University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, AR 72701
About University of Arkansas
University of Arkansas is a public research university in Fayetteville, Arkansas, enrolling about 28,677 students. Admission is moderately selective for first-time degree-seeking undergraduates reporting admissions data to the Education Department. The acceptance rate is about 74.30% in the latest College Scorecard admissions data. Median earnings about ten years after entry reach about $58,191 among students who received federal aid.
Key findings
- University of Arkansas charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($10,104).
- Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is 38% above.
- Completion within 150% of normal time is 70.52%.
- Median earnings 10 years after entry are $58,191.
Research findings
Finding
Modeled return on investment at University of Arkansas is strong.
Estimated ROI reaches about 699% using Scorecard cost and 10-year earnings fields in this extract.
Interpretation: On this institution-wide model, typical graduate earnings over a decade substantially exceed estimated net education cost.
Limitation: ROI is institution-wide and not program-specific; individual outcomes vary by major, aid package, and labor market.
Finding
University of Arkansas awards credentials across a wide program mix.
IPEDS completions cover more than 143 distinct degree programs at this campus.
Interpretation: Institutional averages blend very different fields; program-level completions and earnings matter more than the campus mean alone.
Limitation: Completions counts are not enrollment demand and do not measure program quality.
Cost benchmarks
| Benchmark | Median Tuition | Median Net Price | Count |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Arkansas | $10,104 | $18,209 | 1 |
| Public (national median) | $5,512 | — | 1,688 |
| Arkansas (state median) | $7,334 | $9,144 | 51 |
| Suburban (locale median) | $13,135 | $18,048 | 684 |
| United States (national median) | $11,900 | $17,156 | — |
Compares this campus to school-type, state, and locale medians plus a U.S. national median (College Scorecard–derived). Locale groups campuses by NCES locale type; state tuition is the median published tuition among campuses in that state.
How expensive is University of Arkansas really?
Key findings
- University of Arkansas charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition ($10,104).
- Versus the Arkansas median, sticker tuition is 38% above.
University of Arkansas tuition
Published undergraduate tuition $10,104
Finding University of Arkansas charges about 1.8× the national public median tuition.
Evidence Published tuition is $10,104. That is about 1.8× the national public median ($5,512). Versus the Arkansas median ($7,334), sticker tuition is 38% above. Versus the U.S. median ($11,900), sticker is 15% below.
Method Sticker tuition compared with Scorecard-derived medians by ownership, state, locale, and national rollups when available.
Interpretation Published tuition measures sticker price relative to public and geographic peers; it does not equal what undergraduates typically pay after aid.
Limitation Sticker comparisons omit room, board, and institutional aid; average net price and income-band net prices are the stronger signals of typical family cost.
Evidence: published tuition at University of Arkansas versus school-type, state, locale, and U.S. medians.
Evidence: average net price at University of Arkansas versus state, locale, and U.S. medians.
What undergraduates typically pay
Finding Average net price at University of Arkansas is $18,209.
Evidence College Scorecard average net price is $18,209 (cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates). That is about $9,065 above the Arkansas median net price. Versus suburban campuses, net price runs $161 above the locale median.
Method Average net price from College Scorecard; compared with state, locale, and U.S. medians from EDsmart aggregates.
Interpretation Average net price is a stronger institutional cost signal than published tuition because it incorporates grant aid.
Limitation The campus average masks large differences by household income; income-band net prices can diverge sharply from the overall average.
Key takeaway At University of Arkansas, average net price exceeds published tuition alone because net price uses a fuller cost-of-attendance base.
University of Arkansas: research record
Canonical EDsmart Data findings for University of Arkansas—costs, outcomes, admissions, and programs—with evidence and methodology notes.
Research findings
Interpretation
The combination of completion and 10-year earnings is a multidimensional outcomes signal; it does not measure educational quality by itself.
Financial profile
In-state tuition
$10,104
Out-of-state tuition
$29,966
Avg. net price
$18,209
Net price by family income
| Income bracket | Avg. annual net price |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $14,319 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $14,322 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $15,934 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $20,772 |
| $110,001+ | $22,470 |
Sticker tuition × four years (estimate, no room/board): $40,416. See cost investigation.
