Tennessee State University
Nashville, TN 37209-1561
About Tennessee State University
Tennessee State University is a public research university in Nashville, Tennessee, serving roughly 4,848 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 70.11% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $47,151 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Tennessee State University charges 59% above the national public median tuition ($9,048).
- Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is 39% below.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 34.03%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $47,151.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at Tennessee State University is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 870% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
Tennessee State University awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 56 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee State University | $9,048 | $12,154 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,700 | — | 1,692 |
| Tennessee (state median) | $14,921 | $9,049 | 70 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,860 | $20,660 | 1,347 |
| United States (national median) | $12,200 | $17,569 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Tennessee State University really?
Key findings
- Tennessee State University charges 59% above the national public median tuition ($9,048).
- Versus the Tennessee median, sticker tuition is 39% below.
Tennessee State University tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $9,048
Finding Tennessee State University charges 59% above the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $9,048. That is 59% above the national public median ($5,700). Versus the Tennessee median ($14,921), sticker tuition is 39% below. Versus the U.S. median ($12,200), sticker is 26% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at Tennessee State University versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at Tennessee State University versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Tennessee State University is $12,154.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $12,154 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $3,105 above the Tennessee median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $8,506 below the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At Tennessee State University, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
Tennessee State University: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Tennessee State University—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$9,048
Out-of-state tuition
$22,848
Avg. net price
$12,154
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $11,076 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $13,897 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $10,833 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $15,005 |
| $110,001+ | $14,917 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $36,192. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Tennessee State University is known for
Top program completions
- Business Administration and Management, General150
- Educational Leadership and Administration, General120
- Psychology, General70
- Biology/Biological Sciences, General58
- 00.001056
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 15% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1000
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is Tennessee State University a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Tennessee State University is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Tennessee State University.
Campus
Location
Nashville, TN
City / state
- ZIP
- 37209-1561
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is about 0.6× the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,660 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
4,848
Undergraduates (fall)
- Undergraduates (full year)
- 5,577
- Graduate
- 1,253
- Full-time share
- 92%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$24,250
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 57.48%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Tennessee State University.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Tennessee State University was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Tennessee State University in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $6,498 | $19,218 | $9,603 |
| 2014 | $6,930 | $19,650 | $9,770 |
| 2015 | $7,112 | $19,832 | $10,493 |
| 2016 | $7,256 | $19,976 | $10,720 |
| 2017 | $7,776 | $21,132 | $11,083 |
| 2018 | $8,792 | $21,512 | $10,427 |
| 2019 | $9,012 | $21,732 | $12,443 |
| 2020 | $9,012 | $21,732 | $11,867 |
| 2021 | $8,336 | $21,692 | $12,494 |
| 2022 | $8,336 | $21,692 | $11,643 |
| 2023 | $8,568 | $22,284 | $10,026 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1000 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Tennessee State University reported total enrollment of about 4,848 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 35% male and 65% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (85.0%), White (4.4%), and Hispanic or Latino (3.0%). About 57.48% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 37.4% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
92.2% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Tennessee State University in 2024 is 4,848 students.
Over a full year, about 5,577 undergraduates enroll. Graduate enrollment is about 1,253 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
33.5%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
22.08% 100% Completion Time
34.03% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 22.08% of students graduating from Tennessee State University completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Business Administration and Management, General: 47% male / 53% female
- Educational Leadership and Administration, General: 27% male / 73% female
- Psychology, General: 20% male / 80% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Tennessee State University graduates earn a median of $47,151 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Tennessee State University.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $47,151. Median federal loan debt: $24,250. Average net price used in cost models: $12,154.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Tennessee State University graduates report median earnings of $47,151 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Tennessee State University.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (56 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Tennessee State University.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Tennessee State University graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Tennessee State University—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$100.1M
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Tennessee median 3.3× the median ($30.3M)
- Southeast median 5.1× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 3.8× the median ($26.4M)
- Tennessee median 0.72× the median ($17,566)
- Southeast median 1.4× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 77.2%
- Tennessee median 12.8 pp above median (64.4%)
- Southeast median 17.8 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 19.3 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $8,732
- Tennessee median 1.2× the median ($7,010)
- Southeast median 1.3× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 1.1× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $9,652
- Tennessee median 1.4× the median ($6,831)
- Southeast median 1.5× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 1.3× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Tennessee State University at a glance
Tennessee State University
Tennessee State University is a public institution in Nashville, TN, classified as Doctoral Universities: High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Business Administration and Management, GeneralEducational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPsychology, General
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American85.0%White or Caucasian4.4%Hispanic or Latino3.0%
Schools near Tennessee State University
Other campuses in Nashville, TN when available, plus nearby institutions in Tennessee.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade D) within Tennessee, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Tennessee State University located?
Tennessee State University is located in Nashville, TN.
What is Tennessee State University's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at Tennessee State University is 70.1% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 12,890 applicants and 11,940 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is Tennessee State University's tuition?
Tennessee State University tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $9,048 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $12,154 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does Tennessee State University cost?
Reported tuition is $9,048 and average net price is $12,154 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $10,568 annually.
What explains Tennessee State University's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($12,154), completion (34.0% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($47,151). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Tennessee State University?
Tennessee State University reports undergraduate enrollment of about 5,577 students, Black or African American (85.0%), White (4.4%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Tennessee State University?
About 37.4% of students at Tennessee State University are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for Tennessee State University?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, Tennessee State University reports midpoint SAT about 1000.
What do graduates of Tennessee State University earn?
Median earnings are $40,172 six years after entry and $47,151 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Tennessee State University?
The 150%-time completion rate is 34.0% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Tennessee State University students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $24,250.
Is Tennessee State University public or private?
Tennessee State University is a public institution located in Nashville, TN.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.