M)
- Minnesota median 0.03× the median ($8,738)
- Plains median 0.02× the median ($15,020)
- U.S. median 0.02× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 46.7%
- Minnesota median 5.9 pp below median (52.6%)
- Plains median 18.0 pp below median (64.7%)
- U.S. median 11.2 pp below median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $9,489
- Minnesota median near the median ($9,138)
- Plains median 1.3× the median ($7,194)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $8,545
- Minnesota median near the median ($8,795)
- Plains median near the median ($8,150)
- U.S. median 1.2× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
St Cloud Technical and Community College at a glance
St Cloud Technical and Community College
St Cloud Technical and Community College is a public institution in Saint Cloud, MN, classified as Associate's Colleges: High Vocational & Technical-High Traditional.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Liberal Arts and Sciences/Liberal StudiesLicensed Practical/Vocational Nurse TrainingElectrician
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian62.1%Black or African American20.5%Hispanic or Latino7.6%
Schools near St Cloud Technical and Community College
Other campuses in Saint Cloud, MN when available, plus nearby institutions in Minnesota.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade C-) within Minnesota, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is St Cloud Technical and Community College located?
St Cloud Technical and Community College is located in Saint Cloud, MN.
What is St Cloud Technical and Community College's tuition?
St Cloud Technical and Community College tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $6,124 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $9,635 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does St Cloud Technical and Community College cost?
Reported tuition is $6,124 and average net price is $9,635 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $9,680 annually.
What explains St Cloud Technical and Community College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($9,635), completion (44.9% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($46,874). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at St Cloud Technical and Community College?
St Cloud Technical and Community College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,542 students, White (62.1%), Black or African American (20.5%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend St Cloud Technical and Community College?
About 32.1% of students at St Cloud Technical and Community College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of St Cloud Technical and Community College earn?
Median earnings are $42,307 six years after entry and $46,874 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at St Cloud Technical and Community College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 44.9% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do St Cloud Technical and Community College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $12,000.
Is St Cloud Technical and Community College public or private?
St Cloud Technical and Community College is a public institution located in Saint Cloud, MN.
Is St Cloud Technical and Community College an HBCU?
No. St Cloud Technical and Community College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is St Cloud Technical and Community College a tribal college?
No. St Cloud Technical and Community College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.