Student outcomes
Share of first-year students returning the following fall.
Graduation rate and 10-year earnings are in the hero strip above; see Graduates for more.
What University of Arkansas is known for
Top program completions
- Finance, General427
- Marketing/Marketing Management, General403
- Engineering/Industrial Management390
- Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse351
- Psychology, General266
See earnings & programs for more.
Admissions landscape
- Broad access — most applicants are admitted.
- Yield: 31% of admitted students enrolled.
- Average SAT: 1169
- Midpoint ACT: 25
See Admissions for the full funnel.
Is University of Arkansas a good school?
Data-framed fit—not a prestige rating.
University of Arkansas is a good school for those looking for strong completion alongside solid mid-career earnings.
EDsmart Data does not assign an opinion score; this framing summarizes the strongest Scorecard signals for this campus.
More from the data
Location, control, enrollment, and aid context for University of Arkansas.
Campus
Location
Fayetteville, AR
City / state
- ZIP
- 72701
- NCES locale
- Suburb
Compared with Suburban campuses nationally, net price is 1% above the median for Suburban campuses ($18,048 median).
Control
Institution type
Public
Control
- Region
- Southeast
- Carnegie
- Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity
Size
Enrollment
28,677
Total enrollment
- Undergraduate
- 30,360
- Graduate
- 4,751
- Full-time share
- 92%
Student aid
Debt & aid
$21,500
Median federal loan debt
- Pell grant share
- 17.79%
Total Cost, Aid & Default
Total Cost of Attendance
Tuition vs average net price after aid for University of Arkansas.
Financial Aid by Income Level
Financial aid distribution by income level.
Student Loan Default Rate
The published 3-year cohort default rate for borrowers at University of Arkansas was 0.00%.
Cohort default rates account for borrowers who default in the first three years.
Tuition tracker
Published tuition and average net price by reporting year come from the College Scorecard institution file. Values are not adjusted for inflation; missing cells mean the field was not reported or was suppressed for University of Arkansas in that year.
Reporting years in the table below: 2013–2023 (Scorecard labels refer to the institutional submission cycle).
| Year | In-state tuition & fees | Out-of-state tuition & fees | Average net price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | $7,818 | $19,074 | $11,861 |
| 2014 | $8,210 | $20,300 | $14,143 |
| 2015 | $8,522 | $21,826 | $14,546 |
| 2016 | $8,820 | $23,168 | $15,648 |
| 2017 | $9,062 | $24,308 | $16,069 |
| 2018 | $9,130 | $25,168 | $15,642 |
| 2019 | $9,384 | $25,872 | $16,381 |
| 2020 | $9,384 | $25,872 | $16,507 |
| 2021 | $9,574 | $26,390 | $14,998 |
| 2022 | $9,656 | $27,410 | $16,050 |
| 2023 | $9,748 | $28,772 | $17,525 |
Sticker tuition and net price over time
Where the institution reported separate in-state and out-of-state tuition, both appear. Gaps mean the value was not reported for that year.
College Scorecard reporting-year fields (not inflation-adjusted).
Net price by family income
Brackets follow Scorecard definitions for the series shown (public vs private institution).
Latest income-band net prices available in the processed extract.
How difficult is it to get in?
Acceptance Rate
This institution has a moderate acceptance rate, accepting most qualified applicants.
Applicants → admits → first-time enrollment from College Scorecard / IPEDS. Bar widths are scaled for readability at highly selective schools.
Test Scores
Average 1169 (middle 50% not reported)
Midpoint 25 (middle 50% not reported)
Scores for enrollees who submitted tests (College Scorecard).
Academic Requirements
Estimated from admission selectivity and test scores. Scorecard does not publish admitted-student GPA for most institutions.
Estimated range · median 3.20
Estimated GPA band from selectivity and test scores — not an official requirement.
Enrollment & Student Demographics
University of Arkansas reported total enrollment of about 28,677 students in the latest College Scorecard extract. The student body is about 44% male and 56% female. Enrollment by race and ethnicity includes White (74.0%), Hispanic or Latino (11.8%), and Two or More Races (4.9%). About 17.79% of undergraduates receive Pell Grants. Roughly 26.0% of students are first-generation college students.
