Texas Barber College
Houston, TX 77036
About Texas Barber College
Texas Barber College is a private for-profit trade school in Houston, Texas, enrolling about 518 students. Programs focus on certificates and workforce credentials that prepare students for skilled trades and technical careers. The published completion rate is about 25.65% at 150% of normal time. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $21,262 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $21,262.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Barber College | — | $28,639 | 1 |
| Private For-profit (national median) | $16,637 | — | 477 |
| Texas (state median) | $9,940 | $8,031 | 184 |
| Urban (City) (locale median) | $15,200 | $20,053 | 1,346 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is Texas Barber College really?
Evidence: average net price at Texas Barber College versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at Texas Barber College is $28,639.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $28,639 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $20,608 above the Texas median net price. Versus urban (city) campuses, net price runs $8,586 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Texas Barber College: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for Texas Barber College—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
Avg. net price
$28,639
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $28,680 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $28,153 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $29,140 |
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What Texas Barber College is known for
Top program completions
See earnings & programs for more.
Is Texas Barber College a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
Texas Barber College is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for Texas Barber College.
Campus
Location
Houston, TX
City / state
- ZIP
- 77036
- NCES locale
- City
Compared with Urban (City) campuses nationally, net price is 43% above the median for Urban (City) campuses ($20,053 median).
Control
Institution type
Private For-profit
Control
- Region
- Southwest
Size
Enrollment
518
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 885
- Full-time share
- 100%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$13,000
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 90.35%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Costs include tuition and fees. Room & board, books, and other expenses are additional where not shown.
Tuition vs average net price after aid for Texas Barber College.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at Texas Barber College was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for Texas Barber College in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | — | — | $8,995 |
| 2014 | — | — | $8,501 |
| 2015 | — | — | $8,654 |
| 2016 | — | — | $8,634 |
| 2017 | — | — | $10,083 |
| 2018 | — | — | $9,865 |
| 2019 | — | — | $12,626 |
| 2020 | — | — | $18,233 |
| 2021 | — | — | $15,563 |
| 2022 | — | — | $15,431 |
| 2023 | — | — | $17,164 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
Acceptance rate data is not available for this institution.
Admissions funnel data is not available for this institution.
Test Scores
Test score data is not available for this institution.
Score distribution is not available for this institution.
Academic Requirements
GPA requirements are not published by this institution. Contact the admissions office for specific academic requirements.
Estimated GPA range is not available for this institution.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
Texas Barber College reported total enrollment of about 518 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 78% male and 22% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes Black or African American (76.8%), Hispanic or Latino (18.9%), and White (1.7%). About 90.35% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 59.2% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
100.0% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at Texas Barber College in 2024 is 518 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 885 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
72.9%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
2.09% 100% Completion Time
25.65% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 2.09% of students graduating from Texas Barber College completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Barbering/Barber: 85% male / 15% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
Texas Barber College graduates earn a median of $21,262 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of Texas Barber College.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $21,262. Median federal loan debt: $13,000. Average net price used in cost models: $28,639.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway Texas Barber College graduates report median earnings of $21,262 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for Texas Barber College.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 1 programs by IPEDS completions (2 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at Texas Barber College.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for Texas Barber College graduates.
Institutional resources
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for Texas Barber College—instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Instructional Resources
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $2,937
- Texas median 0.58× the median ($5,060)
- Southwest median 0.52× the median ($5,699)
- U.S. median 0.40× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
Scorecard instructional metrics where reported.
Texas Barber College at a glance
Texas Barber College
Texas Barber College is a private for-profit institution in Houston, TX.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Barbering/Barber
- Largest enrollment groups
- Black or African American76.8%Hispanic or Latino18.9%White or Caucasian1.7%
Schools near Texas Barber College
Other campuses in Houston, TX when available, plus nearby institutions in Texas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade F) within Texas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is Texas Barber College located?
Texas Barber College is located in Houston, TX.
How much does Texas Barber College cost?
Reported tuition is N/A and average net price is $28,639 in the latest College Scorecard data.
What explains Texas Barber College's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($28,639), completion (25.7% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($21,262). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at Texas Barber College?
Texas Barber College reports undergraduate enrollment of about 885 students, Black or African American (76.8%), Hispanic or Latino (18.9%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend Texas Barber College?
About 59.2% of students at Texas Barber College are first-generation college students.
What do graduates of Texas Barber College earn?
Median earnings are $16,822 six years after entry and $21,262 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at Texas Barber College?
The 150%-time completion rate is 25.7% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do Texas Barber College students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $13,000.
Is Texas Barber College public or private?
Texas Barber College is a private for-profit institution located in Houston, TX.
Is Texas Barber College an HBCU?
No. Texas Barber College is not flagged as an HBCU in the IPEDS institutional directory.
Is Texas Barber College a tribal college?
No. Texas Barber College is not flagged as a tribal college in IPEDS.
Is Texas Barber College a Hispanic-serving institution (HSI)?
Using a 25% Hispanic enrollment threshold on College Scorecard demographics, Texas Barber College does not meet that proxy (reported share 18.9%).
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.