Full-Time vs Part-Time Enrollment
91.7% Full-Time Enrollment
The total enrollment at University of Arkansas in 2024 is 28,677 students.
Undergraduate enrollment is about 30,360 students. Graduate enrollment is about 4,751 students.
Full-time vs part-time enrollment comparison.
Retention Rate over Time
86.4%
2024 Retention Rate
Retention rate measures the number of first-time students who began their studies the previous fall and returned to school the following fall.
Retention rate over time compared to similar institutions.
Enrollment by Race & Ethnicity
Largest share of total enrollment in our College Scorecard extract.
College Scorecard student demographics (total enrollment shares).
Do students complete their programs?
Time to Complete
55.79% 100% Completion Time
70.52% 150% Completion Time
In 2024, 55.79% of students graduating from University of Arkansas completed their program within 100% "normal time".
Completion rates over time compared to similar institutions.
Completions by Sex (Top Programs)
- Finance, General: 79% male / 21% female
- Marketing/Marketing Management, General: 40% male / 60% female
- Engineering/Industrial Management: 63% male / 37% female
IPEDS completions by sex for the five largest programs (aggregate CIPs excluded).
Completions by Race & Ethnicity
Largest group by summed IPEDS award counts across reported programs.
Summed across program completion records in our extract.
University of Arkansas graduates earn a median of $58,191 ten years after entry
Finding Earnings, debt, and program mix define the financial profile of University of Arkansas.
Evidence Median earnings 10 years after entry: $58,191. Median federal loan debt: $21,500. Average net price used in cost models: $18,209.
Method College Scorecard median earnings (10-year), median debt, and EDsmart ROI / payback models using campus net price.
Interpretation Institution-wide ROI and debt ratios summarize campus averages; program choice still drives individual outcomes.
Limitation Salary reflects median earnings ten years after entry; ROI is not program-specific.
Key takeaway University of Arkansas graduates report median earnings of $58,191 ten years after entry—an institution-wide outcomes signal, not a program guarantee.
Return on Investment
Debt and 4-year net cost vs. cumulative 10-year median earnings for University of Arkansas.
Top Programs by Completions
Largest 10 programs by IPEDS completions (143 reported codes; aggregate/unknown CIP buckets excluded).
IPEDS award counts for the largest programs at University of Arkansas.
Employment Outcomes
Median earnings 6, 8, and 10 years after entry for University of Arkansas graduates.
How financially powerful is this institution?
Finding: federal finance and Scorecard instructional fields for University of Arkansas—endowment assets (fiscal year 2023), instructional staffing and expenditure. Compared with state, regional, and U.S. medians from EDsmart Data institutional financials.
Institutional endowment
$1.53B
End-of-year assets · Fiscal year 2023
- Arkansas median 235× the median ($6.5M)
- Southeast median 79× the median ($19.4M)
- U.S. median 58× the median ($26.4M)
- Arkansas median 7.2× the median ($7,616)
- Southeast median 5.9× the median ($9,308)
- U.S. median 4.5× the median ($12,100)
Instructional Resources
- Full-time faculty share: 82.3%
- Arkansas median 19.5 pp above median (62.8%)
- Southeast median 22.9 pp above median (59.4%)
- U.S. median 24.4 pp above median (58.0%)
- Average faculty salary (monthly): $10,657
- Arkansas median 1.9× the median ($5,571)
- Southeast median 1.6× the median ($6,825)
- U.S. median 1.4× the median ($7,615)
- Instructional expenditure per FTE: $10,926
- Arkansas median 1.7× the median ($6,294)
- Southeast median 1.7× the median ($6,602)
- U.S. median 1.5× the median ($7,288)
Instructional metrics from College Scorecard. Peer medians are campus-level; see the institutional financials deep dive. Detailed non-instructional staff counts are not included here.
University of Arkansas at a glance
University of Arkansas
University of Arkansas is a public institution in Fayetteville, AR, classified as Doctoral Universities: Very High Research Activity.
- Largest programs (IPEDS awards)
- Finance, GeneralMarketing/Marketing Management, GeneralEngineering/Industrial Management
- Largest enrollment groups
- White or Caucasian74.0%Hispanic or Latino11.8%Two or More Races4.9%
Schools near University of Arkansas
Other campuses in Fayetteville, AR when available, plus nearby institutions in Arkansas.
Similar schools
Peers matched by the same EDsmart outcomes grade (Grade B) within Arkansas, then by similar ownership and admissions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Where is University of Arkansas located?
University of Arkansas is located in Fayetteville, AR.
What is University of Arkansas's acceptance rate?
The acceptance rate at University of Arkansas is 74.3% among first-time degree-seeking students reporting admissions data. IPEDS reports 28,186 applicants and 20,202 admits in the latest admissions cycle in our extract.
What is University of Arkansas's tuition?
University of Arkansas tuition (published undergraduate sticker price) is $10,104 in the latest College Scorecard data. Average net price after grant aid is $18,209 for undergraduates receiving Title IV aid.
How much does University of Arkansas cost?
Reported tuition is $10,104 and average net price is $18,209 in the latest College Scorecard data. On-campus room and board is estimated at $14,244 annually.
What explains University of Arkansas's return on investment in EDsmart Data?
EDsmart Data models ROI using campus average net price ($18,209), completion (70.5% within 150% of normal time where reported), and median earnings ten years after entry ($58,191). High completion and strong mid-career earnings relative to net cost raise modeled ROI; the estimate is institution-wide and not program-specific. Debt-to-earnings ratios, when available, further contextualize borrowing pressure. Limitations include suppressed fields, program mix, and labor-market variation over time.
What is the student body demographics at University of Arkansas?
University of Arkansas reports undergraduate enrollment of about 30,360 students, White (74.0%), Hispanic or Latino (11.8%) in federal College Scorecard data.
How many first-generation students attend University of Arkansas?
About 26.0% of students at University of Arkansas are first-generation college students.
What test scores do students need for University of Arkansas?
Among enrolled students who submitted scores, University of Arkansas reports midpoint SAT about 1169 and midpoint ACT about 25.
What do graduates of University of Arkansas earn?
Median earnings are $49,686 six years after entry and $58,191 ten years after entry.
What is the graduation rate at University of Arkansas?
The 150%-time completion rate is 70.5% for the cohort reported to the College Scorecard.
How much debt do University of Arkansas students have?
Median federal loan debt among completers is $21,500.
Is University of Arkansas public or private?
University of Arkansas is a public institution located in Fayetteville, AR.
Data Sources
This page uses data from the following sources:
- College Scorecard - U.S. Department of Education
- Institutional characteristics, costs, completion rates, and earnings data
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS)
- Employment and wage data by occupation
- Latest data: May 2024
- Source: bls.gov/oes
- O*NET Online - U.S. Department of Labor
- Occupational skills, knowledge, abilities, and work activities
- Database version: 28.0 (August 2023)
- Source: onetcenter.org
- IPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) - National Center for Education Statistics
- Institutional data, completions, enrollment, and financial aid
- Data years: 2015-2024
- Source: nces.ed.gov/ipeds
- Census Bureau American Community Survey (ACS)
- Demographic and workforce data
- Latest data: 2023 ACS 5-Year Estimates
- Source: census.gov/acs
- Related geography & profiles
- Arkansas college profile
- Arkansas college costs
- Arkansas colleges by ROI
- University of Arkansas vs Arkansas State University vs University of Arkansas at Little Rock
- Fayetteville, Arkansas city profile
- Southeast regional profile
- Suburban college profile
- Campus-setting profiles
- All state profiles
- Regional profiles
- National benchmarks
- School directory
- All schools in Arkansas
Data Processing: All data has been processed, cleaned, and aggregated for presentation. Where specific data points are unavailable, estimates are based on available data and clearly marked.
Last Updated: Data reflects the most recent available information as of January 2025.
Methodology & Data Scope
This profile uses institution-level fields from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard, merged with IPEDS directory attributes where needed for locale, ownership, and program completions.
Benchmark rows compare this campus to NCES locale-type medians (for example Suburban) from our processed location extract. Implied U.S. medians are derived from locale-vs-national percentage fields in that extract—not a separate national Scorecard